Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.552 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (522 reviews)
5 stars
253
4 stars
87
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
142
3.6
 out of 
5
349 out of 52267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! Transformed my deck...
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2016
Lots of color choices, easy prep, fills cracks and divots nicely, spreads well, drys quickly, and my bare feet love it! The deck is 20-years-old and has been treated well but has aged nonetheless. This stuff has transformed my deck! Did I mention how easily it rinses out of paintbrushes? Wish I'd used it years ago.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr DeckOver
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
We have used every deck stain/paint there is for the last 20 years. Last year we used Deckover and it was the first one we have been happy with. This is the second winter, and the deck looks like it did right after we applied Deckover. No chips, no fading, we love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom
+24points
30out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great coverage, lasts really well
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I was a little hesitant due to a couple negative reviews I had read, but the Home Depot paint pro told me that he really recommended it, but that it was very important to follow the instructions and make sure you pay attention to the weather forecast to avoid the rain. I stripped a pretty good sized deck and used the Behr prep that was recommended. We did 2 coats on a 10 year old deck 2 1/2 years ago and it's not peeled or lifted or faded. I have one small wear spot on one the steps and that's it! Highly, highly recommend using this product
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom, laundry room
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product! Easy to Use!
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
Best deck paint I have ever used. Very easy to use and I hate to paint. It has been a year and still holding up great!. Deck still looks new. Deck boards were very worn looking and this product sealed the cracks like new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2015
Used this to paint our front porch and concrete steps last summer and it looks great. Holds up well with bad weather, seals the wood and concrete great. Hides cracks and small holes well too. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+19points
30out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
38out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+23points
30out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+65points
97out of 129found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+36points
58out of 80found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR DECKOVER
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 19, 2016
At first I didn't realize how thick it went on but after it was great, it filled in all the cracks in my deck. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old Treated Deck
Location:California
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Simply an outstanding product. Made my 1982 treated deck look new again. This home deck in located in S E Michigan.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
This product is AMAZING!
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Completely covered every crack in our deck! We have already started planning additions so we can use it again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Old deck refinish
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 3, 2016
I bought a home 2 years ago and the deck was old and starting to rot. I used a pressure washer with wood cleaner in the tank to clean the old wood. I applied 2 coats of Behr deck over to the wood and it has lasted the whole time. It held up to two active dogs, a family of 4 and several parties. We spend a lot of time on our deck and it gets a lot of direct sunlight, hard summer rain and winter snow. I am very satisfied with the durability and ease of application of Behr deck over paint. I would highly recommend this product as a way to refurb old deck wood.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deck
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the results
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 21, 2016
One month after applying and I am so in love with my deck. We just purchased our home a few months prior and the deck needed a lot of help. No extra money to replace it and Behr textured Deckover has transformed the old deck. Hoping to get another few years out of the deck before it needs a re-haul.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great results on a HUGE deck
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 11, 2016
Our deck, 18 years old, runs around the entire length of our house on the south and southwest sides. The southwest portion is shaded during the afternoon, so mold and algae have always been problematic. Two summers ago ago we decided to cover the original deck and railing stain with DeckOver. To be honest, we were concerned about the considerable difference in the reviews we read; some positive, but many negative. Many of the positive reviews stressed proper prep. And I'm sure all the back breaking, muscle building sweat equity I invested had much to do with our total satisfaction with the outcome. Let me tell you. I scrubbed every square foot of our 700 sq. ft. deck according to Behr's directions, with Behr deck cleaner. We also had to be very patient and careful to apply the DeckOver when the deck was completely dry. Which was not at all easy during summer here in south central Michigan. I waited a full 48 hours after any precipitation AND always was careful to apply the product when the deck was not bathed in any direct sunlight. So... I was basically a slave to my deck the entire summer, waiting for optimum windows to complete the work! Anyway, I whole heartedly recommend DeckOver to anyone who's willing to do exactly what's necessary, based on your deck's condition and environment, to get the job done. Our deck and railings are gorgeous. I will say that there are probably 6 to 10 very tiny spots that have chipped and will need to be touched up, which I'll tackle this spring or summer. Oh, by the way, I used a heavier nap roller than Behr's website and literature recommends. And I was pretty generous with my application.... both coats. Overall, we're more than satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck and
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Favorite
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Love The finish and the feel of it!!! Grand stuff this Behr Premium deckover!!! My deck looks fabulous and stands out just the right amount!! Everything --Furniture, plants , and back of house blend into perfection!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
very good product
Location:Nevada
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I used the DeckOver on a redwood deck about 25 years old. It was in need of lots of help. I do recommend using the Behr
cleaner with a power washer. The one step that I didn't use it on the adherence wasn't as good I got a little flaking off there. Definitely recommend it with proper preparation of the surface.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Deck Protection
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
I have five different decks plus a dock made of wood and all are 15 Yrs. old. Each has been coated at least five times with Behr stains, finishes or solid stain. Using Deckover solid color will prove the cheapest in the long run due to it's durability even in the face of more time and effort to apply. I am 75 yrs. old and may never have to coat my decks again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deckover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck Steps
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 10, 2016
Behr Deckover is a wonderful product for a couple reasons. One, the stain spreads and covers with ease as you would expect from standard deck finishes and two, the gritty texture the material possesses creates a virtually slip free surface. I used Deckover on both sets of my deck steps. Living in SE Pennsylvania, we get quite a bit of rain and snow throughout the winter and I must say the finish on the steps yields an extremely safe surface in the worst conditions. I would certainly recommend Deckover to anyone who desires a slip free surface with ease of application.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 Next >>>