Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®

Bring new life to old wood and concrete surfaces with BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER. This 100% acrylic formula conceals cracks and splinters up to 1/4", and creates a smooth, slip-resistant finish that also resists cracking and peeling. It's available in 54 solid custom colors, and is also great for decks, railings, patios, composite decks, pool decks and walkways.

Average Customer Rating:
3.435 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (294 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
47
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
87
3.4
 out of 
5
186 out of 29463%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very nice fix for an aging deck
Wrightbabies
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 15, 2014
We are very happy with the product and the ease of application. We are a bit dissapointed that the color was lighter than we had planned so I would recommend one shade darker
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent if Properly Applied
DeckWizard
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
We have "Made Beautiful" 16 Decks so far this season. BEHR products perform as advertised, so long as ALL steps are followed. Every Client who previously used Deckover with poor results did NOT do so. We use BEHR Stripper, Deck Wash, DeckOver and BEHR Stain with all
our Clients, and will return in one year for an Inspection. Thus we have placed our reputation on BEHR products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decks
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
21out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Amazing product!!!
Deemick
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
Our deck at our beach house was never treated by the previous owners, went to Home Depot and saw the product being demostrated so decided to purchase it. Our deck looks brand new. I have been telling everyone about this product.... We liked it so much, that we have decided to do over our front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck over
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deck makeover
Cooper
Location:Missouri
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 31, 2014
The previous owners of my house painted the deck. Bad thing was that every spring we would have peeling paint. Last summer decided to try Deckover to see if we could get better results. I spent most of the summer scraping, stripping and cleaning the deck surface as per the instructions. All the work definitely paid off. I painted the Deckover on the deck and it was an easy process. The deck looked great! We have now been through a harsh Midwest winter and the deck looks amazing! No peeling and looks as great as it did right after I finished it last year. Highly recommend this product but remember the prep-work is the time consuming part (and the most important.)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+56points
87out of 118found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Deckover is Awesome
Jambox
Location:Washington
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 24, 2014
I used this product last year after my last deck staining project failed miserably.
I prepped my deck according to the instructions and applied. I loved the texture of the finished product. My deck has held up beautifully since the application. I have a lot of pet traffic and they haven't been able to damage the finish.
This product is great and I would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+27points
48out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
First-rate product
Prairiedog
Location:Wyoming
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2014
When I was ready to refinish my deck this summer, I decided to use Behr's Premium Deck-over as the finish. I had never used this product before, but I have used Behr paint and stains in the past with great results, so choosing this finish was a simple choice. Although it's only been on for four months, I have no doubt that I'll get great wear out of it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Product!
Jeff65
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2014
I work as a professional painting contractor and used this product on a front entry deck/concrete foundation last year and it has performed very well! I had never used Deck Over before this project and it was recommended by my customer, so I decided to give it a try. It worked so well that I am going to use it on my home next spring.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Purchase so far
diamondlil
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 12, 2014
We have had nothing but problems with our deck, having had one person talk us into one type of product, then another with totally different advice. I purchased the Behr Deckover, then hired a painter to do the work (We have a very large deck - over 800 sq. ft.) We had it done this summer, and so far the deck is looking great. If it looks this good by spring I'll be thrilled. I would definitely recommend at this point.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
FREE THY FEET
Happie
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 11, 2014
Although we have not yet experienced our "chicago" winter my family and I agree this product was as stated-easy to apply, dries quickly and looks amazing! I just wish I had taken before and after pics. It goes on smooth and easily leaving a lovely finish. As usual you will discover a vast color selection for the most discriminating eye. The fact that Behr colors have remained rich and full-bodied throughout the years is why I consistantly turn to Behr for my decorating needs. Our selection was the terra cotta hued color of Redwood natural tone. Well turns out it matches our deck pots! It is so vibrant and naturally pleasing to the eye. Now lets talk texture. It is so luxurious under foot. No more offense to the souls of your feet and toes and I did say souls not soles! It is so darn comfortable it BEGS that one removes their shoes. It DEMANDS that your feet be free! There is no fear of slippage even when the deck is drenched as I water our many plants and tree. And no splinters again due to fantastic coverage. Fantastic-you just have to see for yourself!
