Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.382 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (385 reviews)
5 stars
176
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
122
3.4
 out of 
5
237 out of 38562%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beautiful deck and beautiful colours
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 29, 2015
We built our first deck in 2012 and painted it with Deckover paint in Colony Blue. It was beautiful so we extended the deck last year 2014 and painted again. This year we had to replace some of the rotten boards and shore up the older deck as there has been so much rain and we are on a creek that rises and falls with the tide and our deck has been flooded once. The paint is really good and we are now painting the new parts of the deck. Still love the colour and have painted the garage door and all the window sills the same. The balustrades too are Colony Blue and dark blue railings. Very nautical in a nautical setting.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, new deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
very disapointed in the performance
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 18, 2015
about two years ago I purchased Behr deck over and applied it to a deck at my rental unit. I recently went to
the house and was very surprised and disappointed to see that several areas of the deck were no longer covered by deck over. This was not due to normal foot traffic since some of the railing was also peeled or worn away.
I applied the deck over according to directions.
I purchased Behr deck over because I wanted a good long lasting cover/seal for my aging deck, I was very disappointed in the results. It should have lasted more than two years
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
3 Years and 2200 Sq ft later - Boat Docks
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 10, 2015
This is year three of applications on a large boat dock. Some wood is twenty years old and other wood is as fresh as 4 years old.
After three years, stands up amazing. Dock has been underwater for two winters and no flaking, peeling or any damage whatsoever. Cannot understand other failed applications. I pressure washed at 3000 psi, then bleached with TSP and bleach and Dawn, (1 cup of each to 2.5 gallons) and let dry for two weeks. Rolled with two to three coats and brushed in any divots or holes with brush and let dry for a week. Product works very well.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
Exterior Project: Siding
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't be a Sucker
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 1, 2015
Are you kidding me? I should have read the other reviews. This stuff is as bad as they say. Do you you have money to throw away? This will do it!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Very Poor Product
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 29, 2015
After careful preparations according to the web and the can, this product started and continues to peel extremely bad !! This was put on a deck that was about 10 yrs. old and had been well maintained. After all the hard work, it's peeling after only about 30 days !! This was a VERY costly investment for me, so I'm probably done with Behr !
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Good First year...peeling the second
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 27, 2015
I was super excited when I saw this product at Home Depot. We had a deck with small cracks and splinters that I wanted to smooth over. After reading some of the previous negative reviews, I decided to give the product a chance, but would follow the directions to every detail. I sanded, I cleaned the deck with Behr cleaners, I stripped the deck with Behr strippers, I power-washed, I waited for desired dry period, I applied 3 coats with the approved roller, I waited the appropriate period of time before walking on the product, and I made sure that it wasn't touched by rain until the appropriate period of time. The first year it looked great. During the second summer, I pressure washed my deck with a fan type spray and the Deck-over just started to peel off of some boards. Some deck boards were fine, but some deck boards peeled right up. Now, I am stuck with hours of work just to hope that the next application works better. It is either I strip the remaining boards (70%) or try to re-apply the 30% of the remaining boards. I hope that Behr improves their product. Very disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nice Product
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 18, 2015
I applied Behr Deckover to my front deck that was ugly and slated for serious repair or replacement. It looks better than new. I can't believe the transformation.
I was skeptical at first because I read some bad reviews, but since I actually followed the instructions I've had no problems at all.
The only possible complaint I have is that it really stinks. There is a strong chemicals smell that will burn your nose and lungs without wearing a good mask. Here in Minnesota our days are limited to use Deckover because most nights drop below 50 degrees and i wanted a couple of days without rain before and after application to make sure everything was really dry.
I just bought a five gallon bucket to do the back deck tomorrow. Praying for the results to be as good as the front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER® No. 5000.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Quality Product at a Great Price
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 19, 2015
I, as a business owner of a small painting company, have been staining decks for years upon years. I choose my products very wisely as I want to leave my customer with a quality job well done that will last as long as possible, especially here in the state I live in where the weather changes drastically throughout the seasons. This product definitely covered very well and, since I had applied it almost a year ago, has held up very well against all precipitation and snowfall. It looks just the same as I had left it. I recommend, with using this product, to do as great of a prep job as possible (as with any type of coating), including thoroughly washing, scraping and sanding before applying the product. I sprayed and back rolled a thick layer on the surfaces of the deck and railings therefore really working the product in as well as possible. This is how you will achieve great long lasting results with this product.
