Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.567 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (508 reviews)
5 stars
249
4 stars
84
3 stars
18
2 stars
20
1 star
137
3.6
 out of 
5
341 out of 50867%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Frustration
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2016
I was so happy with how the DeckOver product looked on a previously weathered playset for my boys. I applied DeckOver in July of 2015 following all of the application recommendations. I started noticing some peeling in November, and it has completely fallen apart by the Spring of 2016. I'm so depressed to even start thinking about the amount of work this is going to be to fix. Look at the pics, you can see...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: kids playset
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the results
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2016
One month after applying and I am so in love with my deck. We just purchased our home a few months prior and the deck needed a lot of help. No extra money to replace it and Behr textured Deckover has transformed the old deck. Hoping to get another few years out of the deck before it needs a re-haul.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 20, 2016
We have put Deck Over on our deck several times, the old part looks pretty nice, but the new part, we have had to replace it twice because of the peeling. The last time we have used stripping, power washed, plus used a sander, still can't get all of the old off. Ugh. Behr has been giving us suggestion, which we do appreciate, just frustrating that it seems we are doing this every year.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't use this product.
Location:Nebraska
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 11, 2016
We applied this 2 years ago, according to instructions, using the preparation recommended. Last year it was already beginning to flake and peel; this spring it has gotten worse. ARRGGG. We didn't want to have to do this again and now we don't know what to do, it's going to be a whole lot of elbow grease to scrape this stuff off and then what to do next???
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DO NOT USE!!!
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 9, 2016
Two years ago I put this on a 4 year old (at the time) wood deck. I followed directions exactly including the pre-wash.
Last year the paint started flaking off in large areas - I carefully dried each area, sanded and repainted. This year I have additional large areas of flaking and several areas where the wood is rotted - very unusual for what is now a 6 year old deck.
My other deck which has had only stain for the last 16 years is still in fine condition. I wish I had never used this terrible product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terribly Disappointed
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 4, 2016
I had high hopes for this product because of the Behr name and a recommendation by a friend. When I saw how thick it was, I figured it would probably be very durable and last. Unfortunately, it didn't last. I applied it in July 2015 and by September it was starting to peel. I planned to touch up those spots this spring but spring has come and it's worse than ever. We plan to get regular stain and cover those spots, but there will be a huge difference in texture and I guess that the Deckover will continue to peel. I would not use this again and I sure wouldn't recommend it. (And we followed the directions to the letter!)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wasted money
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 23, 2016
Cleaned power washed my deck Last May 2015 waited a week before I painted the deck with the first coat of deck over grey. Waited a week and cleaned and placed on my second coat. It is now April 2016 and the paint is chipping off. The deck was only used by me and my dogs . Now I have to redo the deck again. What a waste of time and good hard earned money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Disappointed
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 21, 2016
It has not been a year and my deck is peeling and bald. I purchased all the recommended pre wash, power washed it TWICE and its horrible
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't Waste Your Money
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 13, 2016
When it was first applied, this stuff made my deck look amazing. It was applied by a professional painter exactly according to instructions, including deck preparation. After a year and a half of mild California weather, the paint began chipping and peeling off, and now the deck looks worse than before I had it painted. A complete waste of time and money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER<sup>TM</sup>.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Worst Purchase Ever
Location:Arkansas
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 26, 2016
Applied this product in June 2015. Carefully followed all prep instructions using Behr deck cleaning and prep solutions.
After 1 mild Nova Scotia winter the product is peeling and bubbling. Strips a foot long peel off under standard garden hose water pressure. Completely and totally frustrated as the deck now needs a complete do over. Save your precious time and money and stay away from this horrible product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Horrible
Location:Connecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 2, 2016
I applied this exactly as recommended in the instructions and it hasn't even been down a year through a very mild winter and it's peeling already! It looks horrible. For a product that costs as much as it does I figured it would last a while but boy I was wrong! Now I have to waist more time and money redoing my deck. Never again!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! Transformed my deck...
