Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™

To create a classic European look on your home’s interior walls, choose BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE Venetian Plaster. This water-based formula adds depth and dimension to walls with a textured, marble-like appearance that enhances your color palette’s dark and light tones.

Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
4.4
 out of 
5
28 out of 3190%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
love the look, and easy to use
mslee
Location:Hawaii
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 4, 2010
I purchased this instead of having Imperial plaster done by someone else and found it easy to use and the look is like the Imperial plaster. I find it can also be cleaned off if something gets on it unlike plaster. I will be using it in several rooms in my home and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes doing things on their own. I did not like the darkness of the blue color and had them cut it by half when I purchased it and it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom, Bathroom
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
worth the work
bluejay
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 8, 2010
I always wanted to try the Italian Plaster, so before I did my bedroom I tried it in my office. It turned out looking very nice. It did take a long time even in my small office. The most difficult thing was getting the plaster nicely against the paneling that goes halfway up the walls, and difficulty getting it to cover the corners well. It's important to keep the coats thin. Once I had done the two base coats, I'd had enough of using the trowel, so I ended up using the topcoat instead of burnishing it. I think it would have looked better if I had burnished it. It was a very time consuming process overall. I was glad I'd tried it in the office instead of the bedroom. I don't know if I could stand doing 4 large walls.. Obviously I haven't done the bedroom yet, I may not ever. I do wish there were more colors available, especially some lighter colors. The gold shade is very yellow. Overall pleased, but wuite a long process.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Office-Library
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Time is on my side.
ScottyJ
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 16, 2010
It will take a little bit more time to complete than just a paint job, but the results are well worth the effort. I would highly recommmend this product. I am just a so so so painter but this technique is very simple.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
maybe not
SusandaVinci
Location:California
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 25, 2010
This is the ONLY Behr product I have used in 10 years that has not performed well. Fortunately, I tried a small application to see if I would like the look (3' X 3') and though I followed directions to the letter, the look was vastly different from the sample brochure and not at all to my liking. This is NOT paint, but thick like...well, plaster. Removing the sample was a huge pain in order to restore the normal textured look to the wall. I've had no problem at all with any of the other artistic applications Behr offers but this one, maybe not.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Living Room
Response from Behr:By Behr Paint TeamSeptember 10, 2010
You are correct, Venetian Plaster is not like paint. It is a heavy-bodied coating that is applied with a flexible trowel and it will create a plaster-like texture on the wall. The technique is more similar to traditional plaster application than paint application that is applied with a roller or brush. Some consumers have told us that they practice the technique on small pieces of drywall or board to get the look they want on a small scale before applying the product on the wall.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Go for it!
EDGE
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 16, 2010
I have to admit, this was an intimidating project for me... I did a test spot and thought "what did i get myself into?!" I didn't think I'd be able to achive the venetian plaster effect. I wen't for it though, and I'm glad I did because it looks incredible. People who come in my house are shocked that I did it myself! Its so much easier than it looks. The best part is that you dont need to tell anyone how easy it was, just let them think you worked your tail off ;-)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: entryway
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Makes a beautiful impression!!
Jodi
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2010
Awesome paint technique - turned out amazing! Will do this again in our new home!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great wall
sherbear
Age:45-55
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 14, 2010
This product is easier to use then paint. If you have bad drywall this is the answer to your problems. Looks like a professional did it, but easy and very appealing as an accent wall, FABULOUS.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Living Room
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Venitian Plaster
Rebby
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 31, 2010
I love this product. It was able to provide a great finish and cover a multitude of problems from previous home owner. I've used it in a bathroom and it is holding up beautifully. I completed first area 3 years ago and just finished second area. Both areas look great!
Only downside was the burnishing with the trowel.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Poor finish
Propaintman
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:January 26, 2011
I applied the plaster which looked reasonable, but used the associated clear top-coat. This was done thinly and exactly as per instructions. The finish looks very poor now, it has almost no sheen and looks dry; it is a terrible finished look. Perhaps the burnishing is better. Now I have to see if I can reapply the plaster over the clear top-coat or remove the whole plaster effect from the wall. Maybe this looks okay at best if you are an amateur decorator.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Looks great
paintingfool
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 8, 2011
This is not an easy project and takes alot of time and work. However, with that being said, I love our new walls! My advice is to paint the wall the same color plaster you are using and to get the look I wanted we used the faux glaze as our last coat. We used the Tuscan Sun color plaster, however it is very light so for our second coat we had them mix the plaster with +1/2 color added to give it more color. And our faux color was Caramel Latte. With the glaze I used 8 to 1 glaze to paint and also added at least a cup of water. Rolled the glaze on and then rubbed it in a circular motion to get the effect I wanted. Very time consuming process but looks really really good!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love it
amcafee
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 3, 2011
This is exactly the look that we were after. It was like frosting a cake vertically. It was a lot of fun to do. You just have to remember to leave yourself plenty of bare drywall for your second coat to get the shading difference that you are looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: finished basement
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great looking room
Fallenguy
Location:Ontario
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 5, 2011
We have a room where the wallpaper was getting tawdry and we knew the walls beneath were not that great. The room was an amalgam of plaster and early drywall, and that only became a factor while applying the VP. Going over plaster was a snap. We had to be careful that the poorly taped seams of the drywall did not transmit through. The final colour ends up a touch darker than the colour swatch, but the depth is the exact effect we wanted to achieve. Hint: figure on taking longer than it takes to paint a wall, then double the time for the first coat and add another 50% time for the second. Trust me, you will enjoy the results!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Office-Library
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love My Kitchen
coppercutie
Location:Idaho
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 17, 2011
Wow, I love it. I make everyone that comes in feel it, they are always shocked. Its like glass. I did 2 coats of plaster on most of the walls, where I had seam lines and patched holes I did a third coat, and blended it in. Looks great. I used Behr top coat. Put it on with a trowel this also burnished it a little. Waited about 10 min and wiped it down with a damp rag. Looks flawless in a kitchen that was plaster walls with stripped of wall paper. Can't wait to do my living room next.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
I absolutely love the product!!!
