Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint

An exterior, flexible high-build coating designed to expand & contract, bridging hairline cracks in vertical masonry surfaces. This extremely durable, mildew & dirt resistant waterproofing finish has superior elasticity & elongation properties to resist cracking. It withstands 98 mph wind-driven rain. The 100% acrylic latex formula provides a breathable film, releasing moisture that builds in walls. It is available in 90 custom tinted colors and computerized color matching.


Click Here to see available colors.

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4.9
 out of 
5
10 out of 10100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wall to Wall
GaryS
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 11, 2014
We recently had to paint a 400' stucco wall. This masonry paint went on easily and covered well. The job was fast and easy. Great paint.
I would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint No. 68.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Satisfaction Guaranteed
Papo
Location:Connecticut
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 13, 2014
Working on an exterior warehouse which has different surfaces like brick, cinder block and concrete the product perform very well. The Elastomeric finish bridge all different surfaces together nicely, so with the second coat it left a beautiful impenetrable satin finish.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great house paint
Nance
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 30, 2014
Living in Florida the house takes a beating and cracks. This paint is great! No more cracks,no mold,great color,and best of all, we won't have to paint again for a long long long time!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: block
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Exceeded all expectations
newliner
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 30, 2013
We used the Behr Elastomeric masonry to bring some life back to our 130-