Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4', and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
4.018 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
15
4
 out of 
5
84 out of 10977%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Decent product with some issues
Jimgr
Location:Tennessee
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 16, 2013
I decided to use the Deckover paint to refinish an 6 year old 14x17 covered deck that had been coated twice before. The last finish was done with Behr solid stain that didn't last 2 years before it started to peel and flake. I cleaned the deck and stripped the prior coatings before applying the new Deckover paint. The paint has a cake batter like consistency and goes on nicely, but the color isn't close to what we selected from the store (It dried a lot darker then what we hoped.) We selected the color "Tugboat" and it came out more like a chocolate brown, but it still looks nice. I bought a 5 gallon bucket of the product and only used about 2.5-3 gallons of it using 2 coats; I think the coverage is advertised incorrectly. I don't have anything to say about the long term durability of this stuff as I just finished applying it yesterday. I'm going to give it a week before moving the furniture back onto the deck or allowing foot and animal traffic, so if there's issues after this I'll rewrite the review, but so far it's not bad. My only gripes are about the color and coverage inconsistencies and the smell during application.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wooden deck
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Finished up as promised!
ijanet1
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 13, 2013
I could not be happier. I posted before and after photos on the Behr Face Book page. Our deck is 33 years plus and needed to have two different finishes stripped off. I'm not a fan of liquid strippers so I did it the mechanical way and also used an electric power washer. I was sold after the first three boards were painted. It worked on cracks and nail heads and even on a couple of knot holes without the knots! I love that it's not slippery and we've had some of the worst rain in the three weeks since I finished up and there is absolutely nothing to complain about. I'm not sure why others have had issues but I took the slow route...staying off it....recoating after a full week...and making sure the cracks were filled between the first and second coats. I love the lighter gray color. It's not hot in the August sun and it looks awesome against our green siding! Thanks again for Deckover!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Behr deck over paint
Anonymous Reviewer
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 9, 2013
Don't waste your money on this produt if you have an older deck with cracks. The coverage is not want the product advertised and the paint chips and scratches very easily. The product is way over priced. You would come out a lot better just to repace the decking boards. Would would not recommend this product to our family and friends.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing transformation!
NikkiN
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 5, 2013
Must follow the directions as specified, but works wonderfully! Transformed our dilapidated porches to looking brand new! Definitely needs 2 coats to get the finish you desire. Awesome product, will buy again!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome product
Pamthepainter
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 29, 2013
I used this on a deck, usually when you see an ad in the paper you think can this really be true. It went on like pudding and did everything the label said it would. The results of the deck were outstanding as a deck that was ready to be torn down is now looking brand new. The color selections fits with everyone tastes. One Great Product
I would recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beauty
Seabee73
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 28, 2013
This have got to the best product out there today. Also it has to the best bang for the buck! Talk out a having your cake and eating it too!! This is one paint that I have and did tell and give what I have left over to friends and family, they to agree that this paint is one in a million! My Dad and I in one weekend saved him well over an excess of $15000 dollars on replacing his backyard patio and deck just by using Behr Premium Deckover!! So I just wanted to so thank-you so much for making one heck of a awesome paint!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
So Happy!
Smilegram
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 28, 2013
We have a HUGE deck upstairs and downstairs that needs maintenance about every 2 years due to the sun and weather. I think we have finally found a product that will last for several years instead of just 1 or 2! My husband is using Deckover now and it looks fantastic! It is thick to fill in the cracks and holes completely and makes it look 100% better. I only wish this product had been available about 12 years ago when we built our house so that we could have been saved a lot of work! We are very happy with the restoration that Deckover has provided to our deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
So far very impressed
jenm930
Location:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 27, 2013
I just got done cleaning and using Deckover on our old gross deck. The product is great...goes on thick and hides cracks and nail holes. I love the texture of the product. We followed the directions on the product and so far we are really happy with it. We have only had it on for a week or so, so I don't know long term how it will hold up. But it made our deck look like new. What little dirt and dog hair gets on it, cleans right off with a good rain.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best deck product EVER!
