Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.459 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (305 reviews)
5 stars
140
4 stars
50
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
88
3.5
 out of 
5
195 out of 30564%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product, but be careful!
lakesidesusie
Location:Washington
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 5, 2014
I used Deckover on my lakeside dock this summer. Deckover did a great job covering the bare dock wood. I applied 2 coats as indicated, and it has held up nicely. I would recommend it for decks and docks: it will make yours look as good as new!
But here's the caveat:
I bought the 5-gal can, and couldn't lift it to the end of the dock, where I had to start in order not to be trapped. So I set the can at the beginning of the dock, dipped my roller in, and ran to the end of the dock to start my project. Naturally, as I went some paint dripped onto the dock, but I wasn't worried: I would smooth over the drips as I walked back.
Well, folks, that was a bad idea: THIS STUFF SETS IMMEDIATELY!!! By the time I tried rolling over the drips, they were too hard to blend in. Result: Parts of my dock are full of ugly drips. So a word to the wise: be careful using this product, and be smarter than I was. Don't allow for drips!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: dock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great product!
AHHSunshine
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 5, 2014
I used Deckover on my 14 year old pool deck this past summer. The results were amazing. The splintering is gone and you can actually walk on the new surface with bare feet. I did find that application was better for me with a large brush. The roller did not distribute the product as well. It took a bit longer to complete but the product is so thick that the roller did not spread the product evenly enough.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Deck Finish Ever On A 20 Year Old Deck
FEKETE
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 4, 2014
my deck , 20 years old, is made of pressurized 2x6
boarding. I have tried several finshes during this time period.
The results were unsatisfactory.
i applied Deckover in JULY 2014. It is now December and its
appearance has not changed after going thru high summer
temperatures and cold snowy days north of Buffalo, N.Y.
The key to success is the preparation. I lightly sanded and
cleaned with Behr 63 Wood Cleaner. I highly recommend
Deckover.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Needed Protection for Grandkid's Tender Feet
BobinGeorgia
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 4, 2014
I am a 70 year old home owner. I, therefore, wanted a product that would not overwhelm me as a do-it-yourselfer. I planned to use DeckOver on a 15 year old pressure treated deck, seats and handrails that totaled over 1,200 square feet. In addition, I have 2 separate stairs of steps that come off this deck and 4 other separate stairs of steps in retaining walls that surround our swimming pool area. DeckOver was to be used to cover these steps which was estimated to be another 500 square feet. Finally, I wanted to use DeckOver on a 100 square foot wooden ramp attached to our "workshop garage". My motivation and intent for this project was to to prevent slivers from going into the tender feet and hands of our 6 grandchildren when they come to visit their grandpa and grandma.
The actual application of DeckOver on my project did not occur until I had thoroughly cleaned all surfaces with Behr's Premium All-in-One Wood Cleaner.
After completion of this project, I am completely satisfied with the end results of using DeckOver on all my wooden surfaces. I am very confident that our grandkids will NOT get any more slivers in their feet when visiting Grandpa and Grandma's house.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck stairways and ramp
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
30 Year Old Dock Looks Brand New
Charlotte
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 3, 2014
We used Deck Over on the porches of our summer home and they look amazing. Our 30 year old dock was looking pretty bad and we were thinking about replacing parts of it but then I said, "USE DECK OVER" and the result was astounding. It looks like a brand new dock. Thank you Behr !!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: porch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
BUBBLES
NallaNehoc1037
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 30, 2014
Used to cover my 12' X 12' covered (fully shaded) concrete entry after cleaning and using your recommended acid wash and flushing with water. Allowed to dry for 48 hours. Product was applied exactly as directed on label. All went well and it looked good. After a few days bubbles appeared in many locations. Overnight they went down somewhat, only to grow during the day.
After three months bubbles continue to appear at new locations, many are 2" / 3" across !!!
Any ideas???
I recommend you not buy, expensive and very labor intensive with bad results...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: conncrete entry
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Tried it and liked it!
Yolander
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 21, 2014
The BEHR rep. was in the store when my nephew and I were looking at the deck paint.He pointed it out and I liked what I heard and tried it.My deck is old and was red in color.We were unable to get all the old paint.Also had to replaced 2 boards.The paint covered the deck and blended the new wood very good.It was easy to paint with and clean up.I liked this product.IT'S THUMBS UP!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Hail Damage Repair
Jeri
Location:Delaware
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 21, 2014
I think this product is amazing!!! This past spring we had severe damage to our deck and Pergola and my husband had to replace all the railings but instead of restaining he used the deckover and it turned out stunning it matched the color of the wood in the Pergola almost 95% and looks wonderful as if we put on a brand new deck. I have recommended this product to everyone that I know suffered hail damage to their outdoor decks and patios. I also received a rebate for purchasing 5 cans of the product. WOW what more can I say. Thank you .
