Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (220 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
26
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
75
3.3
 out of 
5
127 out of 22058%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My wife is very happy
Widge
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 7, 2014
We were only half through refinishing our deck with Behr Deckover and my wife said " This stuff is great, I could be a spokesman for this product." We are very satisfied with the outcome.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
horrible product
cmnord
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 6, 2014
Badly stained in just a few days from foot traffic and dog paws. Will not clean off, and pressure washing on light spray peeled the paint right up. Expensive lesson learned. Don't bother!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Extremely Disappointing
weekendwarrior
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 5, 2014
Painted our deck in July of 2013. As soon as spring 2014 came, the paint was peeling up and flaking off. We followed all instructions for prep and applied 2 coats. Our deck looks horrendous now. I would never recommend this product to anyone that has any severe weather as it does not hold up well.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Coming off in sheets
Dobbie
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 5, 2014
My husband and I purchased this product about a year ago so we could have a beautiful space to entertain in. We spent countless hours prepping and applying this product to our space. We are now left with a deck that is pealing and coming off in sheets. This product does not live up to what Behr advertises. We are extremely disappointed with this product. We are now left with a space that I'm embarrassed to show and it makes me sick to my stomach ever time I look out my sliding glass door.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Autumnlake
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 4, 2014
I just finished applying this product to a brick paver patio and 2 wood steps. It is very thick and I had to stir before each use as the colors separated quicker than most "paint" does. I have had to put on 2 coats so far, one with a roller and the other with a brush for the spotty areas. Don't apply on a hot day. It will dry very fast. It applied easier to the wood steps than the concrete. It's a nice color but my true judgement will be after a full summer and winter. It is pricey and my previous concrete stain lasted several years whereas I can not attest to the longevity of this product yet.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
deckover
DENNIS
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 3, 2014
the worst stuff on the market ,didn't last 3months and when I want my money back this paint is GARBAGE.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Worst purchase EVER
Tracey3083
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 1, 2014
Besides not good coverage on concrete to my amaze you cannot clean this stuff with anything. I called the company about this and they were more than happy to send me a gallon of the concrete cleaner and I knew I was in trouble. From light pink chalk to very light mud your done over on my hands and knees scrubbing this stuff everyday I hope like everyone else says that it doesn't hold up and peels off after one winter can't wait to get rid of it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: patio
Exterior Project: concrete
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Ella
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 30, 2014
I used this product last year. It looked nice but when spring came and summer this year, boy did I have a mess.This was a total waste of time and money. I am having the deck redone by a professional that will be using a different product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+46points
58out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
BIG MISTAKE
Allison
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Wishing I could give this product no stars. DeckOver is expensive and peeled after 9 months. After power washing, prepping with their product and following the directions including a second coat 4 to 6 hours after the first coat it is peeling. Not sure what to do now.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+64points
68out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Deemick
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Highly Disappointed
ChrisG
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 27, 2014
I applied the product to my deck last June. Although it was expensive and tedious to apply, it initially looked nice. One year later and I am so sorry I used it. It is peeling and bubbling everywhere, not just in high traffic areas. I applied it as directed, cleaned and power washed the deck before applying, etc. the thing I am most upset about is not only does it look awful, the peelings are everywhere, including in my hot tub and pool. We are constantly picking pieces off our feet and out of the water. There are pieces tracked into my living room, kitchen, yard, you name it. 100% not worth the cost and work that went in to applying this product. Do not waste your money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+56points
60out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
disappointed100
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 25, 2014
Like others we bought this paint last year, applied 2 coats & the deck looked great. Than we had one of the biggest snows in years, anywhere I removed snow from the deck I have peeling.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Problems BUT
DebDeb
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 25, 2014
I purchased the Deckover to put on out deck on our vacation home. It went on great and looked awesome, BUT the following year I had peeling in a few spots. I contacted Behr and they stood behind the product 100%. They provided me with new product. I used Behr paints and stains all over both homes and will continue!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Only Temporary Result
DIYGal
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2014
The DeckOver Product looked nice when put on in summer, but after one winter, the paint on the deck has peeled up in wide strips all over. Disappointed considering the work and money put in to using the product. I could have gotten one summer of coverage with a regular exterior paint. I expected this to last 3-4 years.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Cleaned up our old weathered garage doors
monkeytoe
Location:Florida
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2014
I used this product to paint our old, weathered garage doors and it worked great. Filled on all the cracks and crevices and gave a nice appearance. Will keep things looking okay until we replace them. I have very good luck with Behr products and use them all the time for home projects.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Happy So Far
bored
Location:Georgia
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 23, 2014
We completed our deck project by replacing boards and handrails. I utilized deck over because of reviews that I have read. We are pleased with the outcome so far.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Horrible
horrible
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2014
We bought many gallons of Behr Deckover in hopes of preserving our large deck for years to come. The product is very thick and you need more than is recommended. We are extremely disappointed. After LESS THAN A YEAR, the areas that were shoveled over the winter, and even the areas where water dripped off the roof, have peeled away. I bought yet another gallon in hopes of just putting another coat on the surface area. I cleaned the deck with soap & water and attempted to recoat it. As I applied the Deckover, more & more of the original coat started to peel up. Now, after wasting about a quart, I need to pressure wash the deck, let it dry, and try again. Very frustrating! We've used other products in the past that lasted 5-7 years and thought this product would be much better, especially considering the price. We are extremely unhappy with Behr Deckover.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deckover
+57points
63out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Not A Good Value
Bob47
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 21, 2014
Purchased this product last summer as it appeared to be the answer for rejuvenating my deck. It looked great following application however, after a few days I did notice that it seemed to scratch rather easily. After the snow had cleared I was extremely surprised and frustrated to see how much bubbling and pealing off in large chunks had occurred. It was as if I had covered a glass surface and not a deck. Most of the cracks this product supposedly concealed were clearly evident. I now have twice the work as the entire deck will have to be scraped and either re-applied with a poor product or, most likely, I will have to spend additional monies for a better product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+57points
60out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent finish
dusty60rose
Location:Colorado
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 21, 2014
This product was easy to use. I am amazed by the finished look of my deck. I truly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
works great!
sportshots
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 20, 2014
It really covers old deck wood, but it is very thick
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>