Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Behr.

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to ¼ “, and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. Its' available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Replace rotting or unstable boards and remove loose splinters before using. Deep nail holes or cracks may require additional coating.

Some reviews posted may have entitled the reviewer to an entry in a random sweepstakes drawing.

Average Customer Rating:
3.232 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (237 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
32
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
84
3.2
 out of 
5
136 out of 23757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fantastic product
Navahoe
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 16, 2014
I applied Behr Deckover last fall in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan where we had one of the worst winters on record. Here it is September of the year later and my deck looks like the day I applied the product. In the past, Staining my deck was a yearly project. I would always have peeling within a year. This is by far the best deck product I ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Outstanding Product
rwgwauvhs
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
I was having two serious concerns, first my deck was peeling every year. I think because the wood may have been green when the builder first painted it. I used Deckover and it has resolved my problem.
Second, my driveway was seriously scaling as we moved it during the winter and I had to use a heavy dose of rock salt on the day our furniture was to be delivered as we had an ice storm the night before. What a mess. I tried several products to stop it as the rain, weather & use was intensifying the damage. I did the entire drive with the Deckover and it has stopped further damage and provided a non-slick surface when wet. It has stopped further rain damage and held up real well over the winters and use of rock salt. The product has been an effective alternative to having to breakup and re pour the drive. I have also used other Behr paints for both the interior and exterior and now would not use any other product for painting. Thirty years as homeowner, mostly using Behr Products for painting has convinced me it is the best for me.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Office-Library, Bathroom, whole house
Exterior Project: concrete drive & walkway
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Looks great
tcb1
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
I just used Behr Deckover and it looks great! I can't speak on its wear yet but I am hoping that it lasts.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far so good.
paintladymukwonago
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
We past the 1 year mark. Yeah!
1st of all - yes, I work at Home Depot, part time.
I have a twenty + year old deck (I hate decks, too much maintenance!!) So the deck looked very bad. I had used a solid color stain on it in 2008. It lasted until the snow came off in the spring of 2009. Terrible. Called Behr the offered to replace the product. I did not want it.
Then the Deck Over came out. I thought I would give it a try. July of 2013, 500 sq ft. 2 5 gallon buckets and a lot of work later. It looked beautiful. After the winter, 1 of the worst in years, it still looks good. Cleaned and scrubbed it in June 2014. Still good. Now going into fall of 2014, still looks great.
This is our main entrance into the house, gets a lot of use. We did pay special attention to the prep. We did 3 coats on the deck, because we had enough product. I would recommend this product - providing you are very careful the have clean and DRY wood to put it on. If you wash it Saturday and put it on on Sunday, it will come off.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
HUGE WASTE OF MONEY!!!!
Poohbear
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 14, 2014
Last fall I bought a 5 gallon pail from Home depot and did my front deck and it looked great until it started pealing. It not only pealed on the deck but it pealed on the railings as well. I followed the directions. I made sure the weather was right and waited the right time in between coats and it still pealed. I spoke to other co-workers about this and out of the 5 people that used this product only 1 has not had this problem. Now I have to redo my deck. What a huge waste of my time and money!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deckover on an old cedar deck
Dmitri
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 14, 2014
So far, so good. Used deckover to repaint our old cedar deck. The product is VERY thick and takes a good amount of time to apply, especially to weathered board where the point of the product is to fill in the cracks and crevices. Not as easy as it appears from the commercials. Adhesion seems to be good, but we will have to get through a full array of weather seasons before a final judgment is warranted.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far, So Good
Bogey51
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 13, 2014
I recently applied the Behr Deckover to my wooden deck in south Florida. The Deckover filled the cracks nicely and left a fairly smooth surface. I didn't have unrealisitc expectations, so I am satisfied with how it filled most of the cracks. It is not perfectly smooth in all areas, but it smooth enough to walk on barefoot. It has been on the deck for about a month and still looks great. We will see how it holds up with this South Florida sun.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover Product outstanding
CarolY
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 13, 2014
I bought this product for the first time last summer to paint the stairs and landing on some outside stairs on our new screened in porch. It was a time-consuming project, but well worth it. This summer, I applied the first coat to our 40' deck that is 8' wide at narrowest and 12' wide at widest part. The deck was installed 10 years ago and was never treated. It was in decent shape for that age, but weathered. We had a second coat applied to this deck and the small stairs and landing (I had done last year), by our painter. It is beautiful. We are now using the deck that we had stopped using. I expect this product to hold up well and that we have now increased the life of this decking. The product is thick and filled in the small weathered cracks well. We think it looks like a new deck now. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great finish, easy to use.
barb0208
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Installed new front porch deck in fall of 2012. Wood was slick and all family members had numerous slips and almost falls thoughout the winter. Spring of 2013, added Behr Deckover. Very easy to apply, great finish, protects the wood, beautiful color. Winter of 2013, no problems with traction. Able to shovel snow, yet no deterioration to the finish.
