Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.459 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (305 reviews)
5 stars
140
4 stars
50
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
88
3.5
 out of 
5
195 out of 30564%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 41 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Not as expected
worker1976
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I knew it was going to be hard work to apply and fill in the holes in our older decking but thought it would be worth it to have a new, smooth solid surface. We allowed it to dry longer than recommended and still had chipping the first time we placed our Patio furniture on the new surface. Very disappointed in this new product and would not recommend it to friends and family.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 42 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Over
sudie
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
First of all I really like this product. It may not go as far sq ft wise as paint but it is well worth it. I have a lot of wood decking. I live on a river so we enjoy our outdoor space. I started working on my deck (after I pressured washed it) on Memorial Day weekend. I had a painting party of about 10 people. Only one came back for a second day. After about 4 mos. I have finally finished. The product goes one easy and covers most of the cracks and nail holes. If your wood is old it is best to fill the cracks with putty sand it a little and apply the paint. You will get a mcuh smoother surface. I have recomended this product to 2 or 3 people. My dad did his porch and it looks great. I am very pleased with the way it turned out. and my decks look like new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Shutters
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
My Deck Needed Help
BigG
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Hadn't done anything to my deck in years and it was looking old and tired. Like Behr products so decided to give DeckOver a try. Went on nicely, thick enough to fill in cracks and create a nice smooth finish and great look!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
good product
Dieter
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I had a very old deck, replaced about 10% of the wood, steel brushed and belt sanded the balance. Spent a lot of time preparing. Good solution for part new, part old deck in that it covers it all. Used regular paint (from Behr - same color) for railings and spindles. It was applied in June of this year and still looks good. Probably would have rated higher if I knew it would continue to look good.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Saved our deck!!
Hillary
Location:New Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We bought our house last October, when our daughter was 6 weeks old. It had a beautiful deck but it was never maintained, we knew that we needed something so our daughter could play out there and not get splinters. After doing some research we chose Behr Deckover and painted our deck earlier this year.. Thanks to this paint our daughter hasn't had one splinter and we have enjoyed many pain-free days on our "brand-new" deck!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Decent product
marlon
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
This product did A great job, but need way more product then advertised.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Did the job
jimmyp
Location:Oregon
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
We have two porches here in the Pac NW. Previously we used another deck restorer on one and regular porch paint on the other. The (other brand) deck restorer failed miserably the following summer and the paint on the other was flaking off. We tried the deck over on the painted porch this spring to test it out. It performed quite well despite a hot sunny summer. We plan to use the deck over next spring on the other (restored) porch.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: porch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Thick and heavy cover
Itsme
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Deck over is a very heavy thick product. I don't think it would be easy to use a roller or sprayer. We used brushes for the deck floor and rails and posts. Covered more square feet than it said on can. Anxious to see if it will be slip resistant.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER<sup>TM</sup>.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great Product, Easy to Use
shearerbj
Location:Manitoba
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Product was easy to use and performed as advertised. As long as instructions are followed results are great. I would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Deck for a change
Skyrader
Location:Alaska
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I tried numerous products over time on my deck and walk way and they always peeled or lost color. When I heard of Behr DeckOver I bought 1 gal to test and was very pleased with the results and went back and got another 3 gal to complete my project. My deck still looks like the day I applied it even after all the traffic and washings over the summer. This is a great product, wish I had more deck I had fun applying DeckOver!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Successful summer Project
Grandmamary
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
As a widow, I need to be careful with spending. My deck was in serious disrepair. I investigated my options and I chose DeckOver for my project. After prepping according to the directions and replacing some rotted boards, I applied the DeckOver. I found a brush worked best for me. I was able to get the deck well covered in this manner. I used a semi-transparent stain on the rails and the solid on the deck and top rail for a custom look. I can enjoy my deck for many more years. If you want the composite look at a fraction of the cost this is the product to use. I recommend this product to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
The best for old decks
Shaktidanes
Location:Michigan
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I have used this product on several very old decks that were cracked and weathered. It fills the cracks and makes the deck look new again. It does have a rough surface to prevent slips so it will be harder to clean but it is well worth it. I recommend it to customers all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
expensive and not impressive
Marksuain
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I redid my deck over a few weeks doing all the prep work recommended and waited until there was no rain in the forecast and the temperatures were spot on, I had spent a bit of time talking to the paint specialist at home depot discussing the Rust-Oleum 4x and 10x vs the Deck Over. He recommended the Deck Over and explained all the preparation steps I needed to take. I had about $500 in paint and the Behr prep/wash stuff, sand paper etc. The paint covered very well, both coats. It's been on for about 2 months now and has lifted in 2 separate spots, one of which has peeled. I won't be recommending it to anyone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Has pros and cons
mainer
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used Deckover on a really old deck that had never been treated and was splintering and cracking. I cleaned it really well and let it dry a solid week before painting and I prevented any foot traffic for 72 hours after painting - I think that is key for getting the paint to stick.
