Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
13
4.1
 out of 
5
82 out of 10578%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
PROPER PREPARATION
Deckover
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 16, 2014
Deckover application has held up well over the winter. The reviews I've read saying it has peeled over the winter were probably because their wood was not sanded before applying. Do the sanding and Deckover will adhere properly.
I would recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Can't go wrong!
Steve1961
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 15, 2014
Considered replacing a twenty plus year old deck. Saw the Deckover display at Home Depot, and thought "No way"!!! Purchased Deckover for about the same price as paint. U sing the same process as painting, restored the deck to like new condition. Some boards did need to be replaced, cannot even tell which are new and which are old after applying this product. ANYONE can do this!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, painted wooden deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Thick Protecting Paint
AshesEra
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 11, 2014
I used DeckOver in Flat Top to paint my back concrete porch and front entry way. Both surfaces were different but the process to apply the paint was the same. The back porch was new concrete so it was porous. I applied DeckOver with a brush (around the edges) and roller. The paint is very thick so it's best to paint on a cool day (under 90). Applying DeckOver on the new concrete was difficult but had nothing to do with the paint (combination of roller & surface). Applying the second coat went much smoother since the first coat laid down a thick layer on the concrete. The finish feels smooth on our feet and has a grip to it. The entry way is concrete also but was painted a couple of years ago. Adding DeckOver to that surface was like painting a wall. Very easy. We are planning to paint our carport, also. DeckOver is an amazing product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
like getting a new deck
bearman
Location:Vermont
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 8, 2014
The application walittle teidious do to the prior condition of the deck but when finished it looked like new composite deck! it held up fine through the vermont winter! we will see how it handles the summer sun & heat. well worth the effort & investment!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Stuff
Nick5000
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 3, 2014
I love my deck. This product is amazing, the entire project was a success.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
greatest value found
Sparky
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 2, 2014
On 2nd floor mahog. deck. Sun damaged orig stain and wood. Type colored to match adjacent blue metal roof. Came out good despite my wife's color choice. Filled cracks w/1st coat. Leveled all cracks w/2nd. Can still see the wood texture, but has a deep feeling texture.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decking & log home
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
review after a tough winter
griff
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 2, 2014
I read all the reviews prior to purchasing this product and almost all were shortly after painting. I decided to wait until winter was finally over.
First, I picked a color and purchased a gallon. Glad I did. I hated the color once it was on the deck. And so I went back and picked another ... in the gallon size, and this time I loved it. I was glad I had not purchased the 5 gallon pail. So I used up the original gallon as the first coat, and went over it with my second choice. So the money was not wasted.
I tried to roll it on, but it did not cover well. So I decided to sit on the deck and paint with a brush. Very time consuming but it covered really well, and I was able to fill in all the splinters and knot holes, and between the slats. It looked beautiful!
Now that we have (hopefully) finished with winter, I find that I have a lot of chips in the paint where I had to shovel, like near the door and on the stairs. It is not peeling, just chips. Where I did not shovel, the paint is absolutely fine.
So when it warms up, I am going to recoat the chipped areas. I am not upset with having to do this, because I am surprised how well it stood up overall.
My deck was a real mess when I started, so I am pleased that I used the Behr DeckOver, and that it still looks as good as it does. I would recommend this product to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Cooper
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great deck paint
Nance
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 30, 2014
Old deck looks like new! Would recommend getting some exterior paint to match for spindles that will stretch out the deck over paint for weather worn areas
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Super good product
Popjr
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 29, 2014
My deck seemed to be on its last leg, the solid stain was coming off, had rough edges and splinters. Spoke to the sales person and decided to give the Deckover a shot. I cleaned and powerwashed the surface and put down 2 good coats of Deckover. The deck looks and feels great. Best of all it survived a very cold and snowy winter with me shoveling the deck constantly and even using a Toro Powershovel on it. The deck looks as good as it did when I finished it last spring. The only very slight negative is the deck feels hotter on your bare feet in bright sunlight, but that's what flip-flops are for I guess.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product saved me thousands!!!!
mksr25
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 29, 2014
Living in the Northeast my deck takes a pounding over the winter. Each spring I would find myself spending cash to stain it to make it look decent. Last year I applied BEHR deckover and this last winter was the harshest we've had in years. The product held up "excellent', no restaining or even touchup required!!!! It stood up to ice falling on it, dripping, heavy traffic, and change of temperatures. I tell everyone I know to use this product. From easy application to outstanding durability this product is a true WINNER!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck resurface
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
restored deck
stan
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 29, 2014
Very good results and pleased how it help up over the winter compared to another deck where a different product was used.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great finish and easy apply
Wildman
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 28, 2014
refinished my porch and deck floors. I liked the finish that Deckover had much better than the rough finish that Restore gave. Deckover was easy to apply and the two coats look great. Highly recommend. This summer
I am going to use it on my hand rails.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: refinished porch and deck
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great product
chefpat
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 28, 2014
Did the deck before the winter and after what we had for weather here in NY I am so happy to see the deck held up great. Small spots were the dog scratched at needed another coat but the deck still looks great, can't wait to use it again this spring and summer
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
New Deck Looks Awesome
SCdockman
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 26, 2014
I built a huge new deck for a friend last summer and used Deck Over on all horizontal surfaces. I also used Behr stains for the vertical surfaces. I used two colors of Deck Over to create a dramatic effect with contrasting boarders on a four level deck system. The product can be sprayed using an airless gun but it does take a strong paint system and considerable cleaning while applying the product. I sprayed the first two coats and rolled the third to get a tough finish.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Jambox
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
awesome product
johns
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 21, 2014
easy to use, great coverage. would recommend this product. just a few touchups after the winter, overall it lasted thru this hard winter on our front porch.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Labor Saver
Bupparella
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
Skeptical of new products, I made the decision to try this product, because the wood of the deck was going to need sanding. I did not want to do all that labor.
This product allowed me to apply after POWER WASHING, using the recommended cleaner first. Applying the product was reasonably easy, but I discovered that rolling AGAINST the grain, perpendicular to the boards, helped fill the cracks. The second coat went with the length of the boards. Drying time was quick.
I was glad that I did not open the 5 gallon bucket, but poured out enough to accommodate the section being addressed. Keep the remaining product out of the sun.
I noted from the residual on the side of the bucket that it dries very much like a vinyl tablecloth. Neighbors have been very complimentary.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Impressed!
Azure
Location:Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
We are a rough and tumble family that is hard on everything, so I chose to use the Behr DeckOver on my horribly old and weathered wood railing and trim around our house. It still looks brand new over a year later. Easy to clean and very durable. I had tons of extra even as it covered and filled in way better than expected. It smoothed everything out nicely. I would definitely buy this for future outdoor projects!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Coverage area/gallon is double to that specified
Raju
Location:California
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 1, 2013
Good Product. Spreads Easily. As per Behr, coverage is 50 sq.ft per gallon (two coats). We went with this figure and ended up buying twice the amount of paint. Our experience is that even after two thick coats, the actual coverage per gallon is more than twice - around 100 to 120 sq. ft. per gallon.
Do not purchase extra costly paint - Go with 100 sq. ft. per gallon.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: concrete patio
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>