Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Behr.

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to ¼ “, and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. Its' available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Replace rotting or unstable boards and remove loose splinters before using. Deep nail holes or cracks may require additional coating.

Some reviews posted may have entitled the reviewer to an entry in a random sweepstakes drawing.

Average Customer Rating:
3.403 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (313 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
48
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
98
3.4
 out of 
5
195 out of 31362%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DECKOVER
rksngr
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Put down early last fall. By February it was peeling. Now I have an irregular mess. Love all other Behr paints, but NOT this one. They should refund the purchase price, and/or provide some remedy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Hard work but great product
Lou482
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Put this on my deck surface last summer and am really pleased with how it came through the winter. It does take time to apply and it does not spread. If you do it right and work it into the surface, you will use every ounce of what BEHR's estimating tool suggests. It does a good job of filling in nail holes and wood splits. Hope it lasts a couple of years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver good results
skipper
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I applied Behr’s DeckOver paint to my 25+ year old deck last spring/summer and it turned out great. It survived its first hard Minnesota winter and stills looks great this spring 12 months later. I do recommend that you follow the application guild lines and clean the deck down to bare wood. I used a cleaner/striper, power washer, and two different power sanders to get down to bare wood. It was a lot of work, but was worth it to get the best results. My old finish was stain/sealer would peal every spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Took care of wood decks on the Colorado River
Don22u
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Have a wood deck over the water on the Colorado River, Parker Arizona. Whew it gets hot in the late spring through summer, 115 + many days, and nights during the summer are usually mid 90's.
.
I contacted Behr, explained the extreme heat conditions. "it'll work" they said, "just properly prepare the surface and apply per the directions"
We cleaned the wood, power washed, and prepped the surfaces. The Deckover was applied per their recommendations and coating applications
This was last year. Behr Premium Deckover spend the summer with the sun. This year the deck still looks like last year.
Excellent product and it is slip resistant which is great when you realize there's water splashing on it and people getting out of boats tied to the dock
Would I recommend it? Absolutely, assuming you want to prep it, apply it and enjoy it, year and year
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: out door deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
What a difference
Cincybill
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I bought the Deck Over to seal and stain a front porch and back deck. I had just purchased the home and both had been neglected for several years. I was more than thrilled at the results.It did cover cracks and splinters while changing the look of both areas. I am going to touch up again this year just because of the time they were neglected and I beleive I have added many years to both areas. I would without hesitation recommend to use to others.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR DECKOVER REVIEW
2Dames
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I am the owner of 2 Dames with a Brush Painting in Richmond, VA. We do numerous decks per month and all, if not most customers ask which deck stain or paint they should purchase for their deck jobs. I always recommend Behr Stain and all of my customers have been pleased with their decks using the DeckOver. This Behr product makes an OLD deck look REJUVENATED!! Numerous colors to chose from. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling after one winter, dirt doesn't wash off
kellyb06
Location:Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I was really looking forward to this stain on my deck to help fill in cracks and rougher areas and while it did that, it has been peeling ever since the winter snow melted (maybe before then but it was covered in snow!). I stained our deck last spring so essentially it lasted a year though there are dirt stains on it from last summer that don't seem to wash off at all. We've laid an outdoor carpet on it now to hide the peeling and dark stains but really, we shouldn't have to do that. And I'll still have to redo the railings where it's peeling - an area where there's little stress on it, why is it peeling there? And yes, I did follow instructions to a T. Very disappointed considering the time and money spent on this project.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: back deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Proper Prep is Key!!
LolaM
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I used the Deckover paint August 2014 on my covered front porch and rails. After 8 months (and over the winter) it still looks great and is not peeling or chipping. I think the most important part of using this product is the prep. The wood has to be totally cleaned/stripped and dry before you use this paint. My local Behr rep, gave me very detailed directions on how to prep my porch and then how to apply this paint. I ended up doing 3 thinner coats with the 2 gallons of paint I had and still had enough to do 2 coats on the railings. My porch had very large cracks and splinters. I made sure as I was painting to fill in the cracks and to cover the splintered areas with a generous amount of the Deckover.
Other reviewers have mentioned it not holding up to snow but my porch had repeated standing snow on it this winter and has shown no signs of peeling or cracking...I think proper prep is the reason why.
