Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (500 reviews)
5 stars
248
4 stars
84
3 stars
18
2 stars
20
1 star
130
3.6
 out of 
5
340 out of 50068%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
fantastic product
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
I built my very large deck in 1986 when they were just coming out with treated lumber. I was considering tearing it down and rebuilding due to the cracking surface .cost approx $12,000. I saw the commercial on TV showing barefoot dancing and said if thats true it would save me a lot of money .I bought a 5 gallon bucket and I must say I was amazed.It works as advertised .I live on a lake and do a lot of entertaining .We are now able to walk barefoot and even dance on our old deck .
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Lots of HARD Work, but worth it !
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
Our deck is 12 years old & I have repainted it every 2-3 years as it needed it; cracks in the wood showing, some pealing of the paint. When I heard about Behr Deck Over I thought this could be the last time I would have to paint the deck. At 72 years of age, I needed something that didn't require every 2-3 years to be redone. Taking the time to prep it properly, we scraped, sanded & cleaned it with the suggested cleaner, NO POWER WASHING! (I didn't realize that it took several weeks for a power washed deck to truly dry out so it would be ready to paint, thanks Behr for that great information), maybe that is why I had problems with previous paint on it pealing? After it had dried for 24 hours I first covered those areas that I felt were the rough areas, nail holes, cracks, etc. Then painted the first coat on with a brush. Again let it dry out then painted the second coat with a roller. Lots of time & hard work, especially in the prep but well worth it. I feel very safe on it, not slippery, just enough texture, not an over load of it. And I think about the warrantee & it's suppose to last 7-10 years. YES! I won't have to redo it in 2-3 years :) It looks great, & makes it look new & uniform without those ugly cracks. When working with the Deck Over, I thought this is like cement & it's going to be a pain to get it cleaned up. WRONG! Soap & water & amazing it cleaned up without any hard work involved.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: 12' x 20' deck with 2 set of steps.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love my deck!!
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
We love the Behr deck paint! It went on easily and it sure makes our house look beautiful. My husband put it on and it went smoothly and easily. It sure does make a difference. We are so happy with the looks of our decks....we did the front and back deck with this paint. I would recommend it to everyone!! Thank you Behr!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
DeckOver & Under
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
26 year 2x4 decking had 1/4" cracks and loose top hangers. Two brushed coats and it looks like smooth concrete board. Underside had 1/8" cracks...no problems and one drip. I suggest a name change to DeckOver/Under supreme
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
works like it says
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
this product is a great product. the only problume i have is the deck cleaner. you can not use it around a above ground pool liner.my deck goes all the way around my pool...
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing results
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
We moved into our current home a few years ago. The front porch looked weathered and worn. I decided to try Deckover after seeing the ads on the TV. I was not expecting the fabulous results I got. The porch looked new! I was so impressed that I thought I would try it on our deck too. I had tried various stains and wood protectors with poor results. The people who lived here before had really ruined the surface by over power washing it. This was my last try before having to replace the deck. Again, the results were just amazing! DeckOver gave new life to this old beaten wood. My husband and I couldn't be more pleased. I would recommend DeckOver to everyone who wants to save their deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone, deck & porch
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Porch Renewal
Location:Washington
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
Grey deckover renewed a discolored Trex porch with little ventilation. So far, I am pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, fence, deck, porch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Product!!!
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
Just used on my deck that was a year old.....very nice coverage & did use two coats.....nice option to be able to tint the product to the color needed to accent my new home....had enough left to put another coat on come spring & should last as described, for YEARS!!!!!
Thanks BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
paint marks up very easily
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
The paint seems to show dirt and marks very easily.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Disappointed
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
The product looks beautiful on the deck until you start using the deck as you normally would. We had marks from hoses and other things that would not clean off. Behr sent us a cleaner to use, that did not work either. We ended up recoating and being very careful how we use it. Did not want to strip it and start over, will probable have to later.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Figment
Location:Montana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
Easy to apply looks great Everyone that sees it loves the look and color
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
seems great
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
Product went on well and covered as well as, or better, then expected. Only want to see how it holds up through the winter season, before I give it my top rating.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product!
Location:Connecticut
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
Goes on easily. Brought my deck back to life! This was my first time doing it myself. I would recommend the product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
First time use on concrete
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
I used this on my front porch (6 gal) 2 years ago. No problems, no pealing, covered the cracks well as they were very small. Don't try putting it down on a hot day in sunlight! Wait for cloudy 65-70 degree weather and roll it out fast. I just bought another 11 gal and am doing the back deck next.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
It Does Work
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
First of all, assume that your job will take longer than you had anticipated. Your end product will justify the added time. My 12 x 20 deck is 30 years old and i had put off doing a coating for 10 years. That simply meant that the surface had become cracked and splintered to the point that the worst boards had to be replaced prior to coating. I had also considered the very expensive job of replacing all of the boards but decided to use DeckOver. You must pressure wash any old loose previous coating off The consistency of DeckOver is that of yogurt and although I first tried appling it with the recommended funky roller, I found it much easier to use a paint roller with a 3/4" nap and a brush to paint surfaces between the boards. The end result was as follows. Yes it takes 2 coats, does fill in gaps and my old deck appeared practically new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Initial Behr Purchase was Impressive!
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
My first experience with Behr products was my purchase of DeckOver in a beautiful warm Sable color. The product was very thick, almost like pudding, was at first was alarming, but application was a breeze: no drips, quick dry, and fantastic coverage of my dry, cracked deck. The product covered large knot holes, and most large cracks, leaving behind a silky smooth matte finish. I would use this again. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fantastic
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Did exactly as advertised!! Looks great on old decking!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck and fence
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Purchase Ever
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
Cover up old deck like new, want to see it last as recommended
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Stucco
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great coverage
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
We used the deckover 6 months ago and are very pleased so far with the results! It covered many imperfections on our deck and gave it a facelift! Can't wait to see how it holds up in the winter weather.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
wait and see
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
the product did not cover as much as listed, so we got another 5 gallon bucket to finish the 2nd coat and apply a third. It's been 3months and so far so good but we will have to wait and see what it looks like after the below zero temps and snow get to it. reports are after a year its not a "great" product but we will wait and see. so far its great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding, deck, fence, outbuildings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 Next >>>