Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.382 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (385 reviews)
5 stars
176
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
122
3.4
 out of 
5
237 out of 38562%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Deck paint there is.
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
This deck paint covers so nicely and fills in imperfections of the wood and is not rough on the bare feet like others are. I will buy more for my back deck now.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: back deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Saved My Deck
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
My wife wanted me to replace our deck before our daughters graduation party. I said I heard about a product that might fix our problem. Not sure if it was worth the cost, I started with one gallon of Deck Over. I followed the directions and prep, and it looked great, and sealed the cracks and splinters. We went back and got a 5 gallon bucket and did the entire deck. It has been a year and it still looks great. I have heard about the product peeling in sheets, but I have had no problems. Again, my deck was so bad my wife wanted to replace it. Like most things, the devil is in the details. Follow the Prep and Application procedures to the letter and you should be fine.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
It All Depends
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
Deck 25 yrs old. Not treated in the past 5 years. Applied
in July last year.(3gals) It looked great. Come next spring, it's peeling badly.
Understand the problem, I'll be 80 & can't do the work again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My Deck Looks Brand New
Location:Idaho
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
I love this stuff and have used it before. We have an older house and the deck was never properly taken care of. We had it professionally sanded and laid down this paint. Its amazing! It fills holes and chips well and gave it a brand new look. I will use it again for touchup s as we have 3 large dogs that abuse it.....best stuff around!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deck Over
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
Used this product on a 30+ year old wooden deck and was very pleased with the result. Holding up much better than other similar products tried,
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Peeling after 1 year
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
My deck is peeling after one year and following the instructions to apply.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Works very well
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
Used this on a Dock and it has held up very well, the key is follow the instructions, tried to stretch it on one spot using only one coat and the wear was noticeable compared to where we had used two coats.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
WATERDOG
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
I had the store tint mine to match the weathered wood color on my front and rear door entry decks so the product only got one heavy coat rather than the 2 recommended, I did this many years ago and it still looks good, even on the heavy traffic areas.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
paint peeling
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
used deckover after the first year the deck looks horrible.I agree they should give you back your money for the product because it is not cheap.It did look nice at first and now it is just an eye sore.don't use this stuff!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't waste your time and money
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
Our deck is a mess from this stuff. Didn't even last 8 months. It's peeling over the entire deck. Should have known it was too good to be true. A huge waste of money and time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
A "NEW" Deck!
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 4, 2015
Our deck was in desperate need of something--independently my husband & I each saw ads for Deck-over and when we began talking about what to do with the deck, each eagerly told the other about this great new product we'd seen advertised. So we got it, applied it and it really does look just like the deck in the tv commercial. It covered well, and even evened out the rough poky pieces of wood. Would highly recommend this to anyone. Very easily applied and is still looking great a year later.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Does not hold up
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 2, 2015
Bought 15 gallons of this product last summer and applied exactly as the instructions required. Paint looked great and did everything I hoped. Noticed some light peeling at first, Now its everywhere. The paint did not hold at all. Think hard before using this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2015
Used this to paint our front porch and concrete steps last summer and it looks great. Holds up well with bad weather, seals the wood and concrete great. Hides cracks and small holes well too. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
GREAT PRODUCT FOR SURE!!!!
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 30, 2015
I power-washed and painted my deck last Spring and I could not be happier this year!! I have absolutely no complaints. It did a great job filling in nail holes and wood splits. Very easy to apply. It is not very thick but it goes on well with no problems. I am so happy that I don't have to re-paint my deck this year. Now it gives me time to plant my pretty flowers in the flower boxes I had built on the ledges of my deck. Thanks BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck over
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 30, 2015
I have heard lots of good comments from friends that have used this brand. They will not use anything else. I want to do our deck this summer. The amount of colors to choose from is awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy project to complete
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 30, 2015
The Deckover product was extremely easy to put on our deck and it sealed everything very well. The whole deck was completed in 2 days by my wife and myself. Will definitely use again and recommend to others.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Very Disappointed!
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 29, 2015
We applied this product exactly as instructed on both of our decks (upper/covered, lower/uncovered) and all of the rails. the lower deck and top rails are now peeling horribly and it looks awful. the upper deck that was covered looks good. Now what do we do? I do not want to use this product on the uncovered deck again, too expensive and time consuming, but I don't want to have 2 different colored decks! I wish we never would have used this product. Behr Interior paint is great, but not this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good product!
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
I already applied this product to my wood deck twice (first time in 2008 and second in 2013). I found it to be a long lasting product, considering the protection aspect of it, but the color started fading after 18 to 22 months. Since the most important aspect to me is wood protection and minimizing cracks, I am happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
I really love the way this paint covers. It covers up the cracks and smooths the surface so I don't get splinters anymore!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver Peeling
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 27, 2015
After washing, letting dry and applying two coats of some pretty pricey deck paint that doesn't cover much so takes several gallons - the deck looked great - and worked well , not hot to walk on and covered cracks well -------- Unfortunately it was short lived , winter arrived and up came the paint.
Took very little effort rubbing foot across the grain and the more you did it the more it came up -- pressure washing really took up the paint - unfortunately some is still there and will require lots of hard work to remove it all :)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>