Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint

For advanced performance and stain-blocking on all of your home’s ceilings, choose BEHR PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint. Its flat sheen hides minor surface imperfections, and can be tinted to light colors.

Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
4.6
 out of 
5
40 out of 4491%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Review 1 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Super!
territoryman
Location:Mississippi
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 4, 2014
It's a great paint to work with and easy to clean up.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Office-Library, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Incredible Coverage
LoveBehrPaint
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 1, 2014
Recently purchased a 60 year old home. Looked like the ceilings hadn't been painted in 60 years. Cracks in the plaster and very dull color. Researched different paints and decided that Behr was the best paint we had ever used so we decided to try Premium Plus Ultra Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint. We were amazed at the coverage. Filled in the cracks and brightened the whole kitchen.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
didnt think We needed ceiling paint, but wow!
Keiroch
Location:Oregon
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 22, 2014
My wife wanted the ceiling painted, I thought it looked fine. It was important to her so OK I'll paint the ceiling. OMG what a difference!. This paint went on in one coat. The difference to the appearance of the room was unbelievable, the old color was dingy compared to the fresh new coat. Looks like I have more ceilings to paint.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Worked Well on the Dreaded Popcorn Ceiling
SPD1
Location:Connecticut
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
I finally had to break down and paint the first floor popcorn ceiling in my townhouse. It was not a fun task, but this excellent paint made it more Behr-able. (Ugh!) It took two coats (roller) and about 4 gallons of the paint to get the job done. The finished product exceeded my expectations. My only complaint is that Home Depot only carried one gallon containers of this paint. I would have preferred a 5 gallon option.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Living Room
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best ceiling paint yet
bawhome
Location:Massachusetts
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
For people that really don't like or have very much patience for painting, this stuff is great. There are no visible brush or roller marks on the ceiling, even when the sun is shining on it. The price is very competitive and is very worth it to not see the marks and to have other people tell us what a great job we did with painting.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome product!
Anonymous Reviewer
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 14, 2013
I absolutely love this product! It really is the best ceiling paint that I've ever used. It covered the stains and uneven tones on the ceiling. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for ceiling paint.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
No substitute
MrBob
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 19, 2013
I've tried others, and this Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint worked best for me. Really good at stain blocking. For the badly damaged areas it did require two coats, for most part one coat gave me an excellent finish. Minimal drips at application time. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
EASY to use
KCSam
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
This paint is great. Easy coverage even with tough colors like red. The folks at Home Depot are always great about mixing the colors and giving advice.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
AMAZIN paint...
Tato
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
WHAT CAN I SAY AB BEHR... It's AMAZIN.. BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR ALL MY RENTAL & PERSONAL HM... IT'S BEEN AWESOME.. ALL PAINTS FOR INTERIOR & EXTERIOR HAVE BEEN THE BEST... & MAN, DID I TRY THE COMPETITION... BUT NO PAINT IS LIKE BEHR... TATO...
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Room
Katelyn
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
We are remodeling our home, every inch needs work. I wanted it to have a splash of color but not too wild to sell when we choose to move. I chose a blue grey color from Behr for the living room and matched it with grey curtains....the more I spent time in the room the more I felt like it was perfect. Its a vibrant blue but not too bright, so excited for the rest of the rooms in the house to be finished and painted!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Paint
KathyG6
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
I would never waste my time painting with any other paint but Behr. I love the way it covers. We have an older home, and have used it in almost every room. We anticipate using it in the one room we didn't use it in too. The price is a little higher than some paint, but I just save up a little longer before painting so that I can buy Behr.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great product
Bene
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
I have been painting room by room for the last 6 months. I painted a dark brown fireplace that is 18 feet high with a cream color and it covered on one coat. I painted the yellow walls with an off white. The trim took two coats and the walls when rolled took only one coat. I like the way the paint goes on and cleanup is easy. My next project is to remove some popcorn ceiling and see how the paint covers. I will continue to use this paint.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Value
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Love love love this ceiling paint!
Careypartyoften
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
Absolutely love this product!!! Great coverage! Worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Grin and BEHR it!
ccgold
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
When we started to repaint the interior we didn't know where to start. The obvious point was right above our heads. The Ceiling! We started with Behr Premium Plus Ultra in one bedroom and loved the result and continued using it throughout the house. No mess, no splatter, no mildew, no bubbling, and best of all....only one coat to cover!...now onto the walls....
Thanks BEHR!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Value
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Can't believe I spent my money and time on this!!
HarleyGirl
Location:Massachusetts
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 12, 2013
I have a 1950's home. Looks like original paint on the ceiling. I had to scrap and patch the ceiling. I painted the ceiling with this paint and it looked great. Did a second coat just to be sure and low and behold the next day the old color showed through and the patch was white. What a waste of time and money. I have less than a gallon left to try again. It is a 8x12 room.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom
Exterior Project: Siding
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Value
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
4 coats and counting-- frustrated, disappointed
Midwestern1
Location:Missouri
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 21, 2013
TASK: Painting ceilings: flat drywall (ie not popcorn); good condition (no stains, no repairs), but older paint (most likely the original paint from building construction in 1984, also likely builder’s grade paint)
APPLICATION: high quality roller, brush for trim work
Using Behr Premium Plus Ultra, “Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint” (Paint & Primer in One), Ceiling Flat/Ultra Pure White/5558
I had difficulty with the paint leveling, showing roller marks and streaking; ended up using an entire gallon and part of another, and it took 4 coats for a medium sized master bedroom ceiling.
I was determined to work with this paint to get it to look right, but it was a HUGE time-sink, I really should have started over with another product, but I was being stubborn. I am still not happy with the look of it, but that is as good as it gets, since I’m out of time and energy to re-paint it.
I did find another brand of ceiling paint (primer and paint in one) that worked well from a different manufacturer. So there is a ceiling paint out there that IS compatible with and looked great on MY ceilings. Always been a Behr fan, so I am really disappointed and frustrated with this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very pleased
StephanieP
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 15, 2013
We're in the middle of a huge renovation and we used this paint on all our ceilings. We've been very pleased. It covers well.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
looks God
Roxanne
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 26, 2012
very good paint for your ceiling, easy to roll on celing and looks great after.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Value
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Interior stain blocking ceiling paint.
whiskeyjane
Location:New Mexico
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 18, 2012
Was easy to apply with a roller. Covered up stains from a previous water leak. Used it on my bedroom ceiling. I like the fact that it is mildew resistant. I would recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PREMIUM PLUS ULTRA® Stain-Blocking Ceiling Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fewer Coats
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Ease of Application
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Color Satisfaction
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Value
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
miah
akbar
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 12, 2012
a great paints.i like behr paints.this paints are better than any other paints in usa.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>