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Used this around my hot tub wood skirting panel
Christy1
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 21, 2014
I recently re-did my patio area around my hot tub and I used Behr Premium Deckover on my hot tub wood skirt panel. After doing the prep instructions, I used the dark brown color and it covered very nicely with one coat. As you can see from the before and after pics, it looks so much better and actually looks like a new panel!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Very Disappointed
LaHuerita
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 24, 2014
I just paid someone to paint my deck with the Deckover paint. I'm really disappointed that it shows so much dirt. I painted it dark brown so it wouldn't show dirt when the dogs come on and off the deck, but it shows every footprint and doesn't wash off. I would love to have my money back and use a regular deck paint instead!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
deck over
Smookie
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 20, 2014
My husband and I got this deck over for our deck. Wow! Did it turn out GREAt! We loved everything about it, very easy to use, great quality,color turned out beautiful. Very satisfied how it protects our deck with two big maple trees in our back yard. We love our new deck!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
First-rate product
Prairiedog
Location:Wyoming
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2014
When I was ready to refinish my deck this summer, I decided to use Behr's Premium Deck-over as the finish. I had never used this product before, but I have used Behr paint and stains in the past with great results, so choosing this finish was a simple choice. Although it's only been on for four months, I have no doubt that I'll get great wear out of it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Labor Intensive yet beautiful
Zim14
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2014
After reading reviews we decided to go with the Behr DeckOver product to hopefully NOT have to refinish the deck in a couple years time. Our deck is north and west facing and is not covered getting lots of sun and weather. We applied the stripper, then cleaner then DeckOver as recommended. We painted on the stripper to limit exposure to the house siding and rinsed thoroughly as directed. We then applied the cleaner utilizing a sprayer and rinsed. After letting everything dry a few days we applied DeckOver to horizontal surfaces and matching stain to ballistors and vertical areas. The two matched beautifully and looks very nice. We applied two coats as recommended. Overall we ended up 'painting' on product four times to our deck, steps, balistors and railings. Very time consuming process for do-it-yourselfers! Time will tell if this product will outlast the others, so far so good!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Product!
Jeff65
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2014
I work as a professional painting contractor and used this product on a front entry deck/concrete foundation last year and it has performed very well! I had never used Deck Over before this project and it was recommended by my customer, so I decided to give it a try. It worked so well that I am going to use it on my home next spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
First time using
Dinhard
Location:Washington
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 12, 2014
It`s been an all summer project ,with & without mistakes , Don`t use in hot sun on worm to touch surface.the first section 16x16 foot section ,I`m not happy with the way it turned out ,my fault .The next 14 x 10 looks better, prepared better . My concern now is that when it gets hot out the castors on my barbecue stick to it and pop up spots where the wheels were ,this section of the deck has been done for 3 months . The rubber feet on our deck furnature do the same thing . I hope that next summer I can fix my mistakes and recoat the deck over what I put on this year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Purchase so far
diamondlil
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 12, 2014
We have had nothing but problems with our deck, having had one person talk us into one type of product, then another with totally different advice. I purchased the Behr Deckover, then hired a painter to do the work (We have a very large deck - over 800 sq. ft.) We had it done this summer, and so far the deck is looking great. If it looks this good by spring I'll be thrilled. I would definitely recommend at this point.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
FREE THY FEET
Happie
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 11, 2014
Although we have not yet experienced our "chicago" winter my family and I agree this product was as stated-easy to apply, dries quickly and looks amazing! I just wish I had taken before and after pics. It goes on smooth and easily leaving a lovely finish. As usual you will discover a vast color selection for the most discriminating eye. The fact that Behr colors have remained rich and full-bodied throughout the years is why I consistantly turn to Behr for my decorating needs. Our selection was the terra cotta hued color of Redwood natural tone. Well turns out it matches our deck pots! It is so vibrant and naturally pleasing to the eye. Now lets talk texture. It is so luxurious under foot. No more offense to the souls of your feet and toes and I did say souls not soles! It is so darn comfortable it BEGS that one removes their shoes. It DEMANDS that your feet be free! There is no fear of slippage even when the deck is drenched as I water our many plants and tree. And no splinters again due to fantastic coverage. Fantastic-you just have to see for yourself!
I love this product. Yes I would do it all over again for our 25 x 25 ft deck with seating--- even if it doesn't stand up to the "windy city" winter. I think that says a lot-says it all. It is worth our time and money. We have NO regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Cure to a fatality ill deck.
NiteMoves
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 9, 2014
This stuff is the cure for bad curb appeal. If you have an old deck and are short on funds for a new one Deck Over will give you a few more years out of your old one, it doesn't solve structural issues just cosmetic ones. Not a lot of coverage out of a 5 gallon bucket because this stuff goes on thick like driveway sealant. Save yourself some money and only apply Deck Over to horizontal surfaces you can get Behhr exterior paint for railings. Also it took about 3 days to prep and paint my
300 Sq.Ft deck. But it looks great my neighbor is jealous. What more can you ask.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
MAEMAW
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 7, 2014
OUR DECK WAS ALWAYS DARK AND DREARY FROM THE WEATHER AND PRESSURE WASHING ONLY LASTED A SHORT TIME. DECKOVER IS GREAT AND MAKES OUR DECK LOOK FRESH AND NEW.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deckover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Transforming
Bajajo
Location:Wyoming
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
DeckOver transformed our tired washed out deck. Looks better than new! Went on easily, just followed the directions on the can, couldn't be easier.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next >>>