Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.424 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (309 reviews)
5 stars
140
4 stars
50
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
93
3.4
 out of 
5
195 out of 30963%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Worked Great!
Buster2014
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We did all the prep, cleaned the concrete and then power washed it. We then taped off an are and painted one section (2 coats). The next weekend, we re-taped the opposite way and did a border around the rectangle we painted the first time. Everything looks great and it cleans off very nicely. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: concrete patio
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
VFisher
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We used the DeckOver on our boat dock and the coverage is perfect. Very pleased with the overall appearance and very low maintenance.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: boat deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deck Over
Janel
Location:Maine
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
So far, so good. It looks beautiful! The product covered and filled most of the cracks on an our old deck. We enjoyed it very much this summer. We were able to walk barefoot on it and didn't worry about the grand-children walking on it barefoot, either. The paint seems to stay much cooler than the sun-baked old wood! Hopefully, it will last well through our Maine winter. I am concerned about shoveling it, since it is used as our back entrance to the house.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fantastic finish on our deck
BuffyDeck
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We have a 14 X 14 deck with rails and were told by the salesperson that we would need to apply two coats. Based on that we purchased three gallons plus the Behr Deck Cleaner product. I will not say that it was an easy job. Our deck was showing signs of age with serious cracks in the wood. We applied the product using a roller and used brushes on the more severe cracks. Since the product is quite thick - and it was around 80 degrees when we used it, it dried very quickly and you needed to work fast to keep a smooth finish. We did decide to apply a third coat to the deck floor due to some harder to cover cracks, but in the end we have a deck that looks like brand new. We would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Totally satisfied
Connie
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used the DeckOver on a rickety 13+years old deck railing. The railing is now very stable--the product far surpassed any idea that I could have wanted. Instead of having to replace all the railing (way over 200 spindles) which would of cost well over $1500.00, I got it done with just about $200.00. Now I just hope it holds up for 10+ years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Not as expected
worker1976
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I knew it was going to be hard work to apply and fill in the holes in our older decking but thought it would be worth it to have a new, smooth solid surface. We allowed it to dry longer than recommended and still had chipping the first time we placed our Patio furniture on the new surface. Very disappointed in this new product and would not recommend it to friends and family.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Over
sudie
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
First of all I really like this product. It may not go as far sq ft wise as paint but it is well worth it. I have a lot of wood decking. I live on a river so we enjoy our outdoor space. I started working on my deck (after I pressured washed it) on Memorial Day weekend. I had a painting party of about 10 people. Only one came back for a second day. After about 4 mos. I have finally finished. The product goes one easy and covers most of the cracks and nail holes. If your wood is old it is best to fill the cracks with putty sand it a little and apply the paint. You will get a mcuh smoother surface. I have recomended this product to 2 or 3 people. My dad did his porch and it looks great. I am very pleased with the way it turned out. and my decks look like new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Shutters
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
My Deck Needed Help
BigG
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Hadn't done anything to my deck in years and it was looking old and tired. Like Behr products so decided to give DeckOver a try. Went on nicely, thick enough to fill in cracks and create a nice smooth finish and great look!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
good product
Dieter
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I had a very old deck, replaced about 10% of the wood, steel brushed and belt sanded the balance. Spent a lot of time preparing. Good solution for part new, part old deck in that it covers it all. Used regular paint (from Behr - same color) for railings and spindles. It was applied in June of this year and still looks good. Probably would have rated higher if I knew it would continue to look good.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Saved our deck!!
Hillary
Location:New Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We bought our house last October, when our daughter was 6 weeks old. It had a beautiful deck but it was never maintained, we knew that we needed something so our daughter could play out there and not get splinters. After doing some research we chose Behr Deckover and painted our deck earlier this year.. Thanks to this paint our daughter hasn't had one splinter and we have enjoyed many pain-free days on our "brand-new" deck!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Decent product
marlon
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
This product did A great job, but need way more product then advertised.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Did the job
jimmyp
Location:Oregon
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We have two porches here in the Pac NW. Previously we used another deck restorer on one and regular porch paint on the other. The (other brand) deck restorer failed miserably the following summer and the paint on the other was flaking off. We tried the deck over on the painted porch this spring to test it out. It performed quite well despite a hot sunny summer. We plan to use the deck over next spring on the other (restored) porch.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: porch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Thick and heavy cover
Itsme
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Deck over is a very heavy thick product. I don't think it would be easy to use a roller or sprayer. We used brushes for the deck floor and rails and posts. Covered more square feet than it said on can. Anxious to see if it will be slip resistant.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER<sup>TM</sup>.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great Product, Easy to Use
shearerbj
Location:Manitoba
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Product was easy to use and performed as advertised. As long as instructions are followed results are great. I would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Deck for a change
Skyrader
Location:Alaska
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I tried numerous products over time on my deck and walk way and they always peeled or lost color. When I heard of Behr DeckOver I bought 1 gal to test and was very pleased with the results and went back and got another 3 gal to complete my project. My deck still looks like the day I applied it even after all the traffic and washings over the summer. This is a great product, wish I had more deck I had fun applying DeckOver!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Successful summer Project
Grandmamary
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
As a widow, I need to be careful with spending. My deck was in serious disrepair. I investigated my options and I chose DeckOver for my project. After prepping according to the directions and replacing some rotted boards, I applied the DeckOver. I found a brush worked best for me. I was able to get the deck well covered in this manner. I used a semi-transparent stain on the rails and the solid on the deck and top rail for a custom look. I can enjoy my deck for many more years. If you want the composite look at a fraction of the cost this is the product to use. I recommend this product to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
The best for old decks
Shaktidanes
Location:Michigan
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I have used this product on several very old decks that were cracked and weathered. It fills the cracks and makes the deck look new again. It does have a rough surface to prevent slips so it will be harder to clean but it is well worth it. I recommend it to customers all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Has pros and cons
mainer
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used Deckover on a really old deck that had never been treated and was splintering and cracking. I cleaned it really well and let it dry a solid week before painting and I prevented any foot traffic for 72 hours after painting - I think that is key for getting the paint to stick.
Applying Deckover is HARD and SMELLY (toxic??). Not something I ever want to do again. It took a tremendous number of precious weekend days to finish this project. Getting the paint between the deck boards was especially difficult. This stuff is thick.
Deckover did what it promised though - it gave my deck a new life. It filled in all those cracks and has created a great barrier. It looks good, except...
One of the biggest disappointments I have with this paint is that it seems to hold onto dirt. My dog (who is walking on sidewalks, not romping in the mud) comes on and off the porch each day and now, only 3 months in, the nice forest green deck is completely covered in tan dog foot prints. I have tried scrubbing the deck on my hands and knees with soapy water and the print marks won't leave. That nice look is gone, but I guess at least the deck is still protected.
I applied it in the beginning of June - it's now October. I live in Maine, so we'll see what it looks like when the snow leaves in the spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Results
Shorty
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Recently I purchased a new home with a deck that had beernn severely neglected. After much debating, I decided to treat it with the Behr Deck Over to preserve it before winter. I am so pleased with the results. The coverage was great, and filled in the weathered cracks beautifully! Everyone who visits comments on how great it looks and have said that they will use the product themselves.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great product for refinishing old deck
CoachCFB27
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used Deckover to refinish my 20+ year old pressure treated wood deck, and it did a nice job. It was easy to apply, and looks great, and seems to be holding up very well after about 3 months. Now, I'm just waiting to see how it holds up in the coming months (and years).
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next >>>