Behr Ratings and Reviews

Learn More
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer

Protect and beautify with BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer. This 100% acrylic formula seals out the elements, and the sun’s harmful UV rays, for up to 10 yrs. on decks and up to 25 yrs. on fences and siding. It’s available in more than 1,600 custom colors to help you get just about any look you can imagine.

Average Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
9
4.5
 out of 
5
118 out of 13190%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Review 21 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer No. 5011.
Avg. Rating
:
Fair
2 of 5 stars
Still Sticky to Walk On
Location:Ohio
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 20, 2016
I followed every direction and prepping process recommended by Behr. Unfortunately after all my efforts the stain has not totally dried and so now my deck has a tacky feel to it. Behr recommended washing with soap and water after the 72 hour drying period, but that didn't seem to make a difference. Very disappointed in the results.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Easy application, good coverage
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 21, 2016
We are building a pool cabana, and have used the solid stain on all painted surfaces. Painted the ceiling white with two coats, on a thin wooden sheathing material.
The siding is rough cedar, which really benefits from the thin consistency of this product - it flows more easily into the rough texture than a thicker product would. Don't let the thin consistency fool you, this stain provides great color and coverage!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: pool cabana
Exterior Project: Siding, Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wonderful coverage
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 16, 2016
The product covers nicely, I have had it on my fence for almost 12 months and it is holding up much better than anything I have used before.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Kitchen, Bathroom
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone, Outdoor Living
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best stain I have ever used, A+A+
Location:Iowa
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 12, 2016
I have tried stains in the past just to find that in two years or so that the decks would need to be re-stained. I found this product at my local Home depot store and read the reviews that were highly talked about. So I thought I would give it a try. I am very pleased with the results, I don't have pictures to post but WOW I am very pleased at how it turned out. We live in the Midwest and have had snow and cold weather on it and it looks just like it did in the summer when it was applied. I have used interior and exterior paints by Behr and I will not use anything else but there products.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
This deck looks and feels brand new!!
Location:North Dakota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 11, 2016
I have a 20 year old green treated deck that is approximately 1200 sq feet. It was very weathered and faded with tree sap, mildew and age. I first power washed to remove all of the tree sap and mildew. Then sanded a few rough horizontal surfaces. Then replaced a few warped and/or twisted floor planks. I then applied the first and second coats of Behr Premium Solid color stain with a power roller. The results were absolutely amazing! The deck looks practically brand new! Please see the 2 attached pictures. I'm so proud of the results!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 26 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
best brand over many years
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 11, 2016
We have two properties (one in hurricane alley) and miles of deck. This product is easy to apply, minimal cleanup, looks beautiful and, best of all, holds up in extremes of weather conditions.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Par excellent!
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 9, 2016
My husband is a builder of walkways..they are all around our property..and when it comes time to give them a facelift I want something that looks good but stands up to Mother Nature. something Im not re painting all the time. Behr never lets me down. Quality and a mi-rad of colors. There is always something new to tickle my fancy!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best Deck Stain/Sealant Ever!
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:January 23, 2016
I bought this product to refinish my deck after wasting my time using more expensive products out there, which peeled up after one year. I used two brushed-on coats on my deck. Excellent as a sealer. Smoothed out all splintered areas. Smooth finish and water repellant. Looks amazing. I need to look no further for the best....I found it!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Excellent
Location:Illinois
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:November 16, 2015
This stain works great! It goes on so well and stands up to the weather.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
The best our deck has ever looked
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 16, 2015
Covers well, dries smooth and looks great and the price was great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
My deck looks awesome
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 14, 2015
When I purchased my new condo the deck hadn't been painted. I tackled the project using a beautiful gray Behr weatherproofing stain and sealer. The results were even better than I had hoped and it impressed my neighbors who thought I couldn't do it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
A Great Stain!
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 2, 2015
Read the reviews on Behr products and decided to give it a try after using a competitor's product for years . . . no comparison! Behr is superior in all categories - ease of use, coverage, clean-up and price. After using 10 gallons you have a new customer! Thanks for a great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding, Shutters, trim
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Staining a weathered deck
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 22, 2015
I needed to do something with a deck that had minimal maintenance done since the house was built in 2003. It had many cracks and areas where rain water had worn off the stain completely. Overall it was in very sad shape. Some boards were so badly cracked I had them replaced.
My choice for protecting the entire deck was Behr Premium solid color stain because, compared to translucent stains, it would provide the greatest protection and hide color differences between old and new wood, and cover cracks I filled.
