Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.618 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (492 reviews)
5 stars
246
4 stars
83
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
126
3.6
 out of 
5
337 out of 49268%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
We have used every deck stain/paint there is for the last 20 years. Last year we used Deckover and it was the first one we have been happy with. This is the second winter, and the deck looks like it did right after we applied Deckover. No chips, no fading, we love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Favorite
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Love The finish and the feel of it!!! Grand stuff this Behr Premium deckover!!! My deck looks fabulous and stands out just the right amount!! Everything --Furniture, plants , and back of house blend into perfection!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
very good product
Location:Nevada
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I used the DeckOver on a redwood deck about 25 years old. It was in need of lots of help. I do recommend using the Behr
cleaner with a power washer. The one step that I didn't use it on the adherence wasn't as good I got a little flaking off there. Definitely recommend it with proper preparation of the surface.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Protection
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I have five different decks plus a dock made of wood and all are 15 Yrs. old. Each has been coated at least five times with Behr stains, finishes or solid stain. Using Deckover solid color will prove the cheapest in the long run due to it's durability even in the face of more time and effort to apply. I am 75 yrs. old and may never have to coat my decks again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deckover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great coverage, lasts really well
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I was a little hesitant due to a couple negative reviews I had read, but the Home Depot paint pro told me that he really recommended it, but that it was very important to follow the instructions and make sure you pay attention to the weather forecast to avoid the rain. I stripped a pretty good sized deck and used the Behr prep that was recommended. We did 2 coats on a 10 year old deck 2 1/2 years ago and it's not peeled or lifted or faded. I have one small wear spot on one the steps and that's it! Highly, highly recommend using this product
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom, laundry room
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Steps
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Behr Deckover is a wonderful product for a couple reasons. One, the stain spreads and covers with ease as you would expect from standard deck finishes and two, the gritty texture the material possesses creates a virtually slip free surface. I used Deckover on both sets of my deck steps. Living in SE Pennsylvania, we get quite a bit of rain and snow throughout the winter and I must say the finish on the steps yields an extremely safe surface in the worst conditions. I would certainly recommend Deckover to anyone who desires a slip free surface with ease of application.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product! Easy to Use!
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Best deck paint I have ever used. Very easy to use and I hate to paint. It has been a year and still holding up great!. Deck still looks new. Deck boards were very worn looking and this product sealed the cracks like new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
I HAVE recommended DeckOver!
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Love it. have some places I need to go over after the 2nd year, but all in all wearing well!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom, 2nd bathroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Premium deck cover
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I bought the behr premium stain for my deck, which is 3 sections. I loved the way it went on. Smooth. When I was done. I told all my friends and neighbors about it. I then did my sons deck, because I love the feeling of taking something ugly and making it beautiful again. I will never use anything else but BEHR.i am a 55 year old grandmother, if I can use this product and make my deck beautiful, anyone can. It is so smooth..I loved the color so much, I made cushions to match the bright Tamera.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
High quality product
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
We have an older cedar deck and we use the cedar color deckover and it turned out factastic!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Living Room
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
I love it
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I used The BEHR DeckOver coating this past fall to paint my 20 year old treated deck on my house and I Love it!!!! It looks like a new deck made with the new plastic type of deck material. It brushed on easy enough, and it sticks. It does and awesome job of filling in and covering cracks and checks in the old wood. It really added to the curb appeal of our house.
And I am sure it added many more years of useful life to my deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good investment
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Applied to deck surface over 1.5 years ago and it is
still holding up wonderfully. Deck was slippery when wet before and now is much safer to walk on and no more
splinters either.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great Purchase
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Behr Deck Over was easy to apply and it cover everything in one coat. I live in the North East and it past the test of the harsh winter.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 8, 2015
it is so thick and it does not look natural, it looks like i slopped a bunch of paint on my beautiful cedar
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Not good!
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 6, 2015
We bought a home in July (5 months ago) we repainted the house and when it came to the front deck (small) we went to Home Depot and they had this deck over stuff, we really liked the looks of it, along with the texture so we went with it, we prepped the deck exactly by the directions on the can, it's been a whopping 5 months and this stuff is already peeling off! I should have read the reviews BEFORE purchasing, I now see we are not the only ones with this problem! It's truly a shame, the stuff looks amazing and the texture is perfect for a deck, we have had MANY MANY compliments on it. If this stuff was durable and held up good it would be a 10 star product, but since it DOES NOT it is totally worthless, who wants to go through all the work it takes to properly prep everything only to watch it peel away in less than 6 months! We worked really hard to make everything perfect, I make a vow to work just as hard to get the word out on this stuff! BUYER BEWARE!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Best Product for my Needs!
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 13, 2015
My deck is 28 years old with never having any finish or stain on it. Deck construction was sturdy but too many splinters, cracks and the wood was in need of something so the grandchildren wouldn't get slivers!
I studied many brands and decided on Behr Premium Deckover because of the reviews and Consumer Reports.
We followed the directions to the letter and took our time. Weather stopped us along the way but I think that we did the best application possible.
I am very happy with the results! This was a very good investment and I will enjoy many hours to come on my deck with my grandchildren, family and friends!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Coverage on Deck
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 5, 2015
DeckOver was great for my older deck. It covered the cracks completely.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Takes a lot of hard work but nice
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 4, 2015
We prepared the surface as required and put on by brush and roller.......took a LOT of work and a lot more time than a basic sand and paint but I think it will be worth it. It's very very thick and takes a strong arm and slower painting.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good Purchase
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 2, 2015
It rolled on easy and seems to be durable so far. We have only painted one concrete floor so far and we like it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: concrete floor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nice renewal product
Location:New Hampshire
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 1, 2015
Our deck is thirty years old and we were looking for something to spiff it up with. There was a great deal of prep work, but it was worth it. The deck looks great and appears so far to be able to take the wear and tear from the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 Next >>>