Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (220 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
26
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
75
3.3
 out of 
5
127 out of 22058%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Should be Behr do-over
Agitated
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 23, 2014
Followed all instructions and used the Behr cleaner that I was supposed to and then applied 2 coats of deck over and less than a year later it's peeling up. Way to expensive to redo every year
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Awful product
chef
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 23, 2014
I have to agree with the others. It was a waste of time and money. It looks great for the first three months then it started to peel off. I have to spend more money on either new boards or power wash. Do not use this product
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
worst ever product
goodbudy
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 20, 2014
I agree with the others that wrote this is the worse product ever!!!! I can not even get mud off of it. The product is hot to the feet and smell when it is hot out... I regret ever buying this product... I spent a great deal of money for a bad product....
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ruined my deck
JayBee
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 19, 2014
It was good the first few months, after that it started peeling and falling off only to ruin my deck. Expensive, hard to apply and disappointing
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the new scent
rajee
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
Great scent room looks new and awesome I always wants to have new look and so I choose this paint
I would recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
khan
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
i used this several years ago and my deck has made it through multiple hurricanes. highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
disappointing results
nonickname
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 16, 2014
prepped and applied as directed-looked great for 1 season. After the winter, the paint peeled and flaked in large areas. Picture not available due to this web site limitations. I will have to re-do the entire deck , probably sanding, to apply s new coat of deck cover. I have a second gallon of this material but why duplicate the effort for a very poor result. I'd rather return that unopened gallon for a refund...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Product!!
ConcreteDeckLikeNew
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
Love this product!! Worked excellent on my concrete deck!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bedroom
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEST NEW PRODUCT ON THE MARKET
BEACHGALS
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
WOW! WE CAN'T HARDLY WAIT TO APPLY THIS TO OUR OLD DECK. PROMISE A BEFORE AND AFTER PICS WHEN FINISHED! UMMMMM....WONDER IF WE CAN PAINT THE GARAGE FLOOR WITH THIS?
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very Impressed!
Honeybadger
Location:Arizona
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
I applied this product last weekend to a wood deck that is over 20 years old. It filled in the cracks and and adhered to the old wood quite well. There is no way to tell how old the deck is as it now looks as good as the brand new deck my neighbor installed a month ago. I put on two coats but it really looked great after just the first. It applied easily and clean up was a breeze. As long as it lasts as promised, it is well worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
deck and walkway
IndianaHomeOwner
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
This is the 2nd time I have used Behr on my decks and walkways, the last time was 10 years ago. Used Behr again because it is the best coverage you can buy. The walkway was used by a wheelchair and walker and still stood up.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Four Decks - One House transformed!
Ash10
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
We could not be more happy with the Behr DeckOver product. Just completed four decks on our Lake House in WI. We followed the instructions and applied to our clean & dry deck boards. The instructions on quantity to purchase and apply were dead on. We were amazed at the exact color match to the railings painted/stained several years ago. We applied two coats - one early morning and one late afternoon. The end result is a beautiful finsih and deck boards that appear brand new. And the texture is just right - not too gritty or rough - yet very slip resistant when wet. Finally, you can tell that once this product is laid down, it will withstand the harshest winters that Wisconsin has to offer! Thank you for creating this product just in time before having to put down another inferior stain product that wouldn't even last one season. Behr Deckover is truly a miracle product. We now live and entertain on our decks!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
DeckWizard
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
12out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! What a great product!
Jeani
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
Wow! What a great product! We have a wood dock that is over 20 years old that was never painted or stained. As you can imagine, because of the Texas heat and humidity, we were getting ready to replace it. Then we saw the ad on tv for Deckover and decided to give it a try. It literally SAVED our dock! We first power washed the deck and then cleaned with water and bleach to get rid of the mildew. Then we added 2 coats of Deckover. Not only did it smooth out the rough edges and splinters...it also stopped the slippage and falling problems of our grand kids when they run up and down the dock wet to get into the lake. I highly recommend this product whether you have a new deck, dock or any high traffic area!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love Love LOVE!!
AshleyK
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
I love Behr Paint. I've written a review before, and I will do it again! We used Behr throughout our entire home. We tried a different paint first, and it did not stick to our walls. We bought a Mobile home that was dated in the 70's, and brought it to the 2000's lol. That being said, anyone who has painted panelling knows, paint doesn't stick very well. But Behr paint did a really amazing job! We went back and returned our other paint for the Behr paint and we love the colors! It didn't take as many coats, it went on easily and didn't drip down, and the finishing project, is what helped us make this house into a home!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best ever used
Wflo217919
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
This was my first time using the New Deck Over! The ease of applying was great, dry time was great, and the finish was outstanding! Will apply another coat next year to keep down maintenance needed! Would recommend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Good at first but not good after 1 year
Adamandvern
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We applied this DeckOver early last summer following all of the recommendations about cleaning and prep. It looked good at first and did add a nice color and finish to our deck. However, this spring after the snow melted we noticed some of it was starting to chip off. It has continued to chip and now 1/3 of the paint on the deck floor is missing. Very frustrating to spend so much money on something that didn't last a year. A stain may be worth it at this point
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great stain for porches.
DeeDeeH
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
It's been about 6 months & this stain is still rich & going strong. I love it. Goes on smooth , dries fairly quick & doesn't fade. (2) Behr paws up !
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Paint!!
MikeA
Location:Florida
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
I have been using Behr products for 10+ years and love it! I have used Premium Plus Interior, Marquee Exterior, Elastomeric Masonry Stucco & Brick and there is no other product brand that compares to Behr. I am anxious for the Marquee Interior to become available in the North Florida area. People often ask why I like Behr over some of the other brands and my reply is just try it a you will be a Behr believer as well.
Great Product Guys!!!
MIke
I would recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>