I was concerned about all of the negative reviews I read, but came to believe that preparation was probably the difference between success and failure. I followed Behr's recommended steps to remove the old stain, neutralize & brighten, allow the wood to dry and apply stain. I applied 2 coats using a brush to be sure I was covering uniformly and getting between the boards as much as possible. Make no mistake...this is a very time consuming process! In my case it was made worse because part of the deck had been painted, so I needed to remove the paint...no easy task...but Behr provided recommendations.
The result was great! The color, and slight sheen which appeared as a result of the 2nd coat, is beautiful. Now, about a year after applying, the appearance has not noticeably changed. I get many unsolicited compliments from neighbors and visitors. We're in SC, so we do get some freezing, but no snow. We also get intense sun and heat in the summer.
The 2 measures of success for a product like this are appearance and durability. On appearance it's a total success. On durability, we'll see after several years. But, after one year there is no peeling or evidence of any other issues.
Finally, let me say that when I had questions about application, Behr customer service responded quickly and helpfully. As an ordinary consumer, I can say that I am very happy with the result and would recommend the product and the company to others.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 34 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
It transformed a bad looking deck
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 21, 2015
My project was to refinish a deck that was poorly finished with an inferior product. I started with BEHR PREMIUM Wood Stain & Finish Stripper to remove all of the old stain/paint. After removing the old stain I clean the deck with BEHR PREMIUM All-In-One Wood Cleaner. After a little sanding I was ready to stain the deck with BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer. The home owner was very pleased with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
best ever and been using it for over 30 years
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 21, 2015
I would not use any other brand - started using it over 30 years ago for a cedar fence that was 8 feet tall - it took 13 gallons to paint the front and back of the fence. Goes on easy and last as long as the can indicated at that time. The new batch has a longer lasting time and I am now in the process of painting that fence again, plus the front 4 foot fence and have already painted my deck. I love this paint and have recommended to all my friends and Consumer Report rates it high also. Again Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Dining Room, Living Room, Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom, Office-Library
Exterior Project: fence deck
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Love this stain
Location:New York
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 19, 2015
Well, we used it on our addition after installing T1-11 two summers ago and frankly, it looks exactly the same as it did the day we finished painting it on. We put on three coats. (Navajo White custom mix)
We also applied it to three Adirondack chairs I made from pressure treated deck boards this past summer -2015 and they are beautiful.
We used good quality brushes and on the addition used 3/4 nap roller and the same brushes. It applies very smooth and flows from the brush very nice with excellent control. dries fast but not so fast as to ruin the brushes like other coverings/primers I have used. I cannot say enough good things about this stain.
My daughter and son-in-law used this stain on the deck they built around their pool three years ago and it also looks as good as the day they stained. They also used it on their front porch some years ago and it still looks beautiful even with the three large dogs and 5 kids + friends. There has been no chipping or flaking or bubbles. It's held up wonderfully. Not even wear spots on the stairs or under the porch chairs- wooden chairs. This is the reason I protected the exterior of our addition, front porch, and back stairs. I'm confident to recommend BEHR PREMIUM Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer to anyone. Coverage is excellent. Two coats would have been enough but I did three coats. The addition is 16' by 20' and A 5 gallon bucket was enough for that, the trim and three chairs- three coats too, and two coats on a 10 by 12 shed with stain left over! See the pictures.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding, Outdoor Living
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Best I've used
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2015
Coverage on house and fence the best. You can see the water sheet off the surfaces.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding, fence
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
One of the best stains I have used.
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2015
I used a solid white stain on my cottage deck rails and spindles, and a solid taupe stain on my deck. Both turned out very nice. I'm very pleased with finish.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: deck & rails
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Saved my composite deck, WaHoo
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 18, 2015
I have a composite deck that had succumb to extremely punishing weather conditions in the high Rocky Mountains and needed saving or replacement. We had already used BEHR paint for the composite cement siding and wooden stairs and railings with complete satisfaction, it has exceeded all expectations. So we used BEHR Weather Proofing on our deck and it looks better than new and has stood up to the weather (5 feet of snow) and really heavy traffic. Protection you can count on all the time. Happy Cabin because of BEHR.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Siding
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for BEHR PREMIUM® Solid Color Weatherproofing All-In-One Wood Stain & Sealer
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
worst I have ever seen or used
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 3, 2015
I built a new deck and let weather for 1 plus years before applying this product following each step to the t. Within 1 week it began to peel and only got worse from there. Behr kindly {sic} sent e 10 gallons and the wash to redo the project. This did nothing for all the labor to remove this so called 10 year warranty product. Well it looks even worse now and I have countless hours already ivested and many more to go. I would not use this garbage.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
<<< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>