Behr Ratings and Reviews

Learn More
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer

Protect and beautify with BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and the sun’s harmful UV rays, for up to 10 yrs. on decks and up to 25 yrs. on fences and siding. It’s available in more than 1,600 custom colors to help you get just about any look you can imagine.

Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4.7
 out of 
5
51 out of 5593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Waste of time and money
JStan
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 23, 2014
We carefully prepared our deck following Behr's instructions and using Behr products. We applied the solid color weatherproofing all in one wood stain and liked the color that we got custom matched. The huge problem is that after less than one year the stain is peeling off. So much for a 10 year guarantee!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy and Effective
lys123
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 17, 2014
Used this on my shed. Easy, spreads well, dried fairly quickly and looks great. I am very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Solid Stain on a very large cedar garage
Finn
Location:Michigan
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
The garage had been stained with a competitors semi-transparent water stain and it faded and looked horrible after a few short years.
I used a vibrant solid color and the garage looks oustanding. Not only did it cover very well with one coat, but the new stain has a sheen to it. It looks beautiful! I am very pleased with the coverage of this Behr Premium Exterior Stain! I can't wait to stain the house next!!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding, cedar
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
weatherproofing all-in one
ntarr
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 12, 2014
this is a product that will add years of good looks to any wood surface !
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
High traffic Behr product
Daycare
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We operate a preschool and childcare facility. The families of our 122 children make heavy use of the front deck of our office building. (There are 3 buildings all together.)
When it came time to resurface the deck, the only deck stain and sealer brand we considered was BEHR.
This product was easy to use and produces the promised results. The deck has a new life, and we don't need to worry about further deterioration.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great Product
Bmonson
Location:Washington
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
Does exactly what you want it to, covers wood while not looking like paint. Recommend you take the time to do the 2 thin coats; but found one coat looks acceptable on some areas too. EASY clean up is a big plus. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: soffits on house
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent uniform coverage makes wood look new
Bassira
Location:Mississippi
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I used this on our home that has cypress siding. The cypress had faded and was not pretty. The BEHR stain I chose was Cordovan brown. The house looks brand new. I love this product it is easy to use and clean up is easy. Love the results!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Stain Forever....for me!
Behrforlife2014
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
I have been using Behr Stain for the last 20+ years on the exterior of my duplex. I believe it is the very best product on the market. I tell everyone I know just how much I love Behr Stain...easy application, beautiful results and it lasts longer than the "10 Year Warranty"!!!! After 15 years, I have a date with my stain again on July 16-17, 2014. My two teenage daughters and I will be rolling out the Behr Stain again and it will look great. I plan on taking before and after photos of the duplex and sending them to Behr Corporate just because I totally love the Behr Exterior Stains!!!!!.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: outside deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Deck/Fence Stain Available
5StarDeckandFence
Location:Maryland
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 21, 2014
I own a deck and fence company that specializes in cleaning and returning decks and fences to their " like new " appearance. Over the past 12 years of operation, we have experimented with every stain available. For the past 11 years we have used Behr products exclusively. We have had nothing short of 5 star success with Behr. We are the only company in the Frederick, MD area that offers a five year guarantee on our staining jobs and not once have we had a customer call us on the guarantee. Of course we learned a long time ago that the key to our success is prepping the wood prior to staining and one of the products we use is Behrs All in One cleaner/brightener.
Stay with Behr..........You will be glad you did.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
great stain
havecollies
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 20, 2014
stain applies easily, not too thin, and covers well. easy clean-up too, unless you drop a bucket of it like I did! Not sure that it lasts 10 years, but does last very well even if you don't necessarily do the complete surface prep process.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
don't use anything else - this is the one
MountainDYI
Location:Montana
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 20, 2014
When you live at 6,500 ft. elevation, get snow and rain and sun, you find that few stains stand up. After trying any number of so-called premium stains, we tried this. Cautiously, we did some trim. Then a little more. Then the whole house. It lasts, looks fabulous, is great to put on....buy this stuff, it works.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: log and trim
