Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Behr.

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to ¼ “, and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. Its' available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Replace rotting or unstable boards and remove loose splinters before using. Deep nail holes or cracks may require additional coating.

Some reviews posted may have entitled the reviewer to an entry in a random sweepstakes drawing.

Average Customer Rating:
3.566 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (505 reviews)
5 stars
247
4 stars
84
3 stars
18
2 stars
20
1 star
136
3.6
 out of 
5
339 out of 50567%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR DECKOVER
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 19, 2016
At first I didn't realize how thick it went on but after it was great, it filled in all the cracks in my deck. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
2 days of paint, lasted 24 hours. Bubbled.. Flakes
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 2, 2016
After spending 2 days painting our walkway, the BEHR Deckover paint bubbled and cracked within 24 hours of application and it was NOT raining. For MONTHS I watched it bubble, chip and flake. My walkway looked AWFUL. I had to rent a power-washer to remove the rest of the Deck-Over in the Spring. THEN I had to spend 4-hours with a shop vac vacuuming up the flakes that had spread through my yard from my flaking walkway. All total I lost almost 5 DIY days applying then removing this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Too early to tell, but so far, so good
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 1, 2016
I've had this applied on my very old, very weathered deck for about 2.5 weeks now in mid-June 2016, and so far, so good.
It was applied in less than ideal conditions, in partial direct sun, about 80 degrees and low humidity. It had not rained for about 3 days and my moisture meter had the decking at under 8%. I brushed it on to apply it, on over 200 sq. ft. of decking, and also on some vertical surfaces. It was much easier to apply with a wide brush than with a roller. I also feel like you will be able to spread it more efficiently with a brush, and that more product will be wasted with a roller.
It says not to apply if rain is expected within 24 hours. Unfortunately, it did rain about 26 or 28 hours after the second coat was applied. That wasn't in the weather forecast. Let's hope that's enough.