Lilliamom
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 26, 2013
This summer we decided to try deckover. Our deck is pretty old and we did not have the money to replace it. I had heard about the Behr deckover on tv and then checked it out online. I saw that it could last as long as 10 years and that it would help extend the life of our deck. I was very excited! Once I convinced my husband this was the product for us we went to Home Depot and bought enough to do our whole deck. We did the uprights, flats and stairs for the entire deck. It was time consuming because it recommends you not do it in direct sunlight, the heat makes it thicker, and our deck is in direct sun most of the day. Once complete we let it cure for 5 days, just to make sure. I have dogs and watch children so it gets a LOT of use. I must say that I am super happy with the product! I absolutely love how my once tired looking deck now looks new. It looks like it is one of those fancy composite decks. A huge plus is that the surface is not slippery at all in the rain. I used to be scared of slipping down the steps when it was a little wet out, now I do not have a care in the world. Thank you Behr for making such an AWESOME product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Simply Outstanding!
cats7usa
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 25, 2013
This product, for us is absolutely superior to other deck products we have used.
We live in the mountains of Southern California and get substantial snow in the winter as well as higher UV rays which degrade a deck meaning we have had to stain year after year but I don't see that happening again!
Easy application with roller and touch up with a brush.
Highest recommendation!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Wears poorly; Impossible to Clean
EagleRising
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 24, 2013
I used Deckover to restore a 700 sq ft deck this summer. It went on well and looked nice right after it was painted. I did not walk on it until it had cured for several days. As soon as I started walking on it, it picked up dirt like a sponge and the dirt will not wash off with water even after using a scrub brush and detergent. I am now being told by the manufacturer that I will need their product to clean it. The product is expensive and contains chemicals that are harmful to pets, humans and plants. I have over $600 now invested in a restored deck that you can't even walk on w/o staining it. I would not recommend this Behr product.
I have used other Behr paints and have been extremely satisfied with them. I painted the exterior of my house about five years ago with a Behr acrylic stain and it has worn very well.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
New life for old deck
GloriaB
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 23, 2013
Our 15 year old deck looked like it needed to be replaced, but now after using DeckOver it looks brand new. We power washed it first and replaced a couple of the really bad planks. We used slate grey and it looks amazing. We love spending time on the deck now. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy Solution
jimbo21
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 23, 2013
Wow, fixed my old deck right up. Like new. And so easy. Will use it again. thanks
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
PERFECTION
Nora
Location:Maryland
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 22, 2013
Great product. Deck looked 20 years old and now it looks totally refreshed. Takes a little time to apply but pretty easy. Very easy clean up. I had new sliding glass doors put in a week later, was really worried about the crew scratching the deck but the paint held up well. I would recommend this to anyone looking to give their deck a nice face lift.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Deckover
DTOM
Location:Connecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 22, 2013
This is the best product ever made. Did my deck and it looks like brand new. The texture is so comfortable to walk on barefoot. It hides all the screws or nails and fills cracks and splits in the wood up to 1/4" deep. It is very durable. Must follow instructions for the best results. I washed the deck first with the Behr deck cleaner with a brush then rinse. I love this and I'm also going to do my front cement stairs and concrete slab with it. And a bench I made with the leftover wood from building an addition to my deck. After doing the deck you don't see any screws for a nice clean look. Love it!!!!! Highly Recommend this product. Thanks Behr!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
decks look brand new
sherry1023
Location:West Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 22, 2013
This is exactly as promised. The color was true. The application was easy. It dried quickly. Instructions were clear and clean up was easy. We redid all three decks and what a difference it made in the appearance of our home. I love the nonslip texture on deck steps! It filled cracks nail holes and splinters. What a fantastic product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
The best deck over
Jcrocker
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 21, 2013
My deck had definitely seen better days. My husband wanted to completely replace all the deck boards. I went to Home Depot and got behr deck over and my deck looks brand new. I'm so pleased with results that I've been recommending this product to everyone I know that is thinking of replacing their decks. Thank you behr for making this amazing product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
easy to use
lorig
Location:Ontario
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 21, 2013
love the product , was easy to apply, looks good, but there is absolutely no way to clean muddy footprints off, so my newly covered deck looks messy. anybody out there figured how to clean it off yet.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: deck
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
daisydonna
Location:Florida
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 21, 2013
Behr paint is the only paint I will use. The paint goes on so smooth, and covers completely in one coat. We just finished painting the bathroom walls in behr which turned out great, I happened to have a competitor's gift card so against my better judgment bought and used a different brand for the vanity.... it was not smooth, took two coats, and is still tacky after six days.... want my behr.....
I would recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome!!
shellabella58
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 20, 2013
My front porch is old and needs replacement but could not do it this year. Used this paint and WOW!!! It looks like a new porch.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>