Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.243 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (247 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
34
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
86
3.2
 out of 
5
143 out of 24758%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
DeckWizard
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
18out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Deemick
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Cooper
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+56points
87out of 118found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Jambox
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+27points
48out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Fantastic product
Navahoe
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 16, 2014
I applied Behr Deckover last fall in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan where we had one of the worst winters on record. Here it is September of the year later and my deck looks like the day I applied the product. In the past, Staining my deck was a yearly project. I would always have peeling within a year. This is by far the best deck product I ever used.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Outstanding Product
rwgwauvhs
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 15, 2014
I was having two serious concerns, first my deck was peeling every year. I think because the wood may have been green when the builder first painted it. I used Deckover and it has resolved my problem.
Second, my driveway was seriously scaling as we moved it during the winter and I had to use a heavy dose of rock salt on the day our furniture was to be delivered as we had an ice storm the night before. What a mess. I tried several products to stop it as the rain, weather & use was intensifying the damage. I did the entire drive with the Deckover and it has stopped further damage and provided a non-slick surface when wet. It has stopped further rain damage and held up real well over the winters and use of rock salt. The product has been an effective alternative to having to breakup and re pour the drive. I have also used other Behr paints for both the interior and exterior and now would not use any other product for painting. Thirty years as homeowner, mostly using Behr Products for painting has convinced me it is the best for me.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Office-Library, Bathroom, whole house
Exterior Project: concrete drive & walkway
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover Product outstanding
CarolY
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 13, 2014
I bought this product for the first time last summer to paint the stairs and landing on some outside stairs on our new screened in porch. It was a time-consuming project, but well worth it. This summer, I applied the first coat to our 40' deck that is 8' wide at narrowest and 12' wide at widest part. The deck was installed 10 years ago and was never treated. It was in decent shape for that age, but weathered. We had a second coat applied to this deck and the small stairs and landing (I had done last year), by our painter. It is beautiful. We are now using the deck that we had stopped using. I expect this product to hold up well and that we have now increased the life of this decking. The product is thick and filled in the small weathered cracks well. We think it looks like a new deck now. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My Deck looks like new!
Delinda
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
The guys in the paint department said this was the way to go and they were right! My deck was beat up and worn out looking. It was cracked in spots and had splinters. It looked just awful when I started. I cleaned it up following the instructions. There was very little prep work to it. Three hours later, I was done! Every time I walk outside, I smile. This is just a great product to bring back a wood deck. Thanks for my new deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great finish, easy to use.
barb0208
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Installed new front porch deck in fall of 2012. Wood was slick and all family members had numerous slips and almost falls thoughout the winter. Spring of 2013, added Behr Deckover. Very easy to apply, great finish, protects the wood, beautiful color. Winter of 2013, no problems with traction. Able to shovel snow, yet no deterioration to the finish.
More than I had wanted to spend initially, but after seeing the results, I'm so glad I did.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nurse
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Behr is what we are now using to paint our house. It has been well suited to our needs and love all the color selections. We would highly recommend it to everyone
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Beautiful Look for a deck
Limecreek
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
I was leery because I bought some very expensive paint that was supposed to cover anything forever, even tractors. Well after doing a lot of work to repaint my aging redwood deck with it, it started peeling the very next year. Now it looks terrible and we are having it replaced next spring. They called and asked me how I liked it. I told them and they offered to replace the paint. I said no thank you, why would I want to put all that work into it again just to have it peel some more? I still had a small deck that was in better shape structurally so I decided to try the deck restore. Pretty easy to put on and it looks great. A friend used it on her deck last year and it looked great this summer so I am expecting the same results.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Never dissapointed in Behr products!
Birdwatcher53
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 30, 2014
I've used a Behr products many times inside and outside my house . I used the new product, Deck Over, on my back deck. I love the coverage and the color. The color was lighter than the color square on the card, but I still love it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
khan
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
i used this several years ago and my deck has made it through multiple hurricanes. highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Product!!
ConcreteDeckLikeNew
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
Love this product!! Worked excellent on my concrete deck!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bedroom
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEST NEW PRODUCT ON THE MARKET
BEACHGALS
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
WOW! WE CAN'T HARDLY WAIT TO APPLY THIS TO OUR OLD DECK. PROMISE A BEFORE AND AFTER PICS WHEN FINISHED! UMMMMM....WONDER IF WE CAN PAINT THE GARAGE FLOOR WITH THIS?
I would recommend this to a friend.
-9points
10out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very Impressed!
Honeybadger
Location:Arizona
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
I applied this product last weekend to a wood deck that is over 20 years old. It filled in the cracks and and adhered to the old wood quite well. There is no way to tell how old the deck is as it now looks as good as the brand new deck my neighbor installed a month ago. I put on two coats but it really looked great after just the first. It applied easily and clean up was a breeze. As long as it lasts as promised, it is well worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
deck and walkway
IndianaHomeOwner
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
This is the 2nd time I have used Behr on my decks and walkways, the last time was 10 years ago. Used Behr again because it is the best coverage you can buy. The walkway was used by a wheelchair and walker and still stood up.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Four Decks - One House transformed!
Ash10
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 14, 2014
We could not be more happy with the Behr DeckOver product. Just completed four decks on our Lake House in WI. We followed the instructions and applied to our clean & dry deck boards. The instructions on quantity to purchase and apply were dead on. We were amazed at the exact color match to the railings painted/stained several years ago. We applied two coats - one early morning and one late afternoon. The end result is a beautiful finsih and deck boards that appear brand new. And the texture is just right - not too gritty or rough - yet very slip resistant when wet. Finally, you can tell that once this product is laid down, it will withstand the harshest winters that Wisconsin has to offer! Thank you for creating this product just in time before having to put down another inferior stain product that wouldn't even last one season. Behr Deckover is truly a miracle product. We now live and entertain on our decks!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! What a great product!
Jeani
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
Wow! What a great product! We have a wood dock that is over 20 years old that was never painted or stained. As you can imagine, because of the Texas heat and humidity, we were getting ready to replace it. Then we saw the ad on tv for Deckover and decided to give it a try. It literally SAVED our dock! We first power washed the deck and then cleaned with water and bleach to get rid of the mildew. Then we added 2 coats of Deckover. Not only did it smooth out the rough edges and splinters...it also stopped the slippage and falling problems of our grand kids when they run up and down the dock wet to get into the lake. I highly recommend this product whether you have a new deck, dock or any high traffic area!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next >>>