Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.435 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (294 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
47
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
87
3.4
 out of 
5
186 out of 29463%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
The best for old decks
Shaktidanes
Location:Michigan
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I have used this product on several very old decks that were cracked and weathered. It fills the cracks and makes the deck look new again. It does have a rough surface to prevent slips so it will be harder to clean but it is well worth it. I recommend it to customers all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
expensive and not impressive
Marksuain
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I redid my deck over a few weeks doing all the prep work recommended and waited until there was no rain in the forecast and the temperatures were spot on, I had spent a bit of time talking to the paint specialist at home depot discussing the Rust-Oleum 4x and 10x vs the Deck Over. He recommended the Deck Over and explained all the preparation steps I needed to take. I had about $500 in paint and the Behr prep/wash stuff, sand paper etc. The paint covered very well, both coats. It's been on for about 2 months now and has lifted in 2 separate spots, one of which has peeled. I won't be recommending it to anyone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Has pros and cons
mainer
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used Deckover on a really old deck that had never been treated and was splintering and cracking. I cleaned it really well and let it dry a solid week before painting and I prevented any foot traffic for 72 hours after painting - I think that is key for getting the paint to stick.
Applying Deckover is HARD and SMELLY (toxic??). Not something I ever want to do again. It took a tremendous number of precious weekend days to finish this project. Getting the paint between the deck boards was especially difficult. This stuff is thick.
Deckover did what it promised though - it gave my deck a new life. It filled in all those cracks and has created a great barrier. It looks good, except...
One of the biggest disappointments I have with this paint is that it seems to hold onto dirt. My dog (who is walking on sidewalks, not romping in the mud) comes on and off the porch each day and now, only 3 months in, the nice forest green deck is completely covered in tan dog foot prints. I have tried scrubbing the deck on my hands and knees with soapy water and the print marks won't leave. That nice look is gone, but I guess at least the deck is still protected.
I applied it in the beginning of June - it's now October. I live in Maine, so we'll see what it looks like when the snow leaves in the spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Results
Shorty
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Recently I purchased a new home with a deck that had beernn severely neglected. After much debating, I decided to treat it with the Behr Deck Over to preserve it before winter. I am so pleased with the results. The coverage was great, and filled in the weathered cracks beautifully! Everyone who visits comments on how great it looks and have said that they will use the product themselves.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great product for refinishing old deck
CoachCFB27
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used Deckover to refinish my 20+ year old pressure treated wood deck, and it did a nice job. It was easy to apply, and looks great, and seems to be holding up very well after about 3 months. Now, I'm just waiting to see how it holds up in the coming months (and years).
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't Use on Concrete
LongviewLady1
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 29, 2014
We used this on our concrete patio. Did all the preparation steps, put on during the recommended temperatures. We babysit the grand-dogs. There are dirty paw prints all over and they do not rinse off with water. I think regular concrete paint would have done the same job at a lot less expense. Will try and clean with soap and water after the dogs leave. Really disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Paint-worked just as described!
VincentandRuth
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 26, 2014
Yes! I took my time, followed the prep directions, using the other products recommended. Was easy to use, clean up was easy and the deck looks GREAT. We'll see how it weathers in Michigan cold and snow this winter. My deck was terrible looking and now looks brand new. A few weeks after I finished, I heard from someone I work with. He had used it too, a few years ago and his is still looking great. He also said I would be very happy with this paint.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fantastic product
Navahoe
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 16, 2014
I applied Behr Deckover last fall in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan where we had one of the worst winters on record. Here it is September of the year later and my deck looks like the day I applied the product. In the past, Staining my deck was a yearly project. I would always have peeling within a year. This is by far the best deck product I ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Outstanding Product
rwgwauvhs
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
I was having two serious concerns, first my deck was peeling every year. I think because the wood may have been green when the builder first painted it. I used Deckover and it has resolved my problem.
Second, my driveway was seriously scaling as we moved it during the winter and I had to use a heavy dose of rock salt on the day our furniture was to be delivered as we had an ice storm the night before. What a mess. I tried several products to stop it as the rain, weather & use was intensifying the damage. I did the entire drive with the Deckover and it has stopped further damage and provided a non-slick surface when wet. It has stopped further rain damage and held up real well over the winters and use of rock salt. The product has been an effective alternative to having to breakup and re pour the drive. I have also used other Behr paints for both the interior and exterior and now would not use any other product for painting. Thirty years as homeowner, mostly using Behr Products for painting has convinced me it is the best for me.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Office-Library, Bathroom, whole house
Exterior Project: concrete drive & walkway
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Looks great
tcb1
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
I just used Behr Deckover and it looks great! I can't speak on its wear yet but I am hoping that it lasts.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far so good.
paintladymukwonago
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
We past the 1 year mark. Yeah!
