Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.378 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (384 reviews)
5 stars
175
4 stars
56
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
122
3.4
 out of 
5
236 out of 38461%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2015
Used this to paint our front porch and concrete steps last summer and it looks great. Holds up well with bad weather, seals the wood and concrete great. Hides cracks and small holes well too. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+18points
25out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
34out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+21points
28out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+63points
95out of 127found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+32points
54out of 76found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER® No. 5000.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Quality Product at a Great Price
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 19, 2015
I, as a business owner of a small painting company, have been staining decks for years upon years. I choose my products very wisely as I want to leave my customer with a quality job well done that will last as long as possible, especially here in the state I live in where the weather changes drastically throughout the seasons. This product definitely covered very well and, since I had applied it almost a year ago, has held up very well against all precipitation and snowfall. It looks just the same as I had left it. I recommend, with using this product, to do as great of a prep job as possible (as with any type of coating), including thoroughly washing, scraping and sanding before applying the product. I sprayed and back rolled a thick layer on the surfaces of the deck and railings therefore really working the product in as well as possible. This is how you will achieve great long lasting results with this product.
Great product, less future hassle.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
3 Years and 2200 Sq ft later - Boat Docks
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 10, 2015
This is year three of applications on a large boat dock. Some wood is twenty years old and other wood is as fresh as 4 years old.
After three years, stands up amazing. Dock has been underwater for two winters and no flaking, peeling or any damage whatsoever. Cannot understand other failed applications. I pressure washed at 3000 psi, then bleached with TSP and bleach and Dawn, (1 cup of each to 2.5 gallons) and let dry for two weeks. Rolled with two to three coats and brushed in any divots or holes with brush and let dry for a week. Product works very well.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
Exterior Project: Siding
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nice Product
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 18, 2015
I applied Behr Deckover to my front deck that was ugly and slated for serious repair or replacement. It looks better than new. I can't believe the transformation.
I was skeptical at first because I read some bad reviews, but since I actually followed the instructions I've had no problems at all.
The only possible complaint I have is that it really stinks. There is a strong chemicals smell that will burn your nose and lungs without wearing a good mask. Here in Minnesota our days are limited to use Deckover because most nights drop below 50 degrees and i wanted a couple of days without rain before and after application to make sure everything was really dry.
I just bought a five gallon bucket to do the back deck tomorrow. Praying for the results to be as good as the front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER® No. 5000.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
100 decks and counting
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 1, 2015
I'm a contractor in Utica NY and have used Deckover on over 100 decks . I warranty all my work and have had no complaints in 2 years since the product was introduced. If your deck coating failed its most likely you applied it incorrectly. I recommend it to all my clients. I am not a paid representative of Behr ! I'm thinking of moving to a warmer climate so I can apply it to decks all year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
It's a solution to old splintered decks.
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2015
I pressure washed my deck. I slathered this product on and made sure to let it seep into the holes and gaps. 300sq.ft. later my deck looks great. It’s like liquid tr**.
I have no terrific expectations as far as longevity. After 25 years I am sure the damage goes deeper than the surface of the wood. Paint chips and peels, especially when people are walking on it, or dragging tables and chairs across it.
If the price stays the same, I don’t care if it peels. I can spot fix it. For that price, I may change the color of the deck every other year.
It’s like painting with pudding. It went on easily, however I preferred a brush more than the roller to apply the product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
my new home
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Last year we purchased a home that needed some updates we started with some bedrooms and the shutters and the deck Behr paint was the only paint I wanted because I had used it in the past and it is the best paint you will ever buy one coat is all you need I love Beth and will never buy anything else whether it's indoor out outdoors Behr paint is the only way to go
I would recommend this to a friend.
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
revamp your deck
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
Behr brought out the best in our older deck , colors were fantastic to choose from . Color spoke volumes in our new updated deck . Thank you behr !
I would recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Refinished Deck
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
This product went on easy and looks great. It has been a year since we applied and it still looks great. We had used stains in the past but they faded and didn't seem to protect our wood deck as much as we liked. This product still looks new after a year! We are very pleased and would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone wanting/needing to refinish their deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent product, way to go BEHR !!!!
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
The BEHR deck over product worked like a dream, was easy to clean up, and could be tinted to an incredible amount of colors. I bought a 5 gallon pail, and some deck cleaner. this was one of the best purchases I ever made. Thank you BEHR!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great product to spruce up a deck
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
My deck was in need of some help or I would have to replace it, this product made it look new again and was easily applied
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Give your deck the love it needs!
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used Deckover for a long time, in fact, I won't use anything else. I am in the construction field and have tried many different products over the years but nothing compares. From the beautiful colors to the durability, the safety and economic value, there is no other product I would use. My clients rely on me to do a great job that will last. I pride myself on long lasting workmanship. Our decks need love! They have put up with so much from the kids to the BBQ's, the parties and the warm summer nights of just sitting with close friends. Keep your deck happy and it will keep you happy!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Product Ever
Location:Missouri
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I have used this product on three different occasions now. This is the best product I have ever used. I used it on two different decks. One about 20 years old and one about 40 years old. The attached picture is of the 40 year old deck it looks great! You can now go bare foot and not get splinters in your feet. Best Ever.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Stain
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 13, 2015
I used Behr Deckover Stain and it turned my old worn out deck boards into finshed deck boards that will give me a few more years out of this deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
So far so good...
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 12, 2015
Our deck is about 13 years old. The deck stains I tried looked good at first but barely lasted a year before needing to be re-applied. Last July we decided to try the Behr Deckover product after seeing a demo at Home Depot. It was a long and arduous process. First I used the recommended Behr stripper to remove the remnants of stain left from the previous summer. Then I used the recommended deck wash per the Behr instructions. After a few minor repairs, replacing warped or broken deck boards, I was finally ready to apply the Deckover. After applying two coats I was delighted with the appearance. It made my old deck look new again. Now after nearly a year it still looks great. Well worth the work I think. No sign of peeling or any other problems. Hopefully I'll be able to enjoy it for several more years before it needs to be redone.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>