Behr Ratings and Reviews

Learn More
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer

Enhance your wood's natural patterns while providing increased protection from the elements. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and sun's harmful UV rays, for up to 6 yrs. on decks and up to 8 yrs. on fences & siding. It's available in 60 custom colors to help you create a look that's as beautiful as it is durable.

Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
4.3
 out of 
5
45 out of 5287%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great staining product
cmannon
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 29, 2014
We used this on our outdoor deck a few years ago and it is still going strong. I doubt if we will ever use another brand, Behr is the best.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
deck stain
Masterhanso
Location:Mississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2014
I was staining a one year old deck that had just finished curing. the stain went on great and covered perfectly. the color and finish were exactly the way I wanted it to look.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the color!
HandyWomanNY
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 17, 2014
Just love the color of my deck. Product was easy to use and I am looking forward to not staining my deck next year! Was very time consuming for one person - next time I will have my kids help me. I purchased the transparent by mistake, and it turned out well. I love seeing the wood grain come through the stain.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great STAIN
grandparents
Location:Washington
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 14, 2014
went on with ease and clean up went just as fast, but the best part was that IT looks LIKE pro's did the job when we finished.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Siding
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent Coverage
Rover
Location:Yukon
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Provided excellent coverage on my weathered wood fencing. Dried quickly and the before and after were amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Beautifull finish, seems very durable
wing452
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2014
Brushes easy on, covers good, bur expensive and tough to wash off.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
good coverage but....
busy
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 13, 2014
Seems like it doesn't really absorb into the wood. I purchased this stain in a purple tint for a picnic table, stained the top, waited 5 days then turned the table over on a piece of plywood to stain the bottom, when I turned it back over a few spots on the top looked worn off. Granted I should have done the bottom first, but I was surprised it wore off in spots.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, picnic table
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great product
rockymountainsly
Location:Colorado
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I had been looking for a deep wine color and not many stain manufacturer have one. The bordeaux color is perfect and one coat was more than enough!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Cedar Natural Tone
Marly
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 25, 2014
Love this product. We've been using it for years. Lasts about 4 to 5 years. We live in a hot sunny climate so it really puts it to the test. Would recommend it highly.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great stain - great product
gadm
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 24, 2014
My Dad was a professional painter. He always used Behr and made sure we did too. We used this on our new fence. Nice coverage - good color.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
New Deck
Photomama
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 21, 2014
I have bought this product to stain and seal my new deck - It has been applied for about 1 month - looks great. Only thing I need to do is find a product to help so the deck is not so slick after getting out of the pool.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Incredably beauttiful
BRITISHCARGUY
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 21, 2014
First off, I read the other reviews and cannot understand how those people came up with the negative results.
I was working out at the YMCA and discussed my project with a person who used the product. He was very complementry. My deck is treated lumber. We purchased our house two years ago. The sellers had the deck pressure washed. Last summer (2013) I borrowed my neighbors pressure washer and executed the process. Then after drying I applied the clear stain as recommended. The results were beautiful. I applied a second lighter coat to areas that needed touch ups and over all with the remaining stain.
Now that it has been applied through a severe Winter and a very hot Spring, it looks simply great. I might apply a light coat at the end of Summer. I definitely do not need to power wash it again. The texture and the wood grains show just as we hoped. We do not like the solid stain. We wanted the natural wood look.
I can't speak for those peole who experienced peeling. But, I suggest they review their application and determine if they made the correct product selection.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Buyer Beware!
LuckyD
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 10, 2014
I purchased the BEHR semi-transparent All-in-One wood stain and weatherproofing Cordovan Brown ST104. I also purchases the All-in-One wood cleaner which I used prior to application. I applied the product in the Fall of 2013 as per instructions. The following Spring the whole deck stain completely peeled off. I would not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer.
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Absolute garbage!
1134
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 4, 2014
Used this stuff on some projects over two weeks ago and it is still sticky. Wouldn't recommend using it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
LOVE this product!
Bexter
Location:Oregon
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 29, 2014
We have always used Behr stains in recent years and have been more than happy with the results. The color is outstanding and the weatherproofing lasts for years. Before we found Behr, we had used another product and it was a waste of time and money. We made upgrades to our lattice-topped cedar fence last summer and used Behr to finish it off and it still looks incredible. The color has not faded one bit and I'm sure it won't for years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, fence
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome stain
tpergo1
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 25, 2014
Purchased this last summer to stain my deck, which was in rough shape. Covered great with just one coat and made it look like new. After a very rough winter, deck is still in great shape and still looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
like new
marlene607
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 21, 2014
We purchased a home that was empty. the front and back porch wood floor was showing signs of wear and neglect. After a though cleaning, we put one coat of Behr semi-transparent stain & sealer and were amazed. We used the natural as we didn't want to change the existing color. It has been a year and a half and the porches are still in great condition. Very happy with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen, Living Room
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Siding
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Nice stain, but...
Soindog
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 21, 2014
I was excited because I've used Behr paints and have been very happy. This is a good product, but does not last 6 years. I have used it on benches and deck boxes and it needs to be applied at best every other year, if not every year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Results
mgermman
Location:Connecticut
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
This stain has great coverage. Finished project looked great
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: enclosed front porch
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
Looks good but doesn't hold up as I would like
WestMichigan
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
We stained our deck last fall and it looked really nice when we were done. This winter we had a lot of snow and after lots of shoveling the steps the stain has come off in many places. I know shoveling is hard on it, but it didn't hold up like I had hoped. Maybe my expectations were too high but I would like to see it hold up a little better. The areas where I didn't shovel held up fine and they still look good.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>