More than I had wanted to spend initially, but after seeing the results, I'm so glad I did.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
look an old deck look good
Chrissy52
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
I feel it worked well I was working with old wood so it was a challenge but I feel the product worked well and went on easily. The price was reasonable and I am satisfied!i would recommend this product to anyone
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great product!
Mima
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
We put Deckover on our deck two summers ago. The deck is old and required a good deal of prep to be ready to absorb the Deckover. The product filled the cracks and evened out the dips and splinters. There are a few places where the rain runs off the roof that need to be redone, but we have been so happy with it that we purchased it to put on our concrete patio that was cracked and growing grass in the cracks. We filled all the cracks with concrete patch and covered the entire thing with Deckover. We just did it this summer, and it is in a very cold and snowy climate during the winter, so I'll report next summer on how well it has held up.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't Buy It
Sallygirl
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 20, 2014
We bought this product last spring because we were tired of staining. It says in the brochure that is does not crack or peel. Our decks and railings are cracking and peeling. Now we have to scrape them as well as redo them. This was an expensive mistake. Our friends also purchased this product and are having the same problem. DON'T BUY IT!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
behr deck over
disgusted
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 19, 2014
this product does not live up to any claims, even as paint! It is peeling off my deck in big pieces as well as sloughing off when I sweep or leaf blower it off! I spent alot of money buying enough of this to cover a 16X40' deck with two coats!!! It did not even last a season!!!!!
now I have to spend hours stripping it off and cleaning up the mess to go back to staining and water proofing my deck!
WHY can't products to designed to perform as expected!
Yes, Behr, I did prep the surface, etc., etc.. Your product is terrible!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not hold up through winter
raynot
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2014
We did prep as we were supposed to then put down to coats of deck over that was in late August or early September. I live now Manchester New Hampshire and after the winter the deck and wheelchair ramp were like we had only put it on in different spots a lot of that was missing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+34points
38out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Doesn't Live Up To The Hype
RTStang1
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 9, 2014
When I applied this product last summer (July 2013) It looked wonderful. I was so excited to have my deck looking so awesome.
Fast forward to spring of 2014... the bubbling started, soon after the sun started heating it up almost the entire deck has peeled and has left my deck looking absolutely horrible. I had such high hopes but now one utter disappointment...especially after all the work that went into applying it per instructions.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+71points
79out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wish I could give zero stars!!!
animalyodelers
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 8, 2014
First of all, the "bordeaux" color turned out nothing like the paint chip. It's purple. Absolutely hideous. Second of all, even after two full coats, it did not fill in any of the cracks, even the shallow ones. I read the directions thoroughly, and I feel that the small rough spots and cracks should have been filled in somewhat as the directions say.
Third-and worst- I waited 24 hours between coats, and applied as directed. After waiting 24 hours after the second coat, I have white spots and streaks in random places on my deck. There was no moisture or freezing during this period. Nothing was spilled or splattered on the deck. The spots do not correlate with any pattern on the deck or pattern of application of the deckover.
This product is HORRIBLE and a complete waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+39points
43out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
This is the worst product I have ever purchased
WildWilly
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 5, 2014
This is the worst product I have ever purchased from BEHR; I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Followed the instructions for prep and application of this deck over product and it didn't even last a year. Cracked, lifted and pealing. Plain and simple this product is junk, very expensive junk.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+52points
56out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not live up to claims
Parksy
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 4, 2014
I cleaned our deck with a Behr product so that I could do a really good job. As I began to use the paint, I noted that it did not conceal cracks and splinters up to 1/4". It was difficult to maintain a color consistency, because the paint separates easily and quickly. It caused a lot of extra work.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far, so good
boating
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 3, 2014
I have 2 wood decks, one s 22x22, and the other 12x12 end deck for an above ground oval pool. We had Cabots Earthen Clay color and wanted to change it. I powerwashed both decks, scraped and sanded both by hand, then the large one was sanded with a belt sander, grits of 20, 36, and 80 and had to be used in that order. Started the large deck first, First coat (the Redwood Naturaltone-#122) put on by hand brush starting at 5AM, took 4 hours, then let dry a few hours and for the sun to move past the house, then rolled on 2nd coat. It looks great so far and has some grit in the stain which acts as a slip resistant. Took a little over 5 gallons for large deck (including stairs/platforms and 30 spindles)-And about 3 gallons for pool deck with 5 stairs and 80 spindles). I did find some spots on the pool deck that bubbled a few days after application, but it was probably not dried enough before putting the stain down. Again, so far, so good, but will write again after a Long Island winter.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ladyjane
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 2, 2014
Tried it on the steps with just a gallon as to not waste my money if we didn't like. Good thing had no problem putting it on. But cleaning was another. If you got dirt on it you had it scrub it clean.
Not happy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next >>>