1st of all - yes, I work at Home Depot, part time.
I have a twenty + year old deck (I hate decks, too much maintenance!!) So the deck looked very bad. I had used a solid color stain on it in 2008. It lasted until the snow came off in the spring of 2009. Terrible. Called Behr the offered to replace the product. I did not want it.
Then the Deck Over came out. I thought I would give it a try. July of 2013, 500 sq ft. 2 5 gallon buckets and a lot of work later. It looked beautiful. After the winter, 1 of the worst in years, it still looks good. Cleaned and scrubbed it in June 2014. Still good. Now going into fall of 2014, still looks great.
This is our main entrance into the house, gets a lot of use. We did pay special attention to the prep. We did 3 coats on the deck, because we had enough product. I would recommend this product - providing you are very careful the have clean and DRY wood to put it on. If you wash it Saturday and put it on on Sunday, it will come off.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
HUGE WASTE OF MONEY!!!!
Poohbear
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 14, 2014
Last fall I bought a 5 gallon pail from Home depot and did my front deck and it looked great until it started pealing. It not only pealed on the deck but it pealed on the railings as well. I followed the directions. I made sure the weather was right and waited the right time in between coats and it still pealed. I spoke to other co-workers about this and out of the 5 people that used this product only 1 has not had this problem. Now I have to redo my deck. What a huge waste of my time and money!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Deckover on an old cedar deck
Dmitri
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 14, 2014
So far, so good. Used deckover to repaint our old cedar deck. The product is VERY thick and takes a good amount of time to apply, especially to weathered board where the point of the product is to fill in the cracks and crevices. Not as easy as it appears from the commercials. Adhesion seems to be good, but we will have to get through a full array of weather seasons before a final judgment is warranted.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far, So Good
Bogey51
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 13, 2014
I recently applied the Behr Deckover to my wooden deck in south Florida. The Deckover filled the cracks nicely and left a fairly smooth surface. I didn't have unrealisitc expectations, so I am satisfied with how it filled most of the cracks. It is not perfectly smooth in all areas, but it smooth enough to walk on barefoot. It has been on the deck for about a month and still looks great. We will see how it holds up with this South Florida sun.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover Product outstanding
CarolY
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 13, 2014
I bought this product for the first time last summer to paint the stairs and landing on some outside stairs on our new screened in porch. It was a time-consuming project, but well worth it. This summer, I applied the first coat to our 40' deck that is 8' wide at narrowest and 12' wide at widest part. The deck was installed 10 years ago and was never treated. It was in decent shape for that age, but weathered. We had a second coat applied to this deck and the small stairs and landing (I had done last year), by our painter. It is beautiful. We are now using the deck that we had stopped using. I expect this product to hold up well and that we have now increased the life of this decking. The product is thick and filled in the small weathered cracks well. We think it looks like a new deck now. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My Deck looks like new!
Delinda
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
The guys in the paint department said this was the way to go and they were right! My deck was beat up and worn out looking. It was cracked in spots and had splinters. It looked just awful when I started. I cleaned it up following the instructions. There was very little prep work to it. Three hours later, I was done! Every time I walk outside, I smile. This is just a great product to bring back a wood deck. Thanks for my new deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great finish, easy to use.
barb0208
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Installed new front porch deck in fall of 2012. Wood was slick and all family members had numerous slips and almost falls thoughout the winter. Spring of 2013, added Behr Deckover. Very easy to apply, great finish, protects the wood, beautiful color. Winter of 2013, no problems with traction. Able to shovel snow, yet no deterioration to the finish.
More than I had wanted to spend initially, but after seeing the results, I'm so glad I did.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nurse
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Behr is what we are now using to paint our house. It has been well suited to our needs and love all the color selections. We would highly recommend it to everyone
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beautiful Look for a deck
Limecreek
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
I was leery because I bought some very expensive paint that was supposed to cover anything forever, even tractors. Well after doing a lot of work to repaint my aging redwood deck with it, it started peeling the very next year. Now it looks terrible and we are having it replaced next spring. They called and asked me how I liked it. I told them and they offered to replace the paint. I said no thank you, why would I want to put all that work into it again just to have it peel some more? I still had a small deck that was in better shape structurally so I decided to try the deck restore. Pretty easy to put on and it looks great. A friend used it on her deck last year and it looked great this summer so I am expecting the same results.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
look an old deck look good
Chrissy52
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
I feel it worked well I was working with old wood so it was a challenge but I feel the product worked well and went on easily. The price was reasonable and I am satisfied!i would recommend this product to anyone
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>