Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.396 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (376 reviews)
5 stars
172
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
117
3.4
 out of 
5
233 out of 37662%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terrible product
fixadan
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 30, 2015
Don't even consider applying or using Deckover. I started painting decks in my community 2 years ago including my own deck last year. The 2 year old paint job is peeling big time and blows off in sheets when blowing leaves off the surface. I painted our communities pool deck and it looks terrible. I used to recommend this product and even had the paint brochure to give to people who were interested. Don't do that anymore!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
worst deckstain ever!
mother
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2015
We applied this to our new deck after is was prepped, only after 6-7 months of application, it started to flake and peel. Redwood was the brightest color, that looked like someone slaughter a deer on our porch! it was embarrassing!! Now we have spent hundreds of dollars stripping,powerwashing, and scraping this off our porch. It was a bad investment. so much for enjoying a relaxing evening on a nice porch.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Loribw
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2015
BAD BAD BAD. Spent a lot of money and time and it looks worse than before I started. It will take double the time to fix it.
very disappointing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+24points
29out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 stars no way!!
Jojava
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2015
After spending countless hours cleaning and prepping our deck that is only 2 years old. Yes we had purchased the treated lumber from Home Depot as well and was sub-standard quality in my opinion. Splits and cracks in two year old wood!! We initially stained with Behr stain that flaked off! We then stripped it down to bare wood, let it dry and proceeded with the Deck over product. Some project that was! After 2 full days we finally achieved the 2 coats and it looked pretty good, that is until this gets wet! White chalky residue everywhere and have found nothing to take this off! Any dirt from my cats feet or regular foot traffic leaves marks that simply do not just brush away. IF YOUR CONSIDERING THIS PRODUCT DONT!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
It's a solution to old splintered decks.
LaughingZebra
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2015
I pressure washed my deck. I slathered this product on and made sure to let it seep into the holes and gaps. 300sq.ft. later my deck looks great. It’s like liquid tr**.
I have no terrific expectations as far as longevity. After 25 years I am sure the damage goes deeper than the surface of the wood. Paint chips and peels, especially when people are walking on it, or dragging tables and chairs across it.
If the price stays the same, I don’t care if it peels. I can spot fix it. For that price, I may change the color of the deck every other year.
It’s like painting with pudding. It went on easily, however I preferred a brush more than the roller to apply the product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Waste of my Money
Terry1959
Location:Ontario
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 17, 2015
I got DeckOver last summer and spent a week prepping and doing my deck. Now that winter is over its all peeling off in strips. Now what do I do? I guess I will have to get this stuff off and try some other product. I think what bothers me the most is the time I put into it and now I will have to spend more time to get rid of it. Mind you it did look great when it was first done but to only get one summer out of it is not good. Mind you under my gazibo its not peeling. The rest of my decks are Full sun from 10 am till sun down. So in full sun it peels. can anyone give me suggestions on what I should do now. I would not recommend this product for full sun.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
waste of my time , work and money!!
Odie8088
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 15, 2015
We purchased 3 cans and all the supplies needed. Followed the instructions to a tea. Looked great for a very short few months and peeled and chipped and now looks worse than it did before all my time, work and money!! So. Mad!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen
Exterior Project: Siding, trim outdoors
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
my new home
SherryPlanck
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Last year we purchased a home that needed some updates we started with some bedrooms and the shutters and the deck Behr paint was the only paint I wanted because I had used it in the past and it is the best paint you will ever buy one coat is all you need I love Beth and will never buy anything else whether it's indoor out outdoors Behr paint is the only way to go
I would recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
revamp your deck
MachelleF
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Behr brought out the best in our older deck , colors were fantastic to choose from . Color spoke volumes in our new updated deck . Thank you behr !
I would recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Refinished Deck
bobills
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
This product went on easy and looks great. It has been a year since we applied and it still looks great. We had used stains in the past but they faded and didn't seem to protect our wood deck as much as we liked. This product still looks new after a year! We are very pleased and would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone wanting/needing to refinish their deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent product, way to go BEHR !!!!
scooter65
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The BEHR deck over product worked like a dream, was easy to clean up, and could be tinted to an incredible amount of colors. I bought a 5 gallon pail, and some deck cleaner. this was one of the best purchases I ever made. Thank you BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great product to spruce up a deck
broncosfan
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
My deck was in need of some help or I would have to replace it, this product made it look new again and was easily applied
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Poor product
fordman01
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
A LOT OF HARD WORK TO CLEAN THE DECK AND PUT ON 2 COATS AND HAVE THE PRODUCT START PEELING OFF IN STRIPS WITH IN A FEW MONTHS..It looked great when finished but started coming off in strips after a few months .Very uphappy as i expected more from this product .
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Stains easily
Christopher
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The product is good if you don't have a lot of traffic. I coated our deck two years ago. Six months later I tried to power wash the dirty paw prints from our dogs and it would not come clean. The other parts of the deck that are coated still look good.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Give your deck the love it needs!
MiGentry
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used Deckover for a long time, in fact, I won't use anything else. I am in the construction field and have tried many different products over the years but nothing compares. From the beautiful colors to the durability, the safety and economic value, there is no other product I would use. My clients rely on me to do a great job that will last. I pride myself on long lasting workmanship. Our decks need love! They have put up with so much from the kids to the BBQ's, the parties and the warm summer nights of just sitting with close friends. Keep your deck happy and it will keep you happy!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Product Ever
houseflipper
Location:Missouri
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used this product on three different occasions now. This is the best product I have ever used. I used it on two different decks. One about 20 years old and one about 40 years old. The attached picture is of the 40 year old deck it looks great! You can now go bare foot and not get splinters in your feet. Best Ever.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Stain
willie
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I used Behr Deckover Stain and it turned my old worn out deck boards into finshed deck boards that will give me a few more years out of this deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
So far so good...
JimBishop
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
Our deck is about 13 years old. The deck stains I tried looked good at first but barely lasted a year before needing to be re-applied. Last July we decided to try the Behr Deckover product after seeing a demo at Home Depot. It was a long and arduous process. First I used the recommended Behr stripper to remove the remnants of stain left from the previous summer. Then I used the recommended deck wash per the Behr instructions. After a few minor repairs, replacing warped or broken deck boards, I was finally ready to apply the Deckover. After applying two coats I was delighted with the appearance. It made my old deck look new again. Now after nearly a year it still looks great. Well worth the work I think. No sign of peeling or any other problems. Hopefully I'll be able to enjoy it for several more years before it needs to be redone.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
dhight
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
I could not be more happy. Had deck coated last summer. Gets full sun for the most part, but even has shady areas. Deck is above ground and I shoveled snow off of it twice last winter to keep from becoming a frozen block of ice. Too little sun in winter to melt it. Summer again and DeckOver is still going strong! No complaints here.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
KarenW
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
We used Deckover last year. Now, after a harsh winter, we are very pleased how good our deck still looks.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 Next >>>