The Deckover has made my front porch safe and usable for me and my children and I would absolutely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
worst product on the market
Whitehaus1
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 21, 2015
Used 2 gallons on our deck in July and August 2014,which was sanded before applying deckover. After the winter we noticed the paint was peeling everywhere. Now we have to sand the deck again and try a stain instead. A lot of work for an awful product. Would not recommend to anyone!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
very unhappy
clpp
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 21, 2015
we purchased this product in aug 2014, prepped and applied in sept 2014 as per the products instructions .. this spring, a mere 9 months later, the decks are bubbling, peeling and the decks look like they were never touched ever!! ..I am very unhappy with this product and would never recommend it to anyone
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
didn't last 9 months Cant handle Pittsburgh Winter
52radium
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 18, 2015
Very hard to apply was very close to smooth peanut butter. Used Proper prep Behr deck wash and pressure washing. This product Did Not survive one Pittsburgh winter it is now peeling off in large chucks when we walk on the deck. Was very expensive and used twice as much as conventional Deck stains. Will never use a behr products again. Evidently this is a very common issue in areas that get Snow.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeled Badly
upset
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 18, 2015
When I applied the Deck Over product, last summer, it looked beautiful. But now that winter has ended it's peeling and looks horrible. I've only had it down for 9 months and now I'm going to have to completely redo my deck. What an absolute mess! After reading many other posts, it appears this product doesn't hold up to snow. If that's so...then why is it sold in areas that get snow?
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling, chipping, waste of time
ABQmike
Location:New Mexico
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 18, 2015
After 18 months my deck looks worse than before I painted it with this product. It chips and peels. It is to the point it blows off in strips during a stiff wind. What is left is horribly faded. I will now have to sand the entire deck and repaint. But it won't be with Behr deckover. Two five gallon cans, quite a few hours and a fair chunk of change wasted.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: redoing the deck
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Kmatt9977
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 17, 2015
I have used the product several different times, and I have been please with its quality every time!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Shan
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 16, 2015
This product is great and comes in a wide range of color choices!!! Highly recommend it...it really lasts!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't use it
tiname55
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 15, 2015
Worst stuff on the market We have a large deck ...We followed the directions, cleaned it real good with the recommended product ....A lot of work for NOTHING It didn't even last 6 months and when I used the leaf blower it peeled off the the paint ....NEVER USE IT
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wondering why we used product!
Pannie
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 30, 2015
We used Deckover last summer..9/24/2014 and we have to scrap,strip and redo our deck this year. Wood surface has peeled and cracked..allowing wood to show thru ..therefore we have a leopard print deck!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Applied 6 Months ago..And now it is peeling off!
Stephen
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 22, 2015
Our 12 yr deck was in need of painting so we purchased "Deck Over" . Followed the instructions as per the can and applied to the deck. It looked good for the last part of the year, but now it is bubbling up and peeling off our deck. This was really a waste of money..unless Behr will refund my money! Are you reading this Behr...?!?!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
after 6 months this is peeling
breezo
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2015
We are seniors that live on SS and bought this product for our deck. It was very expensive, but it was highly recommended and we used it as the directions recommended. We had a lot of snow and cold weather this year, but we thought this was the purpose of this product. We would never recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Response from Behr:By RachelThe Behr TeamApril 17, 2015
Hi Breezo, thank you for sharing your experience with us. A member of our team has reached out to you to provide assistance with your DeckOver project. Thank you.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Is peeling off after 6 months!!
BigDog
Location:West Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 13, 2015
Very poor product for the money. I bought the Cedar color and followed Behr's instructions to the letter. I put 2 coats on both of my decks and after the winter, it is peeling off in various places on BOTH decks. Also, it shows dirt and it will not wash off. Very labor intensive, but I thought the results would offset the hard work that is required to clean the decks thoroughly, and apply the product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!! I will do whatever it takes to get my money back. Don't buy this product!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Response from Behr:By RachelThe Behr TeamApril 17, 2015
Hi BigDog, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We understand that a member of our team was able to assist you with your DeckOver project. If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact our Customer Care team at 800-854-0133. Thank you.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next >>>