Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.407 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (324 reviews)
5 stars
147
4 stars
51
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
100
3.4
 out of 
5
203 out of 32463%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
DeckWizard
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
21out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Deemick
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+18points
25out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Cooper
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+58points
89out of 120found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Jambox
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+28points
49out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Hard work but great product
Lou482
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Put this on my deck surface last summer and am really pleased with how it came through the winter. It does take time to apply and it does not spread. If you do it right and work it into the surface, you will use every ounce of what BEHR's estimating tool suggests. It does a good job of filling in nail holes and wood splits. Hope it lasts a couple of years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Took care of wood decks on the Colorado River
Don22u
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
Have a wood deck over the water on the Colorado River, Parker Arizona. Whew it gets hot in the late spring through summer, 115 + many days, and nights during the summer are usually mid 90's.
.
I contacted Behr, explained the extreme heat conditions. "it'll work" they said, "just properly prepare the surface and apply per the directions"
We cleaned the wood, power washed, and prepped the surfaces. The Deckover was applied per their recommendations and coating applications
This was last year. Behr Premium Deckover spend the summer with the sun. This year the deck still looks like last year.
Excellent product and it is slip resistant which is great when you realize there's water splashing on it and people getting out of boats tied to the dock
Would I recommend it? Absolutely, assuming you want to prep it, apply it and enjoy it, year and year
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: out door deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
What a difference
Cincybill
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I bought the Deck Over to seal and stain a front porch and back deck. I had just purchased the home and both had been neglected for several years. I was more than thrilled at the results.It did cover cracks and splinters while changing the look of both areas. I am going to touch up again this year just because of the time they were neglected and I beleive I have added many years to both areas. I would without hesitation recommend to use to others.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR DECKOVER REVIEW
2Dames
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I am the owner of 2 Dames with a Brush Painting in Richmond, VA. We do numerous decks per month and all, if not most customers ask which deck stain or paint they should purchase for their deck jobs. I always recommend Behr Stain and all of my customers have been pleased with their decks using the DeckOver. This Behr product makes an OLD deck look REJUVENATED!! Numerous colors to chose from. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Proper Prep is Key!!
LolaM
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I used the Deckover paint August 2014 on my covered front porch and rails. After 8 months (and over the winter) it still looks great and is not peeling or chipping. I think the most important part of using this product is the prep. The wood has to be totally cleaned/stripped and dry before you use this paint. My local Behr rep, gave me very detailed directions on how to prep my porch and then how to apply this paint. I ended up doing 3 thinner coats with the 2 gallons of paint I had and still had enough to do 2 coats on the railings. My porch had very large cracks and splinters. I made sure as I was painting to fill in the cracks and to cover the splintered areas with a generous amount of the Deckover.
Other reviewers have mentioned it not holding up to snow but my porch had repeated standing snow on it this winter and has shown no signs of peeling or cracking...I think proper prep is the reason why.
The Deckover has made my front porch safe and usable for me and my children and I would absolutely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Kmatt9977
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 17, 2015
I have used the product several different times, and I have been please with its quality every time!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Shan
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 16, 2015
This product is great and comes in a wide range of color choices!!! Highly recommend it...it really lasts!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Deck Finish Ever On A 20 Year Old Deck
FEKETE
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 4, 2014
my deck , 20 years old, is made of pressurized 2x6
boarding. I have tried several finshes during this time period.
The results were unsatisfactory.
i applied Deckover in JULY 2014. It is now December and its
appearance has not changed after going thru high summer
temperatures and cold snowy days north of Buffalo, N.Y.
The key to success is the preparation. I lightly sanded and
cleaned with Behr 63 Wood Cleaner. I highly recommend
Deckover.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Needed Protection for Grandkid's Tender Feet
BobinGeorgia
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 4, 2014
I am a 70 year old home owner. I, therefore, wanted a product that would not overwhelm me as a do-it-yourselfer. I planned to use DeckOver on a 15 year old pressure treated deck, seats and handrails that totaled over 1,200 square feet. In addition, I have 2 separate stairs of steps that come off this deck and 4 other separate stairs of steps in retaining walls that surround our swimming pool area. DeckOver was to be used to cover these steps which was estimated to be another 500 square feet. Finally, I wanted to use DeckOver on a 100 square foot wooden ramp attached to our "workshop garage". My motivation and intent for this project was to to prevent slivers from going into the tender feet and hands of our 6 grandchildren when they come to visit their grandpa and grandma.
The actual application of DeckOver on my project did not occur until I had thoroughly cleaned all surfaces with Behr's Premium All-in-One Wood Cleaner.
After completion of this project, I am completely satisfied with the end results of using DeckOver on all my wooden surfaces. I am very confident that our grandkids will NOT get any more slivers in their feet when visiting Grandpa and Grandma's house.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck stairways and ramp
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
30 Year Old Dock Looks Brand New
Charlotte
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 3, 2014
We used Deck Over on the porches of our summer home and they look amazing. Our 30 year old dock was looking pretty bad and we were thinking about replacing parts of it but then I said, "USE DECK OVER" and the result was astounding. It looks like a brand new dock. Thank you Behr !!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: porch
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Hail Damage Repair
Jeri
Location:Delaware
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 21, 2014
I think this product is amazing!!! This past spring we had severe damage to our deck and Pergola and my husband had to replace all the railings but instead of restaining he used the deckover and it turned out stunning it matched the color of the wood in the Pergola almost 95% and looks wonderful as if we put on a brand new deck. I have recommended this product to everyone that I know suffered hail damage to their outdoor decks and patios. I also received a rebate for purchasing 5 cans of the product. WOW what more can I say. Thank you .
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Used this around my hot tub wood skirting panel
Christy1
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 21, 2014
I recently re-did my patio area around my hot tub and I used Behr Premium Deckover on my hot tub wood skirt panel. After doing the prep instructions, I used the dark brown color and it covered very nicely with one coat. As you can see from the before and after pics, it looks so much better and actually looks like a new panel!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
deck over
Smookie
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 20, 2014
My husband and I got this deck over for our deck. Wow! Did it turn out GREAt! We loved everything about it, very easy to use, great quality,color turned out beautiful. Very satisfied how it protects our deck with two big maple trees in our back yard. We love our new deck!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
First-rate product
Prairiedog
Location:Wyoming
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2014
When I was ready to refinish my deck this summer, I decided to use Behr's Premium Deck-over as the finish. I had never used this product before, but I have used Behr paint and stains in the past with great results, so choosing this finish was a simple choice. Although it's only been on for four months, I have no doubt that I'll get great wear out of it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Product!
Jeff65
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2014
I work as a professional painting contractor and used this product on a front entry deck/concrete foundation last year and it has performed very well! I had never used Deck Over before this project and it was recommended by my customer, so I decided to give it a try. It worked so well that I am going to use it on my home next spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 Next >>>