Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer

Protect and beautify with BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and the sun’s harmful UV rays, for up to 10 yrs. on decks and up to 25 yrs. on fences and siding. It’s available in more than 1,600 custom colors to help you get just about any look you can imagine.

Average Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
4.7
 out of 
5
41 out of 4493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Beautiful Color and Easy Application
mommydiy
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 9, 2014
I chose the Tugboat solid-color stain from the BEHR Premium Wood Coatings line when I needed to stain my deck.
I’d read a lot online that you have to be really careful with stains because they can leave “lap marks,” but I found that the solid stain color was incredibly forgiving and I didn’t have a problem with it at all. It went on smoothly and dried pretty quickly, leaving the wood a beautiful chocolate-y brown hue.
Within 24 hours, you can start walking on the deck (light traffic only is recommended) and by 72 hours, it’s fully cured. I worked on it a couple hours a day over a few days, working in the morning before it got too hot (and the bugs came out!), and it proved to be a really straightforward DIY project that I was able to complete all on my own.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Still looks great after 6 years!
Bluenoser
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 2, 2014
We had a few areas around our house and shed that needed some trim paint. We put 2 coats on, and were just looking at it today, and it is still in perfect shape, amazing especially after this winter we just had (and are still having).
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Premium Solid Color Wood Stain
bernief
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 28, 2014
I've been using this product for a number of years, including within the past two weeks. Have always found it to be easily applied with a brush or spray (without diluting). Easily covers most colors or bare wood (but have used two coats when spraying).
Color lasts and doesn't seem to fade.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Siding
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Transform old deck boards.
Roundhousedog
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
I opted to replace a few rotted pressure-treated 2x6 deck boards that had splintered and had knots missing and deteriorated and use the Behr Solid Color Wood Stain on the checked and cracked grain of a 600 square foot deck with a 60 sq. ft. attached depot/gazebo. The Behr Terra Cotta went on flawlessly and filled deep within the 30 year old decking. I used several coats on the weathered deck boards until the deck was fully covered with a smooth finish, even using a spatula to bring the uneven and checkered surface of the old wood decking up to a finish that made it look like new. It went on easily like any high grade paint should and covered flawlessly, hiding galvanized screw nails and replacement deck screws making it safe to walk on with bare feet. When the weather will permit, we'll finish the adjoining decks, steps, stairs and handrails with more of the Behr Solid Color Wood Stain for a finish that will last for years to come. As it is adjacent to our backyard railroad and 14' long locomotive turntable, it makes the passenger loading zone look spectacular with its cobble-stone filled right-of-way that received a little sprucing up with the residual terra-cotta stain rinsed from the paint brushes. The water clean up makes this paint easy to use and Behr made the job easy.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Not really as advertised
BeckyE
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 20, 2013
I pressure washed and cleaned the deck just as stated on the directions. The rails still look great, but the deck itself was a complete waste of time and money. After less than a year, most of the stain is gone and it will have to be redone. I'm not happy with this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR Premium Weatherproofing Wood Stain
Palms
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 18, 2013
Used this stain a few weeks ago on my house and garage. It was easy to use, not messy, easy to clean up after, and looks great. So far I am extremely satisfied. I would definitely recommend this product to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Used on 2 decks with awesome results.
Debra
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2013
The decks on my new home were not stained, weatherproofed and taken care of properly. So, after a harsh winter and lots of homework, I bought Behr's premium solid color deck stain and related prep products to refinish both decks. I am so pleased at the results. The stain stood up to heavy rains and hail. Rain beads everytime. No chipping or peeling from hot sun. Our winters can be rough, so the next test is the cold, sleet, snow and snow melt products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Premium solid color Stain
Chilly52
Location:British Columbia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
We used this product to stain our arena/barn. It turned out beautiful. Looks great and very durable. No fading or cracking from the hot sun. The color was exactly like I wanted. I would use this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love this Stain
carhicks
Location:Ontario
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
We used this stain on our fence, picnic table, decorative well and swing. It covered great and am only restaining 3 years later on the well, table and swing. The fence is still holding up and looking great. Covered easily and looks so nice. I recommend to anyone who does not want to restain every year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Used on a Subfloor
levyn87
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
I didn't actually use this outside. I was looking for a cheaper alternative to re-carpeting the floor in my office. I tore up the carpet and painted the subfloor with this. So far it's held up great to a lot of use and it dried nicely.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Terrrible Product
BigFish
Location:North Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 12, 2013
We are contractors that fell into the belief last year that Behr exterior stains would hold up and have a good warranty. Every deck we used this product on, peeled after the first year. EVERY deck. We have a name and reputation on the line and using this product has brought our service into question, even though the year before using Behr, we have had no problems with another stain. The directions on the can we followed, and its interesting to note that they have been changing year to year. Although a refund of the stain is possible, we have been put in a tough position since our customers are looking to us to remedy the problem. Last year I considered spoke with other contractors and homeowners, who have the same issues.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Withstands extremes
CarlaM
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 1, 2013
Coastal Texas weather is usually very hot and sunny. This stands up very nicely and much better than other brands. :)
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
love this product best on the market
DebraA
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 28, 2013
i use this product and this product only it the best ever on the market. i also have all my family and friends buying this for their decks as well. i so would love to win this :)
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
IrwinF
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 26, 2013
Only use Behr paints for our house. Low odor, no drips, true colors, durability, etc. Easy to work with and goes a long way. 10 rooms done and 3 or 4 to go. Behr holds up well year after year. Thank you Behr!
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
LOVE IT
MariaR
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 19, 2013
This is the first time I have used Behr stain, and I was honestly shocked that I could bring a section of some old siding and the Home depot paint department in Jamestown mixed a solid stain and it was perfect. The applications was easy, and when I was done it looked like that vinyl decking, I could not be happier
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
RonnieE
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:January 4, 2013
I have used this stain a couple of times and I am pleased with it. The odor is so much less noticeable than the old type of stains. It sticks to the surface well too.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
pride and satisfaction 5stars
RogerW
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 28, 2012
I purchased 3 gallons of behr premium solid stain and applied stain to my 5 year old deck. i expected good results and the resulting finish exceeded my expectations. Not only did the stain color pop the visual appeal but the deck actually looked new not renewed.Imperfections and naturally occuring flaws in the wood are covered and the finish looks like just applied yesterday. its been four months of constant compliments from famiiy and friends!!! I intend to purchase several more gallons to stain front deck.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Premium Job
Toplegend
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 26, 2012
This product was fun to use when staining the deck. It goes on easily, doesn't smell bad and cleans up with soap and water - it is perfect!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Title
JeffB
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 26, 2012
this product worked great ..deff.use again for my other decks and outside wood .
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love the Behr Wood Stain
Sissy
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 25, 2012
I really like it. Where we moved the dock and porch needed painting badly. So I ask a neighbor what he used on his and he told me Behr Wood Stain. So we went to Home Depot and bought some. Tried it and we have had so many compliments on how good our dock and porch looks. Really made a big difference. Will definitely recommend it and use it again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>