Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.388 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (379 reviews)
5 stars
173
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
119
3.4
 out of 
5
234 out of 37962%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Works very well
hunter
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
Used this on a Dock and it has held up very well, the key is follow the instructions, tried to stretch it on one spot using only one coat and the wear was noticeable compared to where we had used two coats.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
WATERDOG
waterdog
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
I had the store tint mine to match the weathered wood color on my front and rear door entry decks so the product only got one heavy coat rather than the 2 recommended, I did this many years ago and it still looks good, even on the heavy traffic areas.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
paint peeling
gerik
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
used deckover after the first year the deck looks horrible.I agree they should give you back your money for the product because it is not cheap.It did look nice at first and now it is just an eye sore.don't use this stuff!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't waste your time and money
Winky
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
Our deck is a mess from this stuff. Didn't even last 8 months. It's peeling over the entire deck. Should have known it was too good to be true. A huge waste of money and time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
A "NEW" Deck!
1grannypainter
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 4, 2015
Our deck was in desperate need of something--independently my husband & I each saw ads for Deck-over and when we began talking about what to do with the deck, each eagerly told the other about this great new product we'd seen advertised. So we got it, applied it and it really does look just like the deck in the tv commercial. It covered well, and even evened out the rough poky pieces of wood. Would highly recommend this to anyone. Very easily applied and is still looking great a year later.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not hold up
Derek7561
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 2, 2015
Bought 15 gallons of this product last summer and applied exactly as the instructions required. Paint looked great and did everything I hoped. Noticed some light peeling at first, Now its everywhere. The paint did not hold at all. Think hard before using this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
amlee
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2015
Used this to paint our front porch and concrete steps last summer and it looks great. Holds up well with bad weather, seals the wood and concrete great. Hides cracks and small holes well too. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
GREAT PRODUCT FOR SURE!!!!
nikkibecker73
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 30, 2015
I power-washed and painted my deck last Spring and I could not be happier this year!! I have absolutely no complaints. It did a great job filling in nail holes and wood splits. Very easy to apply. It is not very thick but it goes on well with no problems. I am so happy that I don't have to re-paint my deck this year. Now it gives me time to plant my pretty flowers in the flower boxes I had built on the ledges of my deck. Thanks BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck over
Kelley
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 30, 2015
I have heard lots of good comments from friends that have used this brand. They will not use anything else. I want to do our deck this summer. The amount of colors to choose from is awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy project to complete
Tomcat
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 30, 2015
The Deckover product was extremely easy to put on our deck and it sealed everything very well. The whole deck was completed in 2 days by my wife and myself. Will definitely use again and recommend to others.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Very Disappointed!
Mimi622
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 29, 2015
We applied this product exactly as instructed on both of our decks (upper/covered, lower/uncovered) and all of the rails. the lower deck and top rails are now peeling horribly and it looks awful. the upper deck that was covered looks good. Now what do we do? I do not want to use this product on the uncovered deck again, too expensive and time consuming, but I don't want to have 2 different colored decks! I wish we never would have used this product. Behr Interior paint is great, but not this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product!
Andrea
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
I already applied this product to my wood deck twice (first time in 2008 and second in 2013). I found it to be a long lasting product, considering the protection aspect of it, but the color started fading after 18 to 22 months. Since the most important aspect to me is wood protection and minimizing cracks, I am happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
shandy1
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
I really love the way this paint covers. It covers up the cracks and smooths the surface so I don't get splinters anymore!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver Peeling
TB5573
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
After washing, letting dry and applying two coats of some pretty pricey deck paint that doesn't cover much so takes several gallons - the deck looked great - and worked well , not hot to walk on and covered cracks well -------- Unfortunately it was short lived , winter arrived and up came the paint.
Took very little effort rubbing foot across the grain and the more you did it the more it came up -- pressure washing really took up the paint - unfortunately some is still there and will require lots of hard work to remove it all :)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Once and Done for a long time!
Cobalt
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
Stained our deck last spring. After a harsh winter and leaves and branches coating the deck, I was so happy to see a solid coating when the snow melted (finally). So happy I won't have to stain or retouch anytime soon. Went on thick and covered all areas, smoothed out the splintery areas. Was even fun to apply!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Add me to the list of unhappy customers
SLMoes
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 26, 2015
Painted the deck last summer. Looked great. Snow melted -- deck is pealing all over. No traffic all winter -- did not shovel deck - just let the snow melt and it is awful. Can't believe I need to scrap and redo this again this summer.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
DECKOVER
rksngr
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Put down early last fall. By February it was peeling. Now I have an irregular mess. Love all other Behr paints, but NOT this one. They should refund the purchase price, and/or provide some remedy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Hard work but great product
Lou482
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Put this on my deck surface last summer and am really pleased with how it came through the winter. It does take time to apply and it does not spread. If you do it right and work it into the surface, you will use every ounce of what BEHR's estimating tool suggests. It does a good job of filling in nail holes and wood splits. Hope it lasts a couple of years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver good results
skipper
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I applied Behr’s DeckOver paint to my 25+ year old deck last spring/summer and it turned out great. It survived its first hard Minnesota winter and stills looks great this spring 12 months later. I do recommend that you follow the application guild lines and clean the deck down to bare wood. I used a cleaner/striper, power washer, and two different power sanders to get down to bare wood. It was a lot of work, but was worth it to get the best results. My old finish was stain/sealer would peal every spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Took care of wood decks on the Colorado River
Don22u
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Have a wood deck over the water on the Colorado River, Parker Arizona. Whew it gets hot in the late spring through summer, 115 + many days, and nights during the summer are usually mid 90's.
.
I contacted Behr, explained the extreme heat conditions. "it'll work" they said, "just properly prepare the surface and apply per the directions"
We cleaned the wood, power washed, and prepped the surfaces. The Deckover was applied per their recommendations and coating applications
This was last year. Behr Premium Deckover spend the summer with the sun. This year the deck still looks like last year.
Excellent product and it is slip resistant which is great when you realize there's water splashing on it and people getting out of boats tied to the dock
Would I recommend it? Absolutely, assuming you want to prep it, apply it and enjoy it, year and year
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: out door deck
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 Next >>>