The one main criticism I have so far is that the actual color is VERY different from the in-store brochure as well as the online color guide. VERY different. I originally wanted to do my entire deck in Cedar Naturaltone, which clearly is a light brown in the color brochure. You put it on and it's a bright glowing orange color. After I applied one coat of that on everything, I went to Home Depot and then got additional cans in plain Cedar to do the second coat on horizontal surfaces only. Railings and vertical surfaces I left in Cedar Naturaltone for the contrast. Even the Cedar color is quite far off from the color in the brochure, it's also a bit too orange.
Now let's see if it stands the test of time. I have relatively cold winters here in the northeast and hot, humid summers. I like the texture very much, the matte finish is grippy. And it makes my several decades old deck look like new, almost like composite decking.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
do not waste your money.
Location:Kentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 28, 2016
After just one season, the paint is peeling off my deck. So much work went into cleaning and applying the paint and now it looks horrid.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DeckOver peels off
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 25, 2016
I used DeckOver in 2014 on one of my decks. It looked really great and still does. So in fall 2015 I purchased more and did another deck and steps. Well, something has changed. The 2015 coat is peeling all over the place, even though I used the same preparation method for both applications. What happened??? Now I have to sand everything off and I don't know what to use. I want my money back!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product, great customer service
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2016
We bought the deck over last July. We used it on our back deck and pool deck. Looked amazing when we were finished. This spring the back deck still looks great, but the pool deck has paint peeling up ever where. I called customer service and they are replacing the paint and cleaner and gave instructions how to fix it. We shall see after we get the new paint and see how it holds up!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, pool deck
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
not worth the money.
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2016
Purchased premium deck over. We had deck professionally prepared and product applied by same company. Owner of company said this would not be his 1st choice of product due to difficulty of application. it did not fill cracks as stated. product dried unevenly. Product pealed immediately. After complaints, the crew came back, resanded, reprepped all areas and applied 2 coats as directed on web site and on can. Still got same results. The crew worked very hard to satisfy us. This was not a small project with over 1000 sq.ft needed to be addressed. Will not use behr again. If the Pros couldn't make it work, how is the average DIY going to. Not happy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room, Bedroom
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Covered very well
Location:Massachusetts
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
I was told that I should only need 1-2 gallons, ended up using 4. It goes on very thick. It covered well. It looks great and really refreshed out deck. The picture I added shows the before and after quality of the good and the bad.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old Treated Deck
Location:California
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Simply an outstanding product. Made my 1982 treated deck look new again. This home deck in located in S E Michigan.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deck over premium
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
It went on very thick, more like a premium paint. Used a color to match our house color. Our deck is about 28 years old and it covered very good. The deck seemed to soak up the first coat. The second coat, I was able to fill in cracks, there were many. We had used Behr deck product a couple of years back; it had flaked off when the snow melted, So decided to use this one as it is was a new product. Saw it advertised on TV and it looked like a better product for an older deck. Very easy to apply and great to walk on.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
This product is AMAZING!
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Completely covered every crack in our deck! We have already started planning additions so we can use it again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Deckover on older deck in N. E, Ohio
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 11, 2016
Applied the paint as directed in 2013, it has gone through 3 winters. This spring we found many more areas that are peeling than after previous winters, perhaps because there wasn't much snow? The deck may have been exposed to more weather changes (up and down temps?). Upper deck suffered the worst, will have to scrape and repaint, both upper and lower decks.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
worst advice ever, worst paint ever
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 7, 2016
Had my deck done June 2015.
The deck had little to no use and no traffic BUT is peeling big time!
Had planned to use this on dock and deck at vacation home
Changed plans!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old deck refinish
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 3, 2016
I bought a home 2 years ago and the deck was old and starting to rot. I used a pressure washer with wood cleaner in the tank to clean the old wood. I applied 2 coats of Behr deck over to the wood and it has lasted the whole time. It held up to two active dogs, a family of 4 and several parties. We spend a lot of time on our deck and it gets a lot of direct sunlight, hard summer rain and winter snow. I am very satisfied with the durability and ease of application of Behr deck over paint. I would highly recommend this product as a way to refurb old deck wood.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Frustration
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2016
I was so happy with how the DeckOver product looked on a previously weathered playset for my boys. I applied DeckOver in July of 2015 following all of the application recommendations. I started noticing some peeling in November, and it has completely fallen apart by the Spring of 2016. I'm so depressed to even start thinking about the amount of work this is going to be to fix. Look at the pics, you can see...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: kids playset
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the results
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2016
One month after applying and I am so in love with my deck. We just purchased our home a few months prior and the deck needed a lot of help. No extra money to replace it and Behr textured Deckover has transformed the old deck. Hoping to get another few years out of the deck before it needs a re-haul.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 20, 2016
We have put Deck Over on our deck several times, the old part looks pretty nice, but the new part, we have had to replace it twice because of the peeling. The last time we have used stripping, power washed, plus used a sander, still can't get all of the old off. Ugh. Behr has been giving us suggestion, which we do appreciate, just frustrating that it seems we are doing this every year.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't use this product.
Location:Nebraska
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 11, 2016
We applied this 2 years ago, according to instructions, using the preparation recommended. Last year it was already beginning to flake and peel; this spring it has gotten worse. ARRGGG. We didn't want to have to do this again and now we don't know what to do, it's going to be a whole lot of elbow grease to scrape this stuff off and then what to do next???
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DO NOT USE!!!
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 9, 2016
Two years ago I put this on a 4 year old (at the time) wood deck. I followed directions exactly including the pre-wash.
Last year the paint started flaking off in large areas - I carefully dried each area, sanded and repainted. This year I have additional large areas of flaking and several areas where the wood is rotted - very unusual for what is now a 6 year old deck.
My other deck which has had only stain for the last 16 years is still in fine condition. I wish I had never used this terrible product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terribly Disappointed
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 4, 2016
I had high hopes for this product because of the Behr name and a recommendation by a friend. When I saw how thick it was, I figured it would probably be very durable and last. Unfortunately, it didn't last. I applied it in July 2015 and by September it was starting to peel. I planned to touch up those spots this spring but spring has come and it's worse than ever. We plan to get regular stain and cover those spots, but there will be a huge difference in texture and I guess that the Deckover will continue to peel. I would not use this again and I sure wouldn't recommend it. (And we followed the directions to the letter!)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 Next >>>