I love this product. Yes I would do it all over again for our 25 x 25 ft deck with seating--- even if it doesn't stand up to the "windy city" winter. I think that says a lot-says it all. It is worth our time and money. We have NO regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Cure to a fatality ill deck.
NiteMoves
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 9, 2014
This stuff is the cure for bad curb appeal. If you have an old deck and are short on funds for a new one Deck Over will give you a few more years out of your old one, it doesn't solve structural issues just cosmetic ones. Not a lot of coverage out of a 5 gallon bucket because this stuff goes on thick like driveway sealant. Save yourself some money and only apply Deck Over to horizontal surfaces you can get Behhr exterior paint for railings. Also it took about 3 days to prep and paint my
300 Sq.Ft deck. But it looks great my neighbor is jealous. What more can you ask.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
MAEMAW
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 7, 2014
OUR DECK WAS ALWAYS DARK AND DREARY FROM THE WEATHER AND PRESSURE WASHING ONLY LASTED A SHORT TIME. DECKOVER IS GREAT AND MAKES OUR DECK LOOK FRESH AND NEW.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, deckover
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Transforming
Bajajo
Location:Wyoming
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
DeckOver transformed our tired washed out deck. Looks better than new! Went on easily, just followed the directions on the can, couldn't be easier.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best product and application ever
Clem
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
Cleaning wood deck with ALL-IN-ONE WOOD CLEANER made this job much easier. Applying DECKOVER with a brush for the 1ST. coat was tedious then quickly learned this was necessary for filling cracks, splinters and corners. Drying time is short, the second coat applied with a roller went much quicker. Walking on the completed deck seems softer, especially bare foot with no fear of splinter or slippery when wet. All debris is easier to remove by broom or power blower.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Covers old deck nicely
Bibo
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
Easy to work with and covers deck nicely.
Used two coats as recommended and results were as expected. :)
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product
sgfrost
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
Bought a 17 year old house that had the original deck. This deck virtually gets no shade and the decking boards were severly checked and cracked. On top of that, my 70 lb dog loves to chase squirrels and was scratching the heck out of the surface.
To buy some time on replacement of the deck, this spring we decided to try Deck Over and very glad we did. It filled over most of the surface cracks and checks but most af all, it is holding up quite well under the dogs frequent bolting off after the elusive squirrel!
We are going into the 7th month after application with no noticable dog scratches and surface cracks still filled in.
Great product in my opinion
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My Front Porch...
ItsKJH
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
I Used this Product on My Front Porch that is Concrete and Had No Problems What So Ever...Coverage was Great and So Far 6 months Later the Wear And Tear is Non Existent...LOVE IT
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
use of deck over
Jerseyguy
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2014
I have 2 very large decks made of pressure treated 2x6 boards that are about 30 years old and weather-beaten. I took up the boards, turned them over, renailed them, cleaned them with Behr wood cleaned and applied 2 coats of Deck Over. I origionally thought I would have to replace the decks, but now they look like new.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wooden deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Paint Perfect Repair
rdoyen
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 4, 2014
My mothers deck was in terrible disrepair, just about to the point of needing to be replaced. However, with Behr Deck paint there was no need for that type of expense. Thank you Behr for creating a premium quality product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Swingset Looks Brand New
Laurachicago
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 4, 2014
We used this product to stain our swing set which is on the west side of the house. The wood looks brand new now! Its been about 3 months since we stained and its holding up very well!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER®
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Saved our deck
REWood
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 4, 2014
We put our deck in in 1994 and it has had every type of coverage on it you can imagine but nothing stayed or worked for very long. Being that it has endured many a winter and hot sun in the Northeast I was thinking it may be time to replace the deck. This deck is the length of my house, roughly 55 feet and about 15 feet deep WITH a 20 foot gazebo attached. That would have been very big money to replace. I almost went with the competitor but took a look at DeckOver and figured I would try it. It was only able to receive one coat last year but the difference is amazing. Besides a spot or two I expected wear to expose the wood it has held through a terrible winter and a very sunny summer. I have put another coat on this summer and doubled up on the spots and it is amazing. I recommend it to everyone I know. Now I look forward to using other products in my house this winter. I am a Behr person and now only more so.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>