Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
26
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
73
3.3
 out of 
5
127 out of 21858%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Deemick
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Cooper
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+55points
81out of 107found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Jambox
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+26points
44out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Simply Outstanding!
cats7usa
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 25, 2013
This product, for us is absolutely superior to other deck products we have used.
We live in the mountains of Southern California and get substantial snow in the winter as well as higher UV rays which degrade a deck meaning we have had to stain year after year but I don't see that happening again!
Easy application with roller and touch up with a brush.
Highest recommendation!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+30points
37out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the new scent
rajee
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
Great scent room looks new and awesome I always wants to have new look and so I choose this paint
I would recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
khan
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
i used this several years ago and my deck has made it through multiple hurricanes. highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Product!!
ConcreteDeckLikeNew
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
Love this product!! Worked excellent on my concrete deck!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bedroom
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEST NEW PRODUCT ON THE MARKET
BEACHGALS
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
WOW! WE CAN'T HARDLY WAIT TO APPLY THIS TO OUR OLD DECK. PROMISE A BEFORE AND AFTER PICS WHEN FINISHED! UMMMMM....WONDER IF WE CAN PAINT THE GARAGE FLOOR WITH THIS?
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very Impressed!
Honeybadger
Location:Arizona
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
I applied this product last weekend to a wood deck that is over 20 years old. It filled in the cracks and and adhered to the old wood quite well. There is no way to tell how old the deck is as it now looks as good as the brand new deck my neighbor installed a month ago. I put on two coats but it really looked great after just the first. It applied easily and clean up was a breeze. As long as it lasts as promised, it is well worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
deck and walkway
IndianaHomeOwner
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
This is the 2nd time I have used Behr on my decks and walkways, the last time was 10 years ago. Used Behr again because it is the best coverage you can buy. The walkway was used by a wheelchair and walker and still stood up.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Four Decks - One House transformed!
Ash10
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
We could not be more happy with the Behr DeckOver product. Just completed four decks on our Lake House in WI. We followed the instructions and applied to our clean & dry deck boards. The instructions on quantity to purchase and apply were dead on. We were amazed at the exact color match to the railings painted/stained several years ago. We applied two coats - one early morning and one late afternoon. The end result is a beautiful finsih and deck boards that appear brand new. And the texture is just right - not too gritty or rough - yet very slip resistant when wet. Finally, you can tell that once this product is laid down, it will withstand the harshest winters that Wisconsin has to offer! Thank you for creating this product just in time before having to put down another inferior stain product that wouldn't even last one season. Behr Deckover is truly a miracle product. We now live and entertain on our decks!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
DeckWizard
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
11out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! What a great product!
Jeani
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
Wow! What a great product! We have a wood dock that is over 20 years old that was never painted or stained. As you can imagine, because of the Texas heat and humidity, we were getting ready to replace it. Then we saw the ad on tv for Deckover and decided to give it a try. It literally SAVED our dock! We first power washed the deck and then cleaned with water and bleach to get rid of the mildew. Then we added 2 coats of Deckover. Not only did it smooth out the rough edges and splinters...it also stopped the slippage and falling problems of our grand kids when they run up and down the dock wet to get into the lake. I highly recommend this product whether you have a new deck, dock or any high traffic area!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love Love LOVE!!
AshleyK
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
I love Behr Paint. I've written a review before, and I will do it again! We used Behr throughout our entire home. We tried a different paint first, and it did not stick to our walls. We bought a Mobile home that was dated in the 70's, and brought it to the 2000's lol. That being said, anyone who has painted panelling knows, paint doesn't stick very well. But Behr paint did a really amazing job! We went back and returned our other paint for the Behr paint and we love the colors! It didn't take as many coats, it went on easily and didn't drip down, and the finishing project, is what helped us make this house into a home!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best ever used
Wflo217919
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
This was my first time using the New Deck Over! The ease of applying was great, dry time was great, and the finish was outstanding! Will apply another coat next year to keep down maintenance needed! Would recommend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Paint!!
MikeA
Location:Florida
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
I have been using Behr products for 10+ years and love it! I have used Premium Plus Interior, Marquee Exterior, Elastomeric Masonry Stucco & Brick and there is no other product brand that compares to Behr. I am anxious for the Marquee Interior to become available in the North Florida area. People often ask why I like Behr over some of the other brands and my reply is just try it a you will be a Behr believer as well.
Great Product Guys!!!
MIke
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Saver
615TG
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
This product saved me from having to replace my decks. Pool and house. It exceeded my expectations with coverage and protecting my wood after a harsh winter and looks the same this year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent durability after one year
BobG
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
I have a treated southern pine deck of approximately 700 sq. ft. that includes an area surrounding an above ground pool. The deck was installed 25 years ago and was beginning to show signs of splintering and cracking even though I treated the deck every two to three years with sealers.
I prepared my deck by first sanding the surface with a commercial sander to take down high spots and and smooth the surface. I then used the deck over and spread it out to fill in the major imperfections in the wood (1st coat). Afterwards, i applied the second coat with a roller. The results was a near-perfect surface and the finish was outstanding. It's been 12 months and went through a severe winter and the deck looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy to use
Bunny
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
This product is easy to use and looks great! Helps with imperfections!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>