Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (500 reviews)
5 stars
248
4 stars
84
3 stars
18
2 stars
20
1 star
130
3.6
 out of 
5
340 out of 50068%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wasted money
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 23, 2016
Cleaned power washed my deck Last May 2015 waited a week before I painted the deck with the first coat of deck over grey. Waited a week and cleaned and placed on my second coat. It is now April 2016 and the paint is chipping off. The deck was only used by me and my dogs . Now I have to redo the deck again. What a waste of time and good hard earned money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Disappointed
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 21, 2016
It has not been a year and my deck is peeling and bald. I purchased all the recommended pre wash, power washed it TWICE and its horrible
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't Waste Your Money
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 13, 2016
When it was first applied, this stuff made my deck look amazing. It was applied by a professional painter exactly according to instructions, including deck preparation. After a year and a half of mild California weather, the paint began chipping and peeling off, and now the deck looks worse than before I had it painted. A complete waste of time and money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Horrible
Location:Connecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 2, 2016
I applied this exactly as recommended in the instructions and it hasn't even been down a year through a very mild winter and it's peeling already! It looks horrible. For a product that costs as much as it does I figured it would last a while but boy I was wrong! Now I have to waist more time and money redoing my deck. Never again!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! Transformed my deck...
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2016
Lots of color choices, easy prep, fills cracks and divots nicely, spreads well, drys quickly, and my bare feet love it! The deck is 20-years-old and has been treated well but has aged nonetheless. This stuff has transformed my deck! Did I mention how easily it rinses out of paintbrushes? Wish I'd used it years ago.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Peeling and lifting
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 18, 2016
Product has been down approx. 6 mos and is peeling and lifting from wood decking. Wood was aged about one and a half years, cleaned, and put down according to temperatures recommended. The worst part is having to remove the bad areas and re-perform. Lots of labor. Luckily I bought more than needed and have some left. I used the acrylic stain on handrails and balustrades and is good and holding up well. This is the first Behr product I have used that didn't live up to expectations.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Very good product
Location:Arizona
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 5, 2016
I used deck over on my wood deck of my car hauler the original oil treated wood had dried up 2 years ago and now it was quickly turning black by the sun. To speed up the prep process I rented a floor sander made for sanding wood floors. That made quick work getting down to fresh wood. I started with 60 grit then 80 grit then 120 grit. The wood was as fresh as it was the day it came out of the mill. I thin used bleach on it to clean and dry out the fresh wood. Waiting a couple of days and pressure washed it again. Let it dry for 2 days then put 2 coats of Deck over on it. Came out great went with the heavy texture hoping it will stand up to tires on my rock crawler jeep and my drag race car. So far so good I'm really happy with it we will see how it holds up against the Arizona Summer sun.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck car hauler
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great results on a HUGE deck
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 11, 2016
Our deck, 18 years old, runs around the entire length of our house on the south and southwest sides. The southwest portion is shaded during the afternoon, so mold and algae have always been problematic. Two summers ago ago we decided to cover the original deck and railing stain with DeckOver. To be honest, we were concerned about the considerable difference in the reviews we read; some positive, but many negative. Many of the positive reviews stressed proper prep. And I'm sure all the back breaking, muscle building sweat equity I invested had much to do with our total satisfaction with the outcome. Let me tell you. I scrubbed every square foot of our 700 sq. ft. deck according to Behr's directions, with Behr deck cleaner. We also had to be very patient and careful to apply the DeckOver when the deck was completely dry. Which was not at all easy during summer here in south central Michigan. I waited a full 48 hours after any precipitation AND always was careful to apply the product when the deck was not bathed in any direct sunlight. So... I was basically a slave to my deck the entire summer, waiting for optimum windows to complete the work! Anyway, I whole heartedly recommend DeckOver to anyone who's willing to do exactly what's necessary, based on your deck's condition and environment, to get the job done. Our deck and railings are gorgeous. I will say that there are probably 6 to 10 very tiny spots that have chipped and will need to be touched up, which I'll tackle this spring or summer. Oh, by the way, I used a heavier nap roller than Behr's website and literature recommends. And I was pretty generous with my application.... both coats. Overall, we're more than satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck and
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
We have used every deck stain/paint there is for the last 20 years. Last year we used Deckover and it was the first one we have been happy with. This is the second winter, and the deck looks like it did right after we applied Deckover. No chips, no fading, we love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Favorite
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Love The finish and the feel of it!!! Grand stuff this Behr Premium deckover!!! My deck looks fabulous and stands out just the right amount!! Everything --Furniture, plants , and back of house blend into perfection!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
very good product
Location:Nevada
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I used the DeckOver on a redwood deck about 25 years old. It was in need of lots of help. I do recommend using the Behr
cleaner with a power washer. The one step that I didn't use it on the adherence wasn't as good I got a little flaking off there. Definitely recommend it with proper preparation of the surface.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Protection
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I have five different decks plus a dock made of wood and all are 15 Yrs. old. Each has been coated at least five times with Behr stains, finishes or solid stain. Using Deckover solid color will prove the cheapest in the long run due to it's durability even in the face of more time and effort to apply. I am 75 yrs. old and may never have to coat my decks again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deckover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great coverage, lasts really well
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I was a little hesitant due to a couple negative reviews I had read, but the Home Depot paint pro told me that he really recommended it, but that it was very important to follow the instructions and make sure you pay attention to the weather forecast to avoid the rain. I stripped a pretty good sized deck and used the Behr prep that was recommended. We did 2 coats on a 10 year old deck 2 1/2 years ago and it's not peeled or lifted or faded. I have one small wear spot on one the steps and that's it! Highly, highly recommend using this product
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom, laundry room
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Steps
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Behr Deckover is a wonderful product for a couple reasons. One, the stain spreads and covers with ease as you would expect from standard deck finishes and two, the gritty texture the material possesses creates a virtually slip free surface. I used Deckover on both sets of my deck steps. Living in SE Pennsylvania, we get quite a bit of rain and snow throughout the winter and I must say the finish on the steps yields an extremely safe surface in the worst conditions. I would certainly recommend Deckover to anyone who desires a slip free surface with ease of application.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product! Easy to Use!
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Best deck paint I have ever used. Very easy to use and I hate to paint. It has been a year and still holding up great!. Deck still looks new. Deck boards were very worn looking and this product sealed the cracks like new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
I HAVE recommended DeckOver!
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Love it. have some places I need to go over after the 2nd year, but all in all wearing well!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom, 2nd bathroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Premium deck cover
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I bought the behr premium stain for my deck, which is 3 sections. I loved the way it went on. Smooth. When I was done. I told all my friends and neighbors about it. I then did my sons deck, because I love the feeling of taking something ugly and making it beautiful again. I will never use anything else but BEHR.i am a 55 year old grandmother, if I can use this product and make my deck beautiful, anyone can. It is so smooth..I loved the color so much, I made cushions to match the bright Tamera.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
High quality product
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
We have an older cedar deck and we use the cedar color deckover and it turned out factastic!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Living Room
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
I love it
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I used The BEHR DeckOver coating this past fall to paint my 20 year old treated deck on my house and I Love it!!!! It looks like a new deck made with the new plastic type of deck material. It brushed on easy enough, and it sticks. It does and awesome job of filling in and covering cracks and checks in the old wood. It really added to the curb appeal of our house.
And I am sure it added many more years of useful life to my deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good investment
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Applied to deck surface over 1.5 years ago and it is
still holding up wonderfully. Deck was slippery when wet before and now is much safer to walk on and no more
splinters either.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 Next >>>