Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.587 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (479 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
80
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
126
3.6
 out of 
5
324 out of 47968%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2015
Used this to paint our front porch and concrete steps last summer and it looks great. Holds up well with bad weather, seals the wood and concrete great. Hides cracks and small holes well too. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+19points
27out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
35out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+22points
29out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+64points
96out of 128found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+35points
57out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Coverage on Deck
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 5, 2015
DeckOver was great for my older deck. It covered the cracks completely.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nice renewal product
Location:New Hampshire
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 1, 2015
Our deck is thirty years old and we were looking for something to spiff it up with. There was a great deal of prep work, but it was worth it. The deck looks great and appears so far to be able to take the wear and tear from the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr's product's continues excellence
Location:New Mexico
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 21, 2015
I had a concrete back porch that had become exceedingly filthy over the years and power washing just wasn't getting it clean any longer. After I had such good experience with Behr stains and paints, and the DeckOver commercial was very interesting, I gave it a try. What I found is captured in one word - WOW! The only problem was that I used the brochure to calculate the coverage, went to the store to have them mix the color - then when I went to apply the paint - I found that the coverage on the can was greater than the brochure and I ended up getting one too many cans. The coverages need to agree with each other!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Coverage
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 18, 2015
One coat was all it took - dried quickly and resulted in a matt non slip surface - covered old paint color and exposed wood brilliantly
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Dect Product I Ever Used
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 18, 2015
This is by far the best product I have ever used for my very large deck - The product used was DeckOver and it took an older deck and made it look absolutely GREAT. It took 47 hours to complete but was worth every minute and was fairly easy to apply after the first hour or so of application. The second coat really gave the deck a great look and have told several people already how it looks and 2 of them have been over to see the results and where very pleased with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
will never use other's products again
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 17, 2015
lasts the longest of all the other brands I tried.. lasted over 5 yrs. satisfied customer forever. an excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Paint
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2015
Home Depot should be proud to carry such a product as Behr's Deck-over Paint. We were redoing a large deck. The paint was true to the color sample. The coverage was excellent and was easy to apply using a 6 inch roller brush. We were well pleased with the results. The refund you provided on our 6 gallons of paint was used today at Home Depot on more building supplies. It just goes to show when you do business with good people and reliable companies, everyone wins!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Works great
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2015
Just bought a house with an obviously neglected deck. This product covered very well with just one coat . I do not have to worry about any splinters if I go out on the deck with bare feet.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
awesome looking porch
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
Loved the product. It did a beautiful job; color is fantastic. Paint is thick and dries fast. Awesome job Painted my front porch still have to work on back porch
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: porch; ramp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the coverage
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
It is a great product for decks that might need replacing in a few years. It will extend the deck's life so you don't have to spend an exorbitant amount on a new deck. The price of doing the Behr Deckover, as compared to replacing the whole deck, makes the labor to do the Deckover well worth it. Plus, your deck looks just beautiful afterwards.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy to use, prep is key
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
This product withstands our oceanfront conditions providing great coverage on our wooden deck. We power washed, let dry thoroughly, and painted! It is quite thick, take your time with coverage. We're very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Purchase
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
We purchased and used Behr DeckOver on our first deck. It covered beautifully. It takes longer to put on but it is well worth it. The front steps came out beautiful! The product was recommended to us by family and we saw their results first hand and were very impressed and had to do it to our deck..All the many stain jobs do not compare to the way that Behr DeckOver covers. I would highly recommend this product to all my family and friends.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
excellent quality
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
Great looking storage shed with this product it made a big difference.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: storage shed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
fantastic product
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 15, 2015
I built my very large deck in 1986 when they were just coming out with treated lumber. I was considering tearing it down and rebuilding due to the cracking surface .cost approx $12,000. I saw the commercial on TV showing barefoot dancing and said if thats true it would save me a lot of money .I bought a 5 gallon bucket and I must say I was amazed.It works as advertised .I live on a lake and do a lot of entertaining .We are now able to walk barefoot and even dance on our old deck .
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 Next >>>