Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.23 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (244 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
34
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
86
3.2
 out of 
5
140 out of 24457%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best ever used
Wflo217919
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
This was my first time using the New Deck Over! The ease of applying was great, dry time was great, and the finish was outstanding! Will apply another coat next year to keep down maintenance needed! Would recommend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Good at first but not good after 1 year
Adamandvern
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We applied this DeckOver early last summer following all of the recommendations about cleaning and prep. It looked good at first and did add a nice color and finish to our deck. However, this spring after the snow melted we noticed some of it was starting to chip off. It has continued to chip and now 1/3 of the paint on the deck floor is missing. Very frustrating to spend so much money on something that didn't last a year. A stain may be worth it at this point
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great stain for porches.
DeeDeeH
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
It's been about 6 months & this stain is still rich & going strong. I love it. Goes on smooth , dries fairly quick & doesn't fade. (2) Behr paws up !
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Paint!!
MikeA
Location:Florida
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
I have been using Behr products for 10+ years and love it! I have used Premium Plus Interior, Marquee Exterior, Elastomeric Masonry Stucco & Brick and there is no other product brand that compares to Behr. I am anxious for the Marquee Interior to become available in the North Florida area. People often ask why I like Behr over some of the other brands and my reply is just try it a you will be a Behr believer as well.
Great Product Guys!!!
MIke
I would recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
overrated
sonny
Location:Delaware
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
I used 3 gallons on our deck, with a textured finish. Part of the deck is blistering when it rains. How do I seal the several cracks which allows water to bubble the paint?
I found the coverage to be poor and the application difficult.
Most of the deck came out OK.
This is my first experience with a Behr Product. I was not impressed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
garbage
missi
Location:Connecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
This is the worst product ever!
It claims to cover and seal wood.
It lasted all of 3 months.
After the winter months, this product just peels right off after applying as instructed. Now it needs to be powerwashed off my deck and sanded!!
Useless product. Waste of time and $.
How do I get my $ back?
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Saver
615TG
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
This product saved me from having to replace my decks. Pool and house. It exceeded my expectations with coverage and protecting my wood after a harsh winter and looks the same this year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent durability after one year
BobG
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
I have a treated southern pine deck of approximately 700 sq. ft. that includes an area surrounding an above ground pool. The deck was installed 25 years ago and was beginning to show signs of splintering and cracking even though I treated the deck every two to three years with sealers.
I prepared my deck by first sanding the surface with a commercial sander to take down high spots and and smooth the surface. I then used the deck over and spread it out to fill in the major imperfections in the wood (1st coat). Afterwards, i applied the second coat with a roller. The results was a near-perfect surface and the finish was outstanding. It's been 12 months and went through a severe winter and the deck looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
WORST Purchase ever
sparklesandglue
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I spent a to of money to have a deck built. I spent more money prepping and painting my new deck with the deck over product. It looked nice when we finished but 9 months later our deck looks horrible!!! it's peeling all over. The company is willing to sent me more product but I am stuck doing all the work. I have to sand my entire deck down, re prep, and re paint the deck. This is a week's worth of work. I am really disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy to use
Bunny
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
This product is easy to use and looks great! Helps with imperfections!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love, love, love it!
Cinna
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We have had to restain our deck every other year, because it never lasts. So we were excited to try the DeckOver. We have only been able to get one coat on at this point because it has been to hot, but we absolutely love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Deck over is a terrible product-sorry I bought it
caepap1
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
Had I read the 'real reviews' about this product I would not have waisted my time or money. As many others reported, I followed the instructions, cleaned and prepped our deck accordingly and first results were great! I was so happy I was going to have my deck back; then came spring. Now, I have nothing but a peeling mess on my hands. I have strips of the product following me in my spa an home. I have a friend who lives in another town, used this the same time as me and has exactly the same problem. He said he even ran into a Behr rep who asked him if he 'sanded' his deck. Why would you need to??? I feel the reviews on this page are inaccurate, or as I had originally been happy, they were written when first applied. I would be really curious if all of the reviewers were contacted after a year to see if they were still happy. I am not, and I will never purchase a Behr product again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Does exactly what we needed
blm50
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We have a small deck and 2 sets of stairs that are in the shade most of the day. There are also maple trees that drop those spinner things all the time so getting a day when there is nothing on the stairs or the deck is interesting. Deckover went on smoothly and easily and has given the back of our house a wonderful new look.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling up after 6 months
flyboy
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I applied this product last in Septemper 2013 and prepared the surface as per the instructions. Deck is about 18 yrs old and in decent shape. I did remove the very bad deck boards and replaced them with new wolmanized decking. Deck looked great right after application. This past April I noticed bubbles on the deck. I found the coating was peeling up all over the deck. Awful!!!! The product did not have any issues in sticking to the new decking but it is sold as fix for worn and splintering decking. Well, it just peeled up on the older boards. Needless say I had a lot of extra work on my hands this spring. It is like there is something wrong with the product. It should not be peeling up like it did after just one winter.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck looks and feels amazing.
TXdeck
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I have a very worn wooden deck of over 15 years old. I have always used and refurbished with Behr products so I have prior confidence in the brand and product. The Deckover product took two coats as usual. The outcome is outstanding it fills in cracks and creates a surface that feels great when walking on. Has a nice grid feel to it and washes off nicely. I am looking forward to many years of enjoyment with this new looking deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Product!
HappyasaLark
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We had a deck in need of resurfacing. The deck condition was pushing the limit as to what the DeckOver product was advertised to be able to accomplish. After just one coat we were very impressed. After coat number two we were blown away!
Thank you Behr!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old deck
Alexandra
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
Purchased DeckOver in Barn Red for our deck last week. Our deck was in a rough shape; last painted over a year ago. After painting it with DeckOver, our deck is like new, smooth surface, no splinters, we can walk barefoot on our deck. Love it! Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product
BobF
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I just finished my 10 year old deck which was splitting down the grain of the wood. The deckover product worked ok but don't use a 1/2" nap roller, use a 3/4" nap roller. After two coats with a 1/2 " roller I went to a 3/4" roller and it worked much better.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Meaghan
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We moved into our house about a year ago and wanted to try and refinish the deck. We couldn't be happier with the results from deck over. Our deck looks amazing now!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bathroom
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great On Railings
BTJREF
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 9, 2014
Major refurbish of a 25+ year old deck. Used this product on the railing parts. used high pressure sprayer on most pieces.Then railings and balusters went thru surface planer.I was only able to get the first coat on last year. Looks as good this year as last, Yes, there are some cracks. A few spots of raised grain where the paint integrity wasn't good. But no major peeling. 99% good without second coat. Second coat going on this year, The key I think is I took everything down to bare wood and used the cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next >>>