Great product, less future hassle.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER<sup>TM</sup>.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
do not buy
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 17, 2015
They named it well!! Followed all instructions. And one year later I am doing my deck OVER.
Product started peeling and bubbling after 9 months. The deck looks far worse than it did before I used this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terrible product
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 30, 2015
Don't even consider applying or using Deckover. I started painting decks in my community 2 years ago including my own deck last year. The 2 year old paint job is peeling big time and blows off in sheets when blowing leaves off the surface. I painted our communities pool deck and it looks terrible. I used to recommend this product and even had the paint brochure to give to people who were interested. Don't do that anymore!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
worst deckstain ever!
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2015
We applied this to our new deck after is was prepped, only after 6-7 months of application, it started to flake and peel. Redwood was the brightest color, that looked like someone slaughter a deer on our porch! it was embarrassing!! Now we have spent hundreds of dollars stripping,powerwashing, and scraping this off our porch. It was a bad investment. so much for enjoying a relaxing evening on a nice porch.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2015
BAD BAD BAD. Spent a lot of money and time and it looks worse than before I started. It will take double the time to fix it.
very disappointing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+35points
48out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 stars no way!!
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2015
After spending countless hours cleaning and prepping our deck that is only 2 years old. Yes we had purchased the treated lumber from Home Depot as well and was sub-standard quality in my opinion. Splits and cracks in two year old wood!! We initially stained with Behr stain that flaked off! We then stripped it down to bare wood, let it dry and proceeded with the Deck over product. Some project that was! After 2 full days we finally achieved the 2 coats and it looked pretty good, that is until this gets wet! White chalky residue everywhere and have found nothing to take this off! Any dirt from my cats feet or regular foot traffic leaves marks that simply do not just brush away. IF YOUR CONSIDERING THIS PRODUCT DONT!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
It's a solution to old splintered decks.
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2015
I pressure washed my deck. I slathered this product on and made sure to let it seep into the holes and gaps. 300sq.ft. later my deck looks great. It’s like liquid tr**.
I have no terrific expectations as far as longevity. After 25 years I am sure the damage goes deeper than the surface of the wood. Paint chips and peels, especially when people are walking on it, or dragging tables and chairs across it.
If the price stays the same, I don’t care if it peels. I can spot fix it. For that price, I may change the color of the deck every other year.
It’s like painting with pudding. It went on easily, however I preferred a brush more than the roller to apply the product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Waste of my Money
Location:Ontario
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 17, 2015
I got DeckOver last summer and spent a week prepping and doing my deck. Now that winter is over its all peeling off in strips. Now what do I do? I guess I will have to get this stuff off and try some other product. I think what bothers me the most is the time I put into it and now I will have to spend more time to get rid of it. Mind you it did look great when it was first done but to only get one summer out of it is not good. Mind you under my gazibo its not peeling. The rest of my decks are Full sun from 10 am till sun down. So in full sun it peels. can anyone give me suggestions on what I should do now. I would not recommend this product for full sun.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
waste of my time , work and money!!
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 15, 2015
We purchased 3 cans and all the supplies needed. Followed the instructions to a tea. Looked great for a very short few months and peeled and chipped and now looks worse than it did before all my time, work and money!! So. Mad!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen
Exterior Project: Siding, trim outdoors
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
my new home
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Last year we purchased a home that needed some updates we started with some bedrooms and the shutters and the deck Behr paint was the only paint I wanted because I had used it in the past and it is the best paint you will ever buy one coat is all you need I love Beth and will never buy anything else whether it's indoor out outdoors Behr paint is the only way to go
I would recommend this to a friend.
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
revamp your deck
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Behr brought out the best in our older deck , colors were fantastic to choose from . Color spoke volumes in our new updated deck . Thank you behr !
I would recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Refinished Deck
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
This product went on easy and looks great. It has been a year since we applied and it still looks great. We had used stains in the past but they faded and didn't seem to protect our wood deck as much as we liked. This product still looks new after a year! We are very pleased and would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone wanting/needing to refinish their deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent product, way to go BEHR !!!!
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The BEHR deck over product worked like a dream, was easy to clean up, and could be tinted to an incredible amount of colors. I bought a 5 gallon pail, and some deck cleaner. this was one of the best purchases I ever made. Thank you BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>