Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.41 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (373 reviews)
5 stars
172
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 star
116
3.4
 out of 
5
233 out of 37362%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Absolute Trash - Don't waste your time
Dersavage
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2015
AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE
Bought the product, found out I needed to have 5 rain free days for my deck to dry and 2 more for the product to dry and finish. Good luck in anywhere other than AZ.
Waited just like instructed. Spend hours applying.
LIFTED OFF IN SHEETS after 6 months!!!!!
Must say Behr was good about replacing, but unless they can pay me for 4 days of lost work, it is of little consequence, and why would I use their sub-par materials again.
Should have read the reviews first.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Waste of my Money
Terry1959
Location:Ontario
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 17, 2015
I got DeckOver last summer and spent a week prepping and doing my deck. Now that winter is over its all peeling off in strips. Now what do I do? I guess I will have to get this stuff off and try some other product. I think what bothers me the most is the time I put into it and now I will have to spend more time to get rid of it. Mind you it did look great when it was first done but to only get one summer out of it is not good. Mind you under my gazibo its not peeling. The rest of my decks are Full sun from 10 am till sun down. So in full sun it peels. can anyone give me suggestions on what I should do now. I would not recommend this product for full sun.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
waste of my time , work and money!!
Odie8088
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 15, 2015
We purchased 3 cans and all the supplies needed. Followed the instructions to a tea. Looked great for a very short few months and peeled and chipped and now looks worse than it did before all my time, work and money!! So. Mad!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen
Exterior Project: Siding, trim outdoors
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
my new home
SherryPlanck
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Last year we purchased a home that needed some updates we started with some bedrooms and the shutters and the deck Behr paint was the only paint I wanted because I had used it in the past and it is the best paint you will ever buy one coat is all you need I love Beth and will never buy anything else whether it's indoor out outdoors Behr paint is the only way to go
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
revamp your deck
MachelleF
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Behr brought out the best in our older deck , colors were fantastic to choose from . Color spoke volumes in our new updated deck . Thank you behr !
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Refinished Deck
bobills
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
This product went on easy and looks great. It has been a year since we applied and it still looks great. We had used stains in the past but they faded and didn't seem to protect our wood deck as much as we liked. This product still looks new after a year! We are very pleased and would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone wanting/needing to refinish their deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent product, way to go BEHR !!!!
scooter65
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The BEHR deck over product worked like a dream, was easy to clean up, and could be tinted to an incredible amount of colors. I bought a 5 gallon pail, and some deck cleaner. this was one of the best purchases I ever made. Thank you BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great product to spruce up a deck
broncosfan
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
My deck was in need of some help or I would have to replace it, this product made it look new again and was easily applied
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Poor product
fordman01
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
A LOT OF HARD WORK TO CLEAN THE DECK AND PUT ON 2 COATS AND HAVE THE PRODUCT START PEELING OFF IN STRIPS WITH IN A FEW MONTHS..It looked great when finished but started coming off in strips after a few months .Very uphappy as i expected more from this product .
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Stains easily
Christopher
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The product is good if you don't have a lot of traffic. I coated our deck two years ago. Six months later I tried to power wash the dirty paw prints from our dogs and it would not come clean. The other parts of the deck that are coated still look good.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Give your deck the love it needs!
MiGentry
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used Deckover for a long time, in fact, I won't use anything else. I am in the construction field and have tried many different products over the years but nothing compares. From the beautiful colors to the durability, the safety and economic value, there is no other product I would use. My clients rely on me to do a great job that will last. I pride myself on long lasting workmanship. Our decks need love! They have put up with so much from the kids to the BBQ's, the parties and the warm summer nights of just sitting with close friends. Keep your deck happy and it will keep you happy!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Product Ever
houseflipper
Location:Missouri
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used this product on three different occasions now. This is the best product I have ever used. I used it on two different decks. One about 20 years old and one about 40 years old. The attached picture is of the 40 year old deck it looks great! You can now go bare foot and not get splinters in your feet. Best Ever.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Stain
willie
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I used Behr Deckover Stain and it turned my old worn out deck boards into finshed deck boards that will give me a few more years out of this deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
So far so good...
JimBishop
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
Our deck is about 13 years old. The deck stains I tried looked good at first but barely lasted a year before needing to be re-applied. Last July we decided to try the Behr Deckover product after seeing a demo at Home Depot. It was a long and arduous process. First I used the recommended Behr stripper to remove the remnants of stain left from the previous summer. Then I used the recommended deck wash per the Behr instructions. After a few minor repairs, replacing warped or broken deck boards, I was finally ready to apply the Deckover. After applying two coats I was delighted with the appearance. It made my old deck look new again. Now after nearly a year it still looks great. Well worth the work I think. No sign of peeling or any other problems. Hopefully I'll be able to enjoy it for several more years before it needs to be redone.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
dhight
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
I could not be more happy. Had deck coated last summer. Gets full sun for the most part, but even has shady areas. Deck is above ground and I shoveled snow off of it twice last winter to keep from becoming a frozen block of ice. Too little sun in winter to melt it. Summer again and DeckOver is still going strong! No complaints here.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
KarenW
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
We used Deckover last year. Now, after a harsh winter, we are very pleased how good our deck still looks.
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
14 years 5 deck finishes
Liam
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
This product is the first of 5 different deck finishes that lasted into a second season in the 14 years we have had our deck. Not a single mark on 400 sq. ft. The finish is a solid coverage and looks great. Have already recommended to several friends and family members that noticed.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck finish
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Subpar product
BehrlyLegal
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
I was so excited to try Deckover on my deck. The pictures make it look like an amazing product. I prepped and sanded the deck using Behr products as I wanted to make sure I applied everything correctly. After the snow melted this year over 50% of my deckover pealed right off. I am sad to say that splurging for the more expensive "better" product certainly did not pay off for me. I would not recommend Deckover to anyone who lives in an area that freezes. Product states it will last on a deck for up to 10 years yet it hasn't even lasted a full year on my deck. I am very disappointed in Behr and their deckover product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling
AngryatBehr
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 10, 2015
Did not last one year and very difficult to work with. You need to offer total refunds at the very least. There is no way to return the time spent working with this garbage and no way to put a price on the stress caused when the peeling began after the snow melted. If this company has a shred of integrity, it will acknowledge, address, and correct the issue without inconvenience to those whom purchased this product in good faith and so thoroughly disappointed with the result.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not work as labeled
BigGumbo
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 10, 2015
I used this product on over 800 square feet of 2 year old decking last July(2014). Label reads "Brings New Life to Old Wood and Concrete" and "Conceals Splinters and Cracks up to 1/4 inch." I followed all the recommended application procedures to include extra time for drying of the wood surfaces. Look great initially but started seeing small areas of peeling within weeks of application on all horizontal areas such as deck and top rails. This spring (April 2015) about 70% of the horizontal decking has peeled off. The deck was also covered over the winter for extra protection to no avail.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 Next >>>