Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.587 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (479 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
80
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
126
3.6
 out of 
5
324 out of 47968%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover just works
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
I am a professional handyman (www.quickfixguy.com)
I have recommended Deck Over to many of my customers.
It looks great when applied according to the directions. I has a good variety of colors. Makes an old deck look new again. I've also applied Deck Over to new decks for extra protection.
Overall a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent product
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Used Deckover on my deck that probably hadn't been treated in 10 years (we just moved in). It went on better than we anticipated and we probably could have just done one coat. The second coat went on even easier and the finish is very smooth. So far it is holding up well. I will use this again in a few years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best purchase for me
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Overall I love this product.It has made my old deck look brand new. My deck is large and it took me awhile to complete it.But my deck looks great and now that the leaves are falling it amazes me how much easier it has made it to sweep them up.I have recommended this product to all of my friends
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love it!
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Have used BEHR paint for several years now, but this one has been impressive. It is difficult to apply, only because it is so heavy to transfer to a bucket or pail. Once the transfer is done, it is easy to apply and dries hard as nails. If it holds up to my previous experience with Behr paints, I may never have to paint my deck again. I like the way it looks, the way it feels and the way it covers. The squirrels that once chewed everything in site, apparently do not like it. I think I will try it on the shed next, after I finish the deck completely.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck, shed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy to apply yet very durable
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
A number of years ago we built a deck for our son. We painted it with standard deck paint, but every spring, because of the winter wear, we had to redo it. This year, we decided to repaint with your Premium Deckover. First of all, it went on with ease. The good news, for us, is that it appears unlikely that we will have to repaint it next spring. Thank you Behr.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Was a bit worried after reading mixed reviews. Just painted our deck using DeckOver this past summer. We had old painted wood, old unpainted wood and new unpainted wood.....deckover covered them all perfectly (after properly cleaning the deck first). So great to finally have a nice uniform and clean look. Easy to apply, but dries quickly. Beyond happy with the result.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
DeckOver is my first choice!
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
I have used DeckOver products professionly on several occasions and not only was it problem free and meet my expectations but it has made my customers very happy. Whether using it on concrete or wood the look is amazing and durability is great. I've never had chipping or peeling problems but have seen others fail. I have to believe that they failed to prepare the surface correctly. The paint has awesome adherence to almost anything. It's what's loose underneath that failed. Excellent color choices for modern or classic looks. Rolls on nice but a brush is also required to completely fill in cracks. I choose it every time over the other similar products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deck over
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
I applied deck over on my 20 some year old deck about 3 months ago. Deck looks amazing. It is nice to be able to walk on the painted deck without getting splinters. So far it is holding up great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product, apply during cooler weather
Location:Idaho
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Great product. We've had it on our cement patio for about four months now and so far, so good. I love the textured feel so the surface never feels slick and it gives it a great look too. The texturing does collect dirt/dust more, but nothing a good spray off can't rectify.
Pay attention to the weather when applying. It was in the 80's low 90's when I finished. That was almost too hot because it was drying so fast and texture had the propensity to clump. Do it in cool weather for the best look.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Saved a dying deck!
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
In the summer of 2014, our deck was splintering badly and, in some corners where it stayed wet, beginning to show signs of rot.
We were considering replacing the entire deck when we found Behr Premium Deckover. For the cost, we figured it couldn't hurt to try.
So, we pressure washed the deck, and pre-treated it per the directions on the can.
The DeckOver went on well, and filled the cracks nicely. Some of the bigger cracks had to be filled a few times, but they all eventually filled up nicely.
Now, about 16 months later, the deck still looks just like when I treated it, and the spots that were staying wet and getting soft are staying good and hard.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Saved Me From Redecking
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Thought I would have to put new pressure treated or composite decking on my 30 year old deck. Deckover save me from doing that. I filled the knot holes with wood filler and and the Deckover took care of the cracks. At the end of the second year and still looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Product EVER used on my deck!
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
This was the BEST product that I have ever used on my deck. After prepping the deck (power washing and sanding some of the rough spots), I began what I thought would be the long process of painting and re-painting (coat after coat). This was ABSOLUTELY NOT the case. I followed the instructions and painted the "most troublesome" spots first. Then, after allowing that to dry, painted the remainder of my deck. WOW. The result was AWESOME. Bright, clean, beautiful and NO MORE SPLINTERING WOOD. I was going to use recycled/plastic wood and am SO HAPPY that I chose this instead. It was much more economical, much easier to use and the color was exactly what I wanted.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Pool Deck
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Covers well but does not go far and hard to match up the same color when painting at different times due to the thickness of the product and it is very hard to keep the color consistent .
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
The Right Deck Cover
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
My wife & I selected the Behr product DeckOver after a thorough review of what was available in the market. Our plan was to cover a rebuilt deck with a stain or paint.
I hired a painter and discussed the product with him with a plan to use DeckOver on the horizontal and a matching stain on the vertical. After 30 gallons, the deck is beautiful and slip resistent around the pool. I am in hopes that the full second coat will last several years in the full sun.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best purchase ever
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Great product. Painted sons deck, nieces deck, my fence, garage and last our house. Looks brand new on a 30 year old house. Also painted birdhouse.looking for something else to paint. Large selection of colors
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding, fence deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Decked out in Behr DeckOver...Absolutely marvelous
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Our porch was splintered, sun-beaten and the original paint (white) was peeling off. After initial sweep-down with a corn broom we got started on applying a first coat of a Hunter Green color in Behr's DeckOver product. One gallon was recommended for us in terms of its ability to cover the square footage of our porch. Result....splinters gone! Sun-beaten surface looks brand new and whatever was peeling before is covered permanently. It worked so well, I did my back deck too and will be using it on my cinderblock foundation as well! Thanks Behr for a wonderful &* easy-to-use product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old Deck Looks lIke New
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Just painted my 16 year old deck with Deckover. It looks better than when it was new. Filled in the small cracks and left the surface smooth. WIsh I would have done it sooner.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beautiful results that last!!
Location:Nevada
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Recipe - 3 Gallons (different colors) BEHR Premium Deckover + 10 Wood spool tables throw in some colored umbrellas for accent = a beautiful colorful courtyard for fellowship!! Ingredients can be changed but the effect will be the same as long as you use BEHR. Beautiful long lasting results. Colors stay true and very very durable to weather. I would not use anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Product that preforms as advertised
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Used the Behr Premium Deckover on our deck that was a couple of years past needing covered. It filled in cracks in the wood and covered the screw holes just as it said it would. Had a couple of deep gouges in the wood that we filled with a wood putty and the deckover went right over it with no signs of where the filling is. We used the dark blue color that is shown in the TV commercials and received the same results and look that shows on TV. Power washed the deck first as recommended and used a roller and a pad type applicator to get between the boards, both on the end of a pole to avoid bending. We are in Ohio and found it we applied it mid day when the sun was at its peak, it dried too fast and was harder to work with, almost glue like. We applied it in the morning when the deck was still in the shade of the house then the afternoon sun seemed to "bake" it into the wood. Very happy with the finish.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beautiful Finish
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
We used Deck Over on our large deck that was looking very rough. After cleaning and letting it dry for a few days we applied our first coat of Deck Over. We used a 4 inch brush to be sure we filled in all our cracks and imperfections, It looked great after the first coat. Following the second coat, which we applied with a roller, our deck is beautiful. We were recently outside on the deck with our pot luck group and received very nice comments about how great the deck looked. I've been advertising your product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 Next >>>