Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.181 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (232 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
28
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
85
3.2
 out of 
5
129 out of 23256%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Does exactly what we needed
blm50
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We have a small deck and 2 sets of stairs that are in the shade most of the day. There are also maple trees that drop those spinner things all the time so getting a day when there is nothing on the stairs or the deck is interesting. Deckover went on smoothly and easily and has given the back of our house a wonderful new look.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling up after 6 months
flyboy
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I applied this product last in Septemper 2013 and prepared the surface as per the instructions. Deck is about 18 yrs old and in decent shape. I did remove the very bad deck boards and replaced them with new wolmanized decking. Deck looked great right after application. This past April I noticed bubbles on the deck. I found the coating was peeling up all over the deck. Awful!!!! The product did not have any issues in sticking to the new decking but it is sold as fix for worn and splintering decking. Well, it just peeled up on the older boards. Needless say I had a lot of extra work on my hands this spring. It is like there is something wrong with the product. It should not be peeling up like it did after just one winter.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck looks and feels amazing.
TXdeck
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I have a very worn wooden deck of over 15 years old. I have always used and refurbished with Behr products so I have prior confidence in the brand and product. The Deckover product took two coats as usual. The outcome is outstanding it fills in cracks and creates a surface that feels great when walking on. Has a nice grid feel to it and washes off nicely. I am looking forward to many years of enjoyment with this new looking deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Product!
HappyasaLark
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We had a deck in need of resurfacing. The deck condition was pushing the limit as to what the DeckOver product was advertised to be able to accomplish. After just one coat we were very impressed. After coat number two we were blown away!
Thank you Behr!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old deck
Alexandra
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
Purchased DeckOver in Barn Red for our deck last week. Our deck was in a rough shape; last painted over a year ago. After painting it with DeckOver, our deck is like new, smooth surface, no splinters, we can walk barefoot on our deck. Love it! Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product
BobF
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I just finished my 10 year old deck which was splitting down the grain of the wood. The deckover product worked ok but don't use a 1/2" nap roller, use a 3/4" nap roller. After two coats with a 1/2 " roller I went to a 3/4" roller and it worked much better.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Meaghan
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We moved into our house about a year ago and wanted to try and refinish the deck. We couldn't be happier with the results from deck over. Our deck looks amazing now!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bathroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great On Railings
BTJREF
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 9, 2014
Major refurbish of a 25+ year old deck. Used this product on the railing parts. used high pressure sprayer on most pieces.Then railings and balusters went thru surface planer.I was only able to get the first coat on last year. Looks as good this year as last, Yes, there are some cracks. A few spots of raised grain where the paint integrity wasn't good. But no major peeling. 99% good without second coat. Second coat going on this year, The key I think is I took everything down to bare wood and used the cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terrible
hpal12
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 9, 2014
Upon first application, we loved this product. We made sure we prepared the deck surface accordingly, but it didn't even last a full season. in spring, the entire surface peeled off like an orange peel. Not worth the time or money for this one. Very very disappointed in this Behr product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Disatisfied
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 9, 2014
i painted 2 of my decks last year following instructions meticulously. This summer the deckover is chipping off. Now I have to redo my decking so that I can stain them.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product!!
McGuire21
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 7, 2014
Purchased to use on our Rainbow Play System. In the past we used stain and were very disappointed on how difficult it was to use and how messy it was so we decided to try Deck Over and couldn't be happier with our decision. It was easy to use and covered beautifully. The Redwood color is stunning!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Like what I see so far
TC333
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 7, 2014
We just finished using this product on our front porch and it looks great. We liked how it covered the surface and fillled in the wood cracks.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My wife is very happy
Widge
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 7, 2014
We were only half through refinishing our deck with Behr Deckover and my wife said " This stuff is great, I could be a spokesman for this product." We are very satisfied with the outcome.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
horrible product
cmnord
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 6, 2014
Badly stained in just a few days from foot traffic and dog paws. Will not clean off, and pressure washing on light spray peeled the paint right up. Expensive lesson learned. Don't bother!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Extremely Disappointing
weekendwarrior
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 5, 2014
Painted our deck in July of 2013. As soon as spring 2014 came, the paint was peeling up and flaking off. We followed all instructions for prep and applied 2 coats. Our deck looks horrendous now. I would never recommend this product to anyone that has any severe weather as it does not hold up well.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Coming off in sheets
Dobbie
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 5, 2014
My husband and I purchased this product about a year ago so we could have a beautiful space to entertain in. We spent countless hours prepping and applying this product to our space. We are now left with a deck that is pealing and coming off in sheets. This product does not live up to what Behr advertises. We are extremely disappointed with this product. We are now left with a space that I'm embarrassed to show and it makes me sick to my stomach ever time I look out my sliding glass door.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Autumnlake
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 4, 2014
I just finished applying this product to a brick paver patio and 2 wood steps. It is very thick and I had to stir before each use as the colors separated quicker than most "paint" does. I have had to put on 2 coats so far, one with a roller and the other with a brush for the spotty areas. Don't apply on a hot day. It will dry very fast. It applied easier to the wood steps than the concrete. It's a nice color but my true judgement will be after a full summer and winter. It is pricey and my previous concrete stain lasted several years whereas I can not attest to the longevity of this product yet.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
deckover
DENNIS
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 3, 2014
the worst stuff on the market ,didn't last 3months and when I want my money back this paint is GARBAGE.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Worst purchase EVER
Tracey3083
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 1, 2014
Besides not good coverage on concrete to my amaze you cannot clean this stuff with anything. I called the company about this and they were more than happy to send me a gallon of the concrete cleaner and I knew I was in trouble. From light pink chalk to very light mud your done over on my hands and knees scrubbing this stuff everyday I hope like everyone else says that it doesn't hold up and peels off after one winter can't wait to get rid of it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: patio
Exterior Project: concrete
+22points
28out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ella
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 30, 2014
I used this product last year. It looked nice but when spring came and summer this year, boy did I have a mess.This was a total waste of time and money. I am having the deck redone by a professional that will be using a different product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+48points
60out of 72found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next >>>