Kibby
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2011
Yes it does take more time than simply painting but the results are worth it. It is gorgeous--am thinking about doing some more rooms. Another plus is that the touch-up is so very easy. I saved some plaster in a small container (kept it in the refrigerator) and have had to touch up a couple of places where the wall got dinged. Couldn't be easier. Don't even have to wash a paintbrush. Dab a little on a trowel and apply and it's done. Blends in beautifully.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom, Bathroom
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Venetian Plaster - Beautiful Product
Blankwalls
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 1, 2011
We recently bought our first home and waited patiently the first year before selecting our decor. We found the brochure for Venetian Plaster and loved the look. We decided to do our whole house with the Tuscan look in the brochure, and selected the same colors and finishes. We had to float our textured walls before applying the VP, which added an extra step in the application. It was worth the effort! Applying the VP was very easy, much easier than painting! We had to apply three coats before sanding, but it gave the final finish more depth and ended up being very beautiful. The sanding is very labor intensive, so we searched for a more time efficient and less difficult way to sand and burnish. We purchased a power orbital sander and used 400 and 600 grit sand paper to sand, followed by a 1500 grit to burnish. You have to be very careful when sanding because you can easily sand through the plaster down to the sheetrock if you have a heavy hand. Be patient, don't skip steps, and you will be rewarded with an incredible finish that will last for years. The sheen is so brilliant that everyone asks us if we put a clear coat of varnish on our walls.
It's important to note - the sand paper was found at a specialty auto paint store and cost a lot more than hand sanding and burnishing. It allowed us to do two weeks worth of work in two days!! It was worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Living Room, Bathroom, entry way stair well
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Better than painting
Heather76
Location:Montana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 2, 2011
I lived in Italy for three years and had venetian plaster in the house I lived in, so when I bought a house in the states I wanted to do my bathroom in it. The instructions seem intimidating when you first read them, but if you take it one step at a time it is not the hard just time consuming. I did three coats. The first coat takes the longest, but worth it. I would caution that you need to follow all steps and are truly committed to it before deciding to do it. It is well worth it and lets you use your creative side. If you make any mistakes it is really easily to fix it by blending it or cutting down the amount of plaster on the wall. I really enjoyed doing this project because the walls became a giant canvas and I covered it in my owns special way. I am looking forward to my next room.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
luxuriously beautiful
DIYmom
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 7, 2012
Used this in my bedroom. It was easy, although time consuming, but also incredibly fun. Especially when covering up peeling sheetrock behind radiators. I didn't burnish it and it looks just great with a soft velvety look, colors changing from deep to light as the day progresses. Now I wake up and feel like a princess in my mini palace. I think it also increased the insulation properties of my walls!
My only complaint is that I cant find more color patterns online to design my dining room! What gives?
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
I love venetian
Ninah
Location:Quebec
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 29, 2012
This is a super product...I did this big project in my home-livingroom & dining room..I just loved applying this
it was so fun...But whatever you do..... do not stop to take a break on a big wall...YOU must finish it..or it will show.. & ANOTHER THING IT MUST BE THE SAME PERSON WHO DOES THE STROKING. because it will also show.....! I am undecided wether to do the hallway to carry the effect or go with a similar paint color (but only about half the wall would be done..because of woodwork below)Everyone that comes into the house just loves it
they think it is wallpaper.....We chose the browny color
but a dark grey would have been nice also..to show off couches..We give this project a BIG 5
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beautiful Venetian Plaster using Behr
Bertabab
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 1, 2012
It took me 5 months while going to school full-tiime, working part-time, but I finally finished applying Venetian Plaster on my living room and dining room walls. I did it all by myself! As an artist, I found the process quite challenging and well worth the efforts. I had to buy a sander and knock down some high orange peel texture on dark chocolate walls to apply warm shades of light sunlit custom matched colors of plaster. The results are phenomenal! Everyone loves my living room. It's a small 1100 square foot house and half the walls are now blessed with Venetian plaster in various finishes and color. Be careful! It's addicting.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM PLUS WITH STYLE® Venetian Plaster™
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Venetian Plaster Dont be afraid
Womanatwork
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 6, 2012
Although intimidating- this product was so easy and enjoyable to apply! With an incredible outcome. Dive in and you will live it!!! Highly recommended!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 Next >>>