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2016
Lots of color choices, easy prep, fills cracks and divots nicely, spreads well, drys quickly, and my bare feet love it! The deck is 20-years-old and has been treated well but has aged nonetheless. This stuff has transformed my deck! Did I mention how easily it rinses out of paintbrushes? Wish I'd used it years ago.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER<sup>TM</sup>.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Very disappointed
Location:British Columbia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 9, 2016
Put this product on my covered deck summer of 2015,already lifting and peeling.I have always been happy with behr products until now.followed instructions looked good when it was first done but now I am going to have to try something else.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Peeling and lifting
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 18, 2016
Product has been down approx. 6 mos and is peeling and lifting from wood decking. Wood was aged about one and a half years, cleaned, and put down according to temperatures recommended. The worst part is having to remove the bad areas and re-perform. Lots of labor. Luckily I bought more than needed and have some left. I used the acrylic stain on handrails and balustrades and is good and holding up well. This is the first Behr product I have used that didn't live up to expectations.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Very good product
Location:Arizona
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 5, 2016
I used deck over on my wood deck of my car hauler the original oil treated wood had dried up 2 years ago and now it was quickly turning black by the sun. To speed up the prep process I rented a floor sander made for sanding wood floors. That made quick work getting down to fresh wood. I started with 60 grit then 80 grit then 120 grit. The wood was as fresh as it was the day it came out of the mill. I thin used bleach on it to clean and dry out the fresh wood. Waiting a couple of days and pressure washed it again. Let it dry for 2 days then put 2 coats of Deck over on it. Came out great went with the heavy texture hoping it will stand up to tires on my rock crawler jeep and my drag race car. So far so good I'm really happy with it we will see how it holds up against the Arizona Summer sun.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck car hauler
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great results on a HUGE deck
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 11, 2016
Our deck, 18 years old, runs around the entire length of our house on the south and southwest sides. The southwest portion is shaded during the afternoon, so mold and algae have always been problematic. Two summers ago ago we decided to cover the original deck and railing stain with DeckOver. To be honest, we were concerned about the considerable difference in the reviews we read; some positive, but many negative. Many of the positive reviews stressed proper prep. And I'm sure all the back breaking, muscle building sweat equity I invested had much to do with our total satisfaction with the outcome. Let me tell you. I scrubbed every square foot of our 700 sq. ft. deck according to Behr's directions, with Behr deck cleaner. We also had to be very patient and careful to apply the DeckOver when the deck was completely dry. Which was not at all easy during summer here in south central Michigan. I waited a full 48 hours after any precipitation AND always was careful to apply the product when the deck was not bathed in any direct sunlight. So... I was basically a slave to my deck the entire summer, waiting for optimum windows to complete the work! Anyway, I whole heartedly recommend DeckOver to anyone who's willing to do exactly what's necessary, based on your deck's condition and environment, to get the job done. Our deck and railings are gorgeous. I will say that there are probably 6 to 10 very tiny spots that have chipped and will need to be touched up, which I'll tackle this spring or summer. Oh, by the way, I used a heavier nap roller than Behr's website and literature recommends. And I was pretty generous with my application.... both coats. Overall, we're more than satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck and
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
We have used every deck stain/paint there is for the last 20 years. Last year we used Deckover and it was the first one we have been happy with. This is the second winter, and the deck looks like it did right after we applied Deckover. No chips, no fading, we love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Favorite
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Love The finish and the feel of it!!! Grand stuff this Behr Premium deckover!!! My deck looks fabulous and stands out just the right amount!! Everything --Furniture, plants , and back of house blend into perfection!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
very good product
Location:Nevada
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I used the DeckOver on a redwood deck about 25 years old. It was in need of lots of help. I do recommend using the Behr
cleaner with a power washer. The one step that I didn't use it on the adherence wasn't as good I got a little flaking off there. Definitely recommend it with proper preparation of the surface.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Protection
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I have five different decks plus a dock made of wood and all are 15 Yrs. old. Each has been coated at least five times with Behr stains, finishes or solid stain. Using Deckover solid color will prove the cheapest in the long run due to it's durability even in the face of more time and effort to apply. I am 75 yrs. old and may never have to coat my decks again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deckover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 Next >>>