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Beautiful Color and Easy Application
mommydiy
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 9, 2014
I chose the Tugboat solid-color stain from the BEHR Premium Wood Coatings line when I needed to stain my deck.
I’d read a lot online that you have to be really careful with stains because they can leave “lap marks,” but I found that the solid stain color was incredibly forgiving and I didn’t have a problem with it at all. It went on smoothly and dried pretty quickly, leaving the wood a beautiful chocolate-y brown hue.
Within 24 hours, you can start walking on the deck (light traffic only is recommended) and by 72 hours, it’s fully cured. I worked on it a couple hours a day over a few days, working in the morning before it got too hot (and the bugs came out!), and it proved to be a really straightforward DIY project that I was able to complete all on my own.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Still looks great after 6 years!
Bluenoser
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 2, 2014
We had a few areas around our house and shed that needed some trim paint. We put 2 coats on, and were just looking at it today, and it is still in perfect shape, amazing especially after this winter we just had (and are still having).
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom, Living Room, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Premium Solid Color Wood Stain
bernief
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 28, 2014
I've been using this product for a number of years, including within the past two weeks. Have always found it to be easily applied with a brush or spray (without diluting). Easily covers most colors or bare wood (but have used two coats when spraying).
Color lasts and doesn't seem to fade.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bedroom, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Siding
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Transform old deck boards.
Roundhousedog
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
I opted to replace a few rotted pressure-treated 2x6 deck boards that had splintered and had knots missing and deteriorated and use the Behr Solid Color Wood Stain on the checked and cracked grain of a 600 square foot deck with a 60 sq. ft. attached depot/gazebo. The Behr Terra Cotta went on flawlessly and filled deep within the 30 year old decking. I used several coats on the weathered deck boards until the deck was fully covered with a smooth finish, even using a spatula to bring the uneven and checkered surface of the old wood decking up to a finish that made it look like new. It went on easily like any high grade paint should and covered flawlessly, hiding galvanized screw nails and replacement deck screws making it safe to walk on with bare feet. When the weather will permit, we'll finish the adjoining decks, steps, stairs and handrails with more of the Behr Solid Color Wood Stain for a finish that will last for years to come. As it is adjacent to our backyard railroad and 14' long locomotive turntable, it makes the passenger loading zone look spectacular with its cobble-stone filled right-of-way that received a little sprucing up with the residual terra-cotta stain rinsed from the paint brushes. The water clean up makes this paint easy to use and Behr made the job easy.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Not really as advertised
BeckyE
Location:Georgia
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 20, 2013
I pressure washed and cleaned the deck just as stated on the directions. The rails still look great, but the deck itself was a complete waste of time and money. After less than a year, most of the stain is gone and it will have to be redone. I'm not happy with this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR Premium Weatherproofing Wood Stain
Palms
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 18, 2013
Used this stain a few weeks ago on my house and garage. It was easy to use, not messy, easy to clean up after, and looks great. So far I am extremely satisfied. I would definitely recommend this product to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Used on 2 decks with awesome results.
Debra
Location:New York
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2013
The decks on my new home were not stained, weatherproofed and taken care of properly. So, after a harsh winter and lots of homework, I bought Behr's premium solid color deck stain and related prep products to refinish both decks. I am so pleased at the results. The stain stood up to heavy rains and hail. Rain beads everytime. No chipping or peeling from hot sun. Our winters can be rough, so the next test is the cold, sleet, snow and snow melt products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Behr Premium solid color Stain
Chilly52
Location:British Columbia
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
We used this product to stain our arena/barn. It turned out beautiful. Looks great and very durable. No fading or cracking from the hot sun. The color was exactly like I wanted. I would use this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love this Stain
carhicks
Location:Ontario
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
We used this stain on our fence, picnic table, decorative well and swing. It covered great and am only restaining 3 years later on the well, table and swing. The fence is still holding up and looking great. Covered easily and looks so nice. I recommend to anyone who does not want to restain every year.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>