Behr Ratings and Reviews

Learn More
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer

Enhance your wood's natural patterns while providing increased protection from the elements. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and sun's harmful UV rays, for up to 6 yrs. on decks and up to 8 yrs. on fences & siding. It's available in 60 custom colors to help you create a look that's as beautiful as it is durable.

Average Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
4.5
 out of 
5
76 out of 8688%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Pergola Stain
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Great coverage and color. Easy to apply and holds up well. My yard gets the heat of the day from noon on. Have gotten many compliments.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
New Deck
Location:Connecticut
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
Used Behr Premium to stain our new deck. It went on very easily and held its color extremely well as it dried. We were able to complete the 260 sq. ft. deck plus stairs with one gallon of stain.
The deck looks beautiful.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best ...so far
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
I used the Weatherproofing on our small deck last year and it still looks great...fingers crossed as I now will be using on our 600 suqare foot deck this year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great product for fencing
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2016
After looking at all the options for a waterproofing product for my wooden fence I decided on Behr. Mainly, because I have had such great luck with the interior and exterior paints that I used so far. It applied easily, gave a nice color/look to fencing after applied and repelled the water well when I tested.
Behr paints/stains
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Very surprised at the finish
Location:Florida
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 9, 2016
It wasn't what I originally had wanted to use, but I'm glad I did. What a finish! Leaves the natural look of the wood and also gives it the tone that I wanted. More importantly, seals the wood for years as I live in a very hot and humid climate (Miami,FL). Not only am I pleased with this product, but my neighbors continue to compliment the finished look of the fence. I'm on a corner lot so everyone that drives by enjoys the look of my new fence. Thank Behr for providing us with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Kitchen chairs redone
Location:Mississippi
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 8, 2016
Ended up putting just 2 coats on our kitchen chairs. Chairs were solid oak but very 1990's. We used the all in one to give it some protection from our three sons. Works great! Looks awesome! And easy to use. Just scuffed the chairs and they took the stain well. No complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Kitchen
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best value for staining a fence
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 16, 2016
We are staining our fence and are pleased with the color. It is also easy to apply and offers protection from the elements.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 12, 2016
Love my deck and Behr's Semi-Transparent Wood Stain & Sealer color selection!
Lots of sun exposure so I have to stain every other year - but this year is a "skip" year! Yay!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Consistent
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 11, 2016
BEHR continues to offer top notch products across the board and this is no exception. Looks great and easy to apply.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: decking
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
4 Months later, wood is absorbing water
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I applied this on my deck, about 25 years old. The deck was previously coated with a waterproofing product from a different manufacturer. I saw the advertisements for Behr having longer durability than others, and I decided to give it a try. 4 months later, rain water is not beading, but appears to be soaking into the wood. I used it according to instructions, the old clear waterproofing product was off, and no water was beading on the deck. Applied two coats of this product, used just about as much as is suggested based on the square footage for my deck, so I assume the thickness of the application was was at least in the right ballpark. I should add that the deck is barely used. We use our screened in porch, and the deck is next to it, but I only go out there to use the grill, even though that part of the deck is quite large. I think the color of the product is amazing - the deck looks spectacular. The only thing is that it doesn't appear to be 'weather proofing' the wood.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Good Stuff...
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 21, 2015
I painted my rear deck with the all in one stain around march of 2014, and it still looks like I painted it yesterday. ( October 2015 ) And it only took one coat. I live near Boston and the winter was extreme... Even the high traffic areas are unblemished. Go Behr.....
I would recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
A Few Problems
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
1. Stain color did not match website's, by a lot.
2. Semi-transparent was closer to solid. Could not see texture
3. Bought 2X too much because usage was overstated and cannot return unused stain.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 27, 2015
I used this product commercially for 4 years and had not one complaint. I always took pride in knowing the deck/porch would turn out great!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom, Office-Library
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone, Shutters
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Most Beautiful Fence in my entire subdivision!!!
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 23, 2015
I am an older single lady and wanted my fence to be a specific color to match my home accents. The Bordeaux Solid Color Exterior Wood Stain & Finishes is absolutely the BEST!! The paint went on well and with the help of my church I was able to finish this job and everyone loves the look and color. I believe my fence is the richest and best fence around. I am sure that even with the weather that my fence will look lovely long after I am gone from this life and I thank you for this. Quality is hard to find in paint _ Believe me! Thank-You Everyone at BEHR. Beverly Tremayne
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! Best stain I have ever used!
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2015
We just built a new deck from pressure treated pine lumber. I have used Behr paint products for many years & they are excellent so I decided to try this stain. It is just like the paint - excellent. The application was very easy, cleanup also easy and the end result was beautiful! Over many years I used other stains that were supposed to be "the best" but there is no comparison to this Behr stain. One coat and it looked great and protected it from a rain. Two coats and it is simply beautiful and I feel my new deck is really protected for several years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Perfect stain
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 17, 2015
Very perfect stain. My fence looks great now. Very proud to show off my fence that I built.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent!
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2015
LOVE THIS STAIN! Beautiful on deck, perfect color!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: deck
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
No matter what, you have to prep
Location:British Columbia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 2, 2015
I used this product last year on a chicken pen and got lazy since it was new wood and didn't prep with the Behr wood cleaner. Well it peeled. On the quail pen that I did prep (I did that one first) no problems. Even with the urates from the droppings. So yeah. prep prep prep, it will save you time in the long run.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: poutry housing
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Top of the line stain
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
Great color options, easy to apply, lasts a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
peeling
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
Did my deck with Behrs semi-transparent premicm stain last spring. I cleaned the deck as specified and applied with a pad The Behr sales rep was at Home Depot and he actually put what I need in the cart. This spring I noticed peeling at numerous spots. What makes it worse was that it was recommended by consumer Reports.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+10points
21out of 32found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>