Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (230 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
28
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
83
3.2
 out of 
5
129 out of 23056%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not hold up through winter
raynot
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2014
We did prep as we were supposed to then put down to coats of deck over that was in late August or early September. I live now Manchester New Hampshire and after the winter the deck and wheelchair ramp were like we had only put it on in different spots a lot of that was missing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Doesn't Live Up To The Hype
RTStang1
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 9, 2014
When I applied this product last summer (July 2013) It looked wonderful. I was so excited to have my deck looking so awesome.
Fast forward to spring of 2014... the bubbling started, soon after the sun started heating it up almost the entire deck has peeled and has left my deck looking absolutely horrible. I had such high hopes but now one utter disappointment...especially after all the work that went into applying it per instructions.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wish I could give zero stars!!!
animalyodelers
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 8, 2014
First of all, the "bordeaux" color turned out nothing like the paint chip. It's purple. Absolutely hideous. Second of all, even after two full coats, it did not fill in any of the cracks, even the shallow ones. I read the directions thoroughly, and I feel that the small rough spots and cracks should have been filled in somewhat as the directions say.
Third-and worst- I waited 24 hours between coats, and applied as directed. After waiting 24 hours after the second coat, I have white spots and streaks in random places on my deck. There was no moisture or freezing during this period. Nothing was spilled or splattered on the deck. The spots do not correlate with any pattern on the deck or pattern of application of the deckover.
This product is HORRIBLE and a complete waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
This is the worst product I have ever purchased
WildWilly
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 5, 2014
This is the worst product I have ever purchased from BEHR; I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Followed the instructions for prep and application of this deck over product and it didn't even last a year. Cracked, lifted and pealing. Plain and simple this product is junk, very expensive junk.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not live up to claims
Parksy
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 4, 2014
I cleaned our deck with a Behr product so that I could do a really good job. As I began to use the paint, I noted that it did not conceal cracks and splinters up to 1/4". It was difficult to maintain a color consistency, because the paint separates easily and quickly. It caused a lot of extra work.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far, so good
boating
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 3, 2014
I have 2 wood decks, one s 22x22, and the other 12x12 end deck for an above ground oval pool. We had Cabots Earthen Clay color and wanted to change it. I powerwashed both decks, scraped and sanded both by hand, then the large one was sanded with a belt sander, grits of 20, 36, and 80 and had to be used in that order. Started the large deck first, First coat (the Redwood Naturaltone-#122) put on by hand brush starting at 5AM, took 4 hours, then let dry a few hours and for the sun to move past the house, then rolled on 2nd coat. It looks great so far and has some grit in the stain which acts as a slip resistant. Took a little over 5 gallons for large deck (including stairs/platforms and 30 spindles)-And about 3 gallons for pool deck with 5 stairs and 80 spindles). I did find some spots on the pool deck that bubbled a few days after application, but it was probably not dried enough before putting the stain down. Again, so far, so good, but will write again after a Long Island winter.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ladyjane
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 2, 2014
Tried it on the steps with just a gallon as to not waste my money if we didn't like. Good thing had no problem putting it on. But cleaning was another. If you got dirt on it you had it scrub it clean.
Not happy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Worst paint I ever purchased.
Squirrely
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 31, 2014
Have only had this paint on the deck for a year and it looks like it has been on there for 5 years the way it is peeling. What a mess. For the money and the brand name it should be way better than this.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: pool deck
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Never dissapointed in Behr products!
Birdwatcher53
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 30, 2014
I've used a Behr products many times inside and outside my house . I used the new product, Deck Over, on my back deck. I love the coverage and the color. The color was lighter than the color square on the card, but I still love it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
wait and see
kayakman
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 29, 2014
I am a paint contractor first time I used this product. followed the instructions exact. Not a user friendly product. Did a home with three decks. Next time I Will charge double for the amount of labor it takes. It looks great. I hope in time it will still look good.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Should be Behr do-over
Agitated
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 23, 2014
Followed all instructions and used the Behr cleaner that I was supposed to and then applied 2 coats of deck over and less than a year later it's peeling up. Way to expensive to redo every year
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Awful product
chef
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 23, 2014
I have to agree with the others. It was a waste of time and money. It looks great for the first three months then it started to peel off. I have to spend more money on either new boards or power wash. Do not use this product
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
worst ever product
goodbudy
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 20, 2014
I agree with the others that wrote this is the worse product ever!!!! I can not even get mud off of it. The product is hot to the feet and smell when it is hot out... I regret ever buying this product... I spent a great deal of money for a bad product....
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ruined my deck
JayBee
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 19, 2014
It was good the first few months, after that it started peeling and falling off only to ruin my deck. Expensive, hard to apply and disappointing
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+47points
51out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
khan
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
i used this several years ago and my deck has made it through multiple hurricanes. highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
disappointing results
nonickname
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 16, 2014
prepped and applied as directed-looked great for 1 season. After the winter, the paint peeled and flaked in large areas. Picture not available due to this web site limitations. I will have to re-do the entire deck , probably sanding, to apply s new coat of deck cover. I have a second gallon of this material but why duplicate the effort for a very poor result. I'd rather return that unopened gallon for a refund...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Product!!
ConcreteDeckLikeNew
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
Love this product!! Worked excellent on my concrete deck!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bedroom
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEST NEW PRODUCT ON THE MARKET
BEACHGALS
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
WOW! WE CAN'T HARDLY WAIT TO APPLY THIS TO OUR OLD DECK. PROMISE A BEFORE AND AFTER PICS WHEN FINISHED! UMMMMM....WONDER IF WE CAN PAINT THE GARAGE FLOOR WITH THIS?
I would recommend this to a friend.
-5points
9out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very Impressed!
Honeybadger
Location:Arizona
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
I applied this product last weekend to a wood deck that is over 20 years old. It filled in the cracks and and adhered to the old wood quite well. There is no way to tell how old the deck is as it now looks as good as the brand new deck my neighbor installed a month ago. I put on two coats but it really looked great after just the first. It applied easily and clean up was a breeze. As long as it lasts as promised, it is well worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next >>>