Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
5 stars
172
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
16
1 star
117
3.4
 out of 
5
233 out of 37562%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
amlee
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2015
Used this to paint our front porch and concrete steps last summer and it looks great. Holds up well with bad weather, seals the wood and concrete great. Hides cracks and small holes well too. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
DeckWizard
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
21out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Deemick
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Cooper
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+58points
90out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Jambox
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+29points
50out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
my new home
SherryPlanck
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Last year we purchased a home that needed some updates we started with some bedrooms and the shutters and the deck Behr paint was the only paint I wanted because I had used it in the past and it is the best paint you will ever buy one coat is all you need I love Beth and will never buy anything else whether it's indoor out outdoors Behr paint is the only way to go
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
revamp your deck
MachelleF
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Behr brought out the best in our older deck , colors were fantastic to choose from . Color spoke volumes in our new updated deck . Thank you behr !
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Refinished Deck
bobills
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
This product went on easy and looks great. It has been a year since we applied and it still looks great. We had used stains in the past but they faded and didn't seem to protect our wood deck as much as we liked. This product still looks new after a year! We are very pleased and would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone wanting/needing to refinish their deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent product, way to go BEHR !!!!
scooter65
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The BEHR deck over product worked like a dream, was easy to clean up, and could be tinted to an incredible amount of colors. I bought a 5 gallon pail, and some deck cleaner. this was one of the best purchases I ever made. Thank you BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great product to spruce up a deck
broncosfan
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
My deck was in need of some help or I would have to replace it, this product made it look new again and was easily applied
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Give your deck the love it needs!
MiGentry
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used Deckover for a long time, in fact, I won't use anything else. I am in the construction field and have tried many different products over the years but nothing compares. From the beautiful colors to the durability, the safety and economic value, there is no other product I would use. My clients rely on me to do a great job that will last. I pride myself on long lasting workmanship. Our decks need love! They have put up with so much from the kids to the BBQ's, the parties and the warm summer nights of just sitting with close friends. Keep your deck happy and it will keep you happy!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Product Ever
houseflipper
Location:Missouri
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used this product on three different occasions now. This is the best product I have ever used. I used it on two different decks. One about 20 years old and one about 40 years old. The attached picture is of the 40 year old deck it looks great! You can now go bare foot and not get splinters in your feet. Best Ever.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Stain
willie
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I used Behr Deckover Stain and it turned my old worn out deck boards into finshed deck boards that will give me a few more years out of this deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
So far so good...
JimBishop
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
Our deck is about 13 years old. The deck stains I tried looked good at first but barely lasted a year before needing to be re-applied. Last July we decided to try the Behr Deckover product after seeing a demo at Home Depot. It was a long and arduous process. First I used the recommended Behr stripper to remove the remnants of stain left from the previous summer. Then I used the recommended deck wash per the Behr instructions. After a few minor repairs, replacing warped or broken deck boards, I was finally ready to apply the Deckover. After applying two coats I was delighted with the appearance. It made my old deck look new again. Now after nearly a year it still looks great. Well worth the work I think. No sign of peeling or any other problems. Hopefully I'll be able to enjoy it for several more years before it needs to be redone.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
dhight
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
I could not be more happy. Had deck coated last summer. Gets full sun for the most part, but even has shady areas. Deck is above ground and I shoveled snow off of it twice last winter to keep from becoming a frozen block of ice. Too little sun in winter to melt it. Summer again and DeckOver is still going strong! No complaints here.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
KarenW
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
We used Deckover last year. Now, after a harsh winter, we are very pleased how good our deck still looks.
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
14 years 5 deck finishes
Liam
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
This product is the first of 5 different deck finishes that lasted into a second season in the 14 years we have had our deck. Not a single mark on 400 sq. ft. The finish is a solid coverage and looks great. Have already recommended to several friends and family members that noticed.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck finish
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Prepare and enjoy!
hefaust61
Location:Indiana
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 8, 2015
My one year report on DeckOver. I have to admit that I was skeptical when I first learned of this product. There were some negative reviews that left me with reservations. However, I took the gamble and went with my gut. Needless to say, my deck looks just as good today as it did one year ago when I applied DeckOver! Four seasons of heavy traffic, dogs dragging heavy furniture around and running up and down the stairs countless times with their cables, moving the grill around, and constant entertaining. From blazing sun (there is no shade) to blizzard, ice and subzero temperatures (I even shoveled the deck for a path so that the dogs could go to the yard), and finding out that the dogs evacuated on the deck all winter because they didn't want to go into the yard, the DeckOver held tough. Not that first chip or scratch! I'm still blown away. The key is preparation. I spent a lot of time in that area, and it paid off! Thanks again, Behr!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
30 year old deck looks like new!!
Ship
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 8, 2015
I bought my first home last September. The home is definitely a fixer upper. The deck looked very ugly old wood with numerous cracks and a couple unstable/rooting boards. Replacing the deck was out of the question when deciding what we could do to give the deck new life. I researched multiple products like DeckOver. None of the other products had a simple prep phase like DeckOver does. All other products required primer, wood filers and sanding, that seemed like a lot of work to refinish a deck. I decided to use the DeckOver because the prep seemed simple and that a DIYer could manage to do it. I replaced the rooting boards on the deck and used the recommended deck cleaner. The cleaner was very easy to use and made the old wood look great. After allowing the deck to dry we began the process of filling in the cracks. This process takes a long time, especially on a really old deck with lots of cracks. once all the cracks were filled the rolling began. The rolling process is very simple and easy. I have a 550 sq ft deck. Myself and a friend were able to roll the DeckOver on my deck in an hour and a half. After two coats the 30 year old deck looked like we just put it in!!! I am so excited with how it turned out and cannot wait to have friends over to enjoy the deck with me. I am very pleased with the product and felt like I got my moneys worth. This is a great option for those who can't afford to replace their deck but want it to look decent and not have an eye sore attached to their house.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 Next >>>