Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.552 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (522 reviews)
5 stars
253
4 stars
87
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
142
3.6
 out of 
5
349 out of 52267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
I love it
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I used The BEHR DeckOver coating this past fall to paint my 20 year old treated deck on my house and I Love it!!!! It looks like a new deck made with the new plastic type of deck material. It brushed on easy enough, and it sticks. It does and awesome job of filling in and covering cracks and checks in the old wood. It really added to the curb appeal of our house.
And I am sure it added many more years of useful life to my deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good investment
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Applied to deck surface over 1.5 years ago and it is
still holding up wonderfully. Deck was slippery when wet before and now is much safer to walk on and no more
splinters either.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great Purchase
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Behr Deck Over was easy to apply and it cover everything in one coat. I live in the North East and it past the test of the harsh winter.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 8, 2015
it is so thick and it does not look natural, it looks like i slopped a bunch of paint on my beautiful cedar
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Not good!
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 6, 2015
We bought a home in July (5 months ago) we repainted the house and when it came to the front deck (small) we went to Home Depot and they had this deck over stuff, we really liked the looks of it, along with the texture so we went with it, we prepped the deck exactly by the directions on the can, it's been a whopping 5 months and this stuff is already peeling off! I should have read the reviews BEFORE purchasing, I now see we are not the only ones with this problem! It's truly a shame, the stuff looks amazing and the texture is perfect for a deck, we have had MANY MANY compliments on it. If this stuff was durable and held up good it would be a 10 star product, but since it DOES NOT it is totally worthless, who wants to go through all the work it takes to properly prep everything only to watch it peel away in less than 6 months! We worked really hard to make everything perfect, I make a vow to work just as hard to get the word out on this stuff! BUYER BEWARE!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Best Product for my Needs!
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 13, 2015
My deck is 28 years old with never having any finish or stain on it. Deck construction was sturdy but too many splinters, cracks and the wood was in need of something so the grandchildren wouldn't get slivers!
I studied many brands and decided on Behr Premium Deckover because of the reviews and Consumer Reports.
We followed the directions to the letter and took our time. Weather stopped us along the way but I think that we did the best application possible.
I am very happy with the results! This was a very good investment and I will enjoy many hours to come on my deck with my grandchildren, family and friends!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Coverage on Deck
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 5, 2015
DeckOver was great for my older deck. It covered the cracks completely.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Takes a lot of hard work but nice
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 4, 2015
We prepared the surface as required and put on by brush and roller.......took a LOT of work and a lot more time than a basic sand and paint but I think it will be worth it. It's very very thick and takes a strong arm and slower painting.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Good Purchase
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 2, 2015
It rolled on easy and seems to be durable so far. We have only painted one concrete floor so far and we like it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: concrete floor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nice renewal product
Location:New Hampshire
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 1, 2015
Our deck is thirty years old and we were looking for something to spiff it up with. There was a great deal of prep work, but it was worth it. The deck looks great and appears so far to be able to take the wear and tear from the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr's product's continues excellence
Location:New Mexico
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 21, 2015
I had a concrete back porch that had become exceedingly filthy over the years and power washing just wasn't getting it clean any longer. After I had such good experience with Behr stains and paints, and the DeckOver commercial was very interesting, I gave it a try. What I found is captured in one word - WOW! The only problem was that I used the brochure to calculate the coverage, went to the store to have them mix the color - then when I went to apply the paint - I found that the coverage on the can was greater than the brochure and I ended up getting one too many cans. The coverages need to agree with each other!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Coverage
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 18, 2015
One coat was all it took - dried quickly and resulted in a matt non slip surface - covered old paint color and exposed wood brilliantly
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Dect Product I Ever Used
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 18, 2015
This is by far the best product I have ever used for my very large deck - The product used was DeckOver and it took an older deck and made it look absolutely GREAT. It took 47 hours to complete but was worth every minute and was fairly easy to apply after the first hour or so of application. The second coat really gave the deck a great look and have told several people already how it looks and 2 of them have been over to see the results and where very pleased with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
will never use other's products again
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 17, 2015
lasts the longest of all the other brands I tried.. lasted over 5 yrs. satisfied customer forever. an excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Paint
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2015
Home Depot should be proud to carry such a product as Behr's Deck-over Paint. We were redoing a large deck. The paint was true to the color sample. The coverage was excellent and was easy to apply using a 6 inch roller brush. We were well pleased with the results. The refund you provided on our 6 gallons of paint was used today at Home Depot on more building supplies. It just goes to show when you do business with good people and reliable companies, everyone wins!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Works great
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2015
Just bought a house with an obviously neglected deck. This product covered very well with just one coat . I do not have to worry about any splinters if I go out on the deck with bare feet.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
awesome looking porch
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
Loved the product. It did a beautiful job; color is fantastic. Paint is thick and dries fast. Awesome job Painted my front porch still have to work on back porch
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: porch; ramp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the coverage
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
It is a great product for decks that might need replacing in a few years. It will extend the deck's life so you don't have to spend an exorbitant amount on a new deck. The price of doing the Behr Deckover, as compared to replacing the whole deck, makes the labor to do the Deckover well worth it. Plus, your deck looks just beautiful afterwards.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy to use, prep is key
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
This product withstands our oceanfront conditions providing great coverage on our wooden deck. We power washed, let dry thoroughly, and painted! It is quite thick, take your time with coverage. We're very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Purchase
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
We purchased and used Behr DeckOver on our first deck. It covered beautifully. It takes longer to put on but it is well worth it. The front steps came out beautiful! The product was recommended to us by family and we saw their results first hand and were very impressed and had to do it to our deck..All the many stain jobs do not compare to the way that Behr DeckOver covers. I would highly recommend this product to all my family and friends.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 Next >>>