Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.555 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (519 reviews)
5 stars
252
4 stars
87
3 stars
18
2 stars
21
1 star
141
3.6
 out of 
5
347 out of 51967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
do not waste your money.
Location:Kentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 28, 2016
After just one season, the paint is peeling off my deck. So much work went into cleaning and applying the paint and now it looks horrid.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DeckOver peels off
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 25, 2016
I used DeckOver in 2014 on one of my decks. It looked really great and still does. So in fall 2015 I purchased more and did another deck and steps. Well, something has changed. The 2015 coat is peeling all over the place, even though I used the same preparation method for both applications. What happened??? Now I have to sand everything off and I don't know what to use. I want my money back!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product, great customer service
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2016
We bought the deck over last July. We used it on our back deck and pool deck. Looked amazing when we were finished. This spring the back deck still looks great, but the pool deck has paint peeling up ever where. I called customer service and they are replacing the paint and cleaner and gave instructions how to fix it. We shall see after we get the new paint and see how it holds up!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, pool deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
not worth the money.
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2016
Purchased premium deck over. We had deck professionally prepared and product applied by same company. Owner of company said this would not be his 1st choice of product due to difficulty of application. it did not fill cracks as stated. product dried unevenly. Product pealed immediately. After complaints, the crew came back, resanded, reprepped all areas and applied 2 coats as directed on web site and on can. Still got same results. The crew worked very hard to satisfy us. This was not a small project with over 1000 sq.ft needed to be addressed. Will not use behr again. If the Pros couldn't make it work, how is the average DIY going to. Not happy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room, Bedroom
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Covered very well
Location:Massachusetts
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
I was told that I should only need 1-2 gallons, ended up using 4. It goes on very thick. It covered well. It looks great and really refreshed out deck. The picture I added shows the before and after quality of the good and the bad.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old Treated Deck
Location:California
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Simply an outstanding product. Made my 1982 treated deck look new again. This home deck in located in S E Michigan.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deck over premium
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
It went on very thick, more like a premium paint. Used a color to match our house color. Our deck is about 28 years old and it covered very good. The deck seemed to soak up the first coat. The second coat, I was able to fill in cracks, there were many. We had used Behr deck product a couple of years back; it had flaked off when the snow melted, So decided to use this one as it is was a new product. Saw it advertised on TV and it looked like a better product for an older deck. Very easy to apply and great to walk on.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
This product is AMAZING!
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Completely covered every crack in our deck! We have already started planning additions so we can use it again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Deckover on older deck in N. E, Ohio
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 11, 2016
Applied the paint as directed in 2013, it has gone through 3 winters. This spring we found many more areas that are peeling than after previous winters, perhaps because there wasn't much snow? The deck may have been exposed to more weather changes (up and down temps?). Upper deck suffered the worst, will have to scrape and repaint, both upper and lower decks.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
worst advice ever, worst paint ever
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 7, 2016
Had my deck done June 2015.
The deck had little to no use and no traffic BUT is peeling big time!
Had planned to use this on dock and deck at vacation home
Changed plans!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old deck refinish
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 3, 2016
I bought a home 2 years ago and the deck was old and starting to rot. I used a pressure washer with wood cleaner in the tank to clean the old wood. I applied 2 coats of Behr deck over to the wood and it has lasted the whole time. It held up to two active dogs, a family of 4 and several parties. We spend a lot of time on our deck and it gets a lot of direct sunlight, hard summer rain and winter snow. I am very satisfied with the durability and ease of application of Behr deck over paint. I would highly recommend this product as a way to refurb old deck wood.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Frustration
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2016
I was so happy with how the DeckOver product looked on a previously weathered playset for my boys. I applied DeckOver in July of 2015 following all of the application recommendations. I started noticing some peeling in November, and it has completely fallen apart by the Spring of 2016. I'm so depressed to even start thinking about the amount of work this is going to be to fix. Look at the pics, you can see...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: kids playset
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the results
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2016
One month after applying and I am so in love with my deck. We just purchased our home a few months prior and the deck needed a lot of help. No extra money to replace it and Behr textured Deckover has transformed the old deck. Hoping to get another few years out of the deck before it needs a re-haul.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 20, 2016
We have put Deck Over on our deck several times, the old part looks pretty nice, but the new part, we have had to replace it twice because of the peeling. The last time we have used stripping, power washed, plus used a sander, still can't get all of the old off. Ugh. Behr has been giving us suggestion, which we do appreciate, just frustrating that it seems we are doing this every year.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't use this product.
Location:Nebraska
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 11, 2016
We applied this 2 years ago, according to instructions, using the preparation recommended. Last year it was already beginning to flake and peel; this spring it has gotten worse. ARRGGG. We didn't want to have to do this again and now we don't know what to do, it's going to be a whole lot of elbow grease to scrape this stuff off and then what to do next???
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DO NOT USE!!!
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 9, 2016
Two years ago I put this on a 4 year old (at the time) wood deck. I followed directions exactly including the pre-wash.
Last year the paint started flaking off in large areas - I carefully dried each area, sanded and repainted. This year I have additional large areas of flaking and several areas where the wood is rotted - very unusual for what is now a 6 year old deck.
My other deck which has had only stain for the last 16 years is still in fine condition. I wish I had never used this terrible product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terribly Disappointed
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 4, 2016
I had high hopes for this product because of the Behr name and a recommendation by a friend. When I saw how thick it was, I figured it would probably be very durable and last. Unfortunately, it didn't last. I applied it in July 2015 and by September it was starting to peel. I planned to touch up those spots this spring but spring has come and it's worse than ever. We plan to get regular stain and cover those spots, but there will be a huge difference in texture and I guess that the Deckover will continue to peel. I would not use this again and I sure wouldn't recommend it. (And we followed the directions to the letter!)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wasted money
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 23, 2016
Cleaned power washed my deck Last May 2015 waited a week before I painted the deck with the first coat of deck over grey. Waited a week and cleaned and placed on my second coat. It is now April 2016 and the paint is chipping off. The deck was only used by me and my dogs . Now I have to redo the deck again. What a waste of time and good hard earned money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Disappointed
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 21, 2016
It has not been a year and my deck is peeling and bald. I purchased all the recommended pre wash, power washed it TWICE and its horrible
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't Waste Your Money
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 13, 2016
When it was first applied, this stuff made my deck look amazing. It was applied by a professional painter exactly according to instructions, including deck preparation. After a year and a half of mild California weather, the paint began chipping and peeling off, and now the deck looks worse than before I had it painted. A complete waste of time and money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 Next >>>