Behr Ratings and Reviews

Learn More
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer

Enhance your wood's natural patterns while providing increased protection from the elements. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and sun's harmful UV rays, for up to 6 yrs. on decks and up to 8 yrs. on fences & siding. It's available in 60 custom colors to help you create a look that's as beautiful as it is durable.

Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
4.4
 out of 
5
67 out of 7787%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
4 Months later, wood is absorbing water
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
I applied this on my deck, about 25 years old. The deck was previously coated with a waterproofing product from a different manufacturer. I saw the advertisements for Behr having longer durability than others, and I decided to give it a try. 4 months later, rain water is not beading, but appears to be soaking into the wood. I used it according to instructions, the old clear waterproofing product was off, and no water was beading on the deck. Applied two coats of this product, used just about as much as is suggested based on the square footage for my deck, so I assume the thickness of the application was was at least in the right ballpark. I should add that the deck is barely used. We use our screened in porch, and the deck is next to it, but I only go out there to use the grill, even though that part of the deck is quite large. I think the color of the product is amazing - the deck looks spectacular. The only thing is that it doesn't appear to be 'weather proofing' the wood.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Good Stuff...
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 21, 2015
I painted my rear deck with the all in one stain around march of 2014, and it still looks like I painted it yesterday. ( October 2015 ) And it only took one coat. I live near Boston and the winter was extreme... Even the high traffic areas are unblemished. Go Behr.....
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
A Few Problems
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 13, 2015
1. Stain color did not match website's, by a lot.
2. Semi-transparent was closer to solid. Could not see texture
3. Bought 2X too much because usage was overstated and cannot return unused stain.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 27, 2015
I used this product commercially for 4 years and had not one complaint. I always took pride in knowing the deck/porch would turn out great!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom, Office-Library
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone, Shutters
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Most Beautiful Fence in my entire subdivision!!!
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 23, 2015
I am an older single lady and wanted my fence to be a specific color to match my home accents. The Bordeaux Solid Color Exterior Wood Stain & Finishes is absolutely the BEST!! The paint went on well and with the help of my church I was able to finish this job and everyone loves the look and color. I believe my fence is the richest and best fence around. I am sure that even with the weather that my fence will look lovely long after I am gone from this life and I thank you for this. Quality is hard to find in paint _ Believe me! Thank-You Everyone at BEHR. Beverly Tremayne
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wow! Best stain I have ever used!
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2015
We just built a new deck from pressure treated pine lumber. I have used Behr paint products for many years & they are excellent so I decided to try this stain. It is just like the paint - excellent. The application was very easy, cleanup also easy and the end result was beautiful! Over many years I used other stains that were supposed to be "the best" but there is no comparison to this Behr stain. One coat and it looked great and protected it from a rain. Two coats and it is simply beautiful and I feel my new deck is really protected for several years.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Perfect stain
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 17, 2015
Very perfect stain. My fence looks great now. Very proud to show off my fence that I built.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent!
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 12, 2015
LOVE THIS STAIN! Beautiful on deck, perfect color!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: deck
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
No matter what, you have to prep
Location:British Columbia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 2, 2015
I used this product last year on a chicken pen and got lazy since it was new wood and didn't prep with the Behr wood cleaner. Well it peeled. On the quail pen that I did prep (I did that one first) no problems. Even with the urates from the droppings. So yeah. prep prep prep, it will save you time in the long run.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: poutry housing
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Top of the line stain
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 7, 2015
Great color options, easy to apply, lasts a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: wood deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
peeling
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 6, 2015
Did my deck with Behrs semi-transparent premicm stain last spring. I cleaned the deck as specified and applied with a pad The Behr sales rep was at Home Depot and he actually put what I need in the cart. This spring I noticed peeling at numerous spots. What makes it worse was that it was recommended by consumer Reports.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+10points
19out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love my House
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 28, 2015
My house has a portion that is covered with wood. I love the rustic look that goes along with my wood-grain siding. The Behr semi-transparent color that I chose keeps the wood colored to perfection. Thanks for a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
I love this stuff
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
I built a new horizontal board fence and wanted to provide the most protection AND get my choice of color. This product fit the requirements perfectly. Easy application with a brush for the first coat and even more so for the 2nd coat. Coverage estimate was very accurate.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great stain
Location:Indiana
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 17, 2015
Our house was built 28 years ago. We have used many different brands of waterproofing, stain, wood preserver. They only lasted 1 year but we made it last 2. Wood would turn black in areas and bleach out from sun in other's. We always power washed first, which is an awful job to begin with. Just happen to stumble on to Behr Stain and Waterproffing. It has been on 6 years now and going strong! Wish we knew about this product many moons ago. We put it on by brush....so it would soak in better..worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Great Stain. MUST PREPARE CORRECTLY.
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 6, 2015
This is a high product. I could not emphasize enough that in order for ANY stain to last you NEED to do the prep work...i.e. fence washing etc. I just finished 4500 sq feet of fence. It took me 50 gallons of this stain. Expensive ...yes....will it last 10 years......yes. DO THE PREP WORK....IT WILL LAST. (It took me 2 weeks 3 hours a day to do the job) and yes I work full time.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: fence deck
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Pallet wood coffee table use
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 8, 2015
We used this stain (grey) on a coffee table we made out of pallet wood. It looks gorgeous! It is perfectly distressed looking with one coat using a brush and then wiping with a cloth. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Living Room
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Awesome product and great cover!
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 11, 2014
We used this on our front fence and deck. It covered amazing and was a perfect match!! The weather cant touch them! Thanks so much for a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Good investment
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 12, 2014
This stain was Easy to use. Good coverage on all surfaces.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
First Time Use
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 8, 2014
Excellent weatherproofing product. I used on a cedar board-on-board privacy fence with metal posts. Used a Wagner Power Pro Stain Sprayer. Coverage was as advertised. Used a Sable color.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: privacy fence
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Quality product from quality company
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 7, 2014
We decided to stain our cedar fence this year, and after researching different stains, we chose Behr. We wouldn't be happier with our choice. The stain went on smoothly. Great coverage. Price point was on target. Look forward to using more Behr products in the near future!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: cedar fence
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>