Applying Deckover is HARD and SMELLY (toxic??). Not something I ever want to do again. It took a tremendous number of precious weekend days to finish this project. Getting the paint between the deck boards was especially difficult. This stuff is thick.
Deckover did what it promised though - it gave my deck a new life. It filled in all those cracks and has created a great barrier. It looks good, except...
One of the biggest disappointments I have with this paint is that it seems to hold onto dirt. My dog (who is walking on sidewalks, not romping in the mud) comes on and off the porch each day and now, only 3 months in, the nice forest green deck is completely covered in tan dog foot prints. I have tried scrubbing the deck on my hands and knees with soapy water and the print marks won't leave. That nice look is gone, but I guess at least the deck is still protected.
I applied it in the beginning of June - it's now October. I live in Maine, so we'll see what it looks like when the snow leaves in the spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Results
Shorty
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
Recently I purchased a new home with a deck that had beernn severely neglected. After much debating, I decided to treat it with the Behr Deck Over to preserve it before winter. I am so pleased with the results. The coverage was great, and filled in the weathered cracks beautifully! Everyone who visits comments on how great it looks and have said that they will use the product themselves.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great product for refinishing old deck
CoachCFB27
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 3, 2014
I used Deckover to refinish my 20+ year old pressure treated wood deck, and it did a nice job. It was easy to apply, and looks great, and seems to be holding up very well after about 3 months. Now, I'm just waiting to see how it holds up in the coming months (and years).
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Don't Use on Concrete
LongviewLady1
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 29, 2014
We used this on our concrete patio. Did all the preparation steps, put on during the recommended temperatures. We babysit the grand-dogs. There are dirty paw prints all over and they do not rinse off with water. I think regular concrete paint would have done the same job at a lot less expense. Will try and clean with soap and water after the dogs leave. Really disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 58 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Paint-worked just as described!
VincentandRuth
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 26, 2014
Yes! I took my time, followed the prep directions, using the other products recommended. Was easy to use, clean up was easy and the deck looks GREAT. We'll see how it weathers in Michigan cold and snow this winter. My deck was terrible looking and now looks brand new. A few weeks after I finished, I heard from someone I work with. He had used it too, a few years ago and his is still looking great. He also said I would be very happy with this paint.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 59 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fantastic product
Navahoe
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 16, 2014
I applied Behr Deckover last fall in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan where we had one of the worst winters on record. Here it is September of the year later and my deck looks like the day I applied the product. In the past, Staining my deck was a yearly project. I would always have peeling within a year. This is by far the best deck product I ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 60 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Outstanding Product
rwgwauvhs
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
I was having two serious concerns, first my deck was peeling every year. I think because the wood may have been green when the builder first painted it. I used Deckover and it has resolved my problem.
Second, my driveway was seriously scaling as we moved it during the winter and I had to use a heavy dose of rock salt on the day our furniture was to be delivered as we had an ice storm the night before. What a mess. I tried several products to stop it as the rain, weather & use was intensifying the damage. I did the entire drive with the Deckover and it has stopped further damage and provided a non-slick surface when wet. It has stopped further rain damage and held up real well over the winters and use of rock salt. The product has been an effective alternative to having to breakup and re pour the drive. I have also used other Behr paints for both the interior and exterior and now would not use any other product for painting. Thirty years as homeowner, mostly using Behr Products for painting has convinced me it is the best for me.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Office-Library, Bathroom, whole house
Exterior Project: concrete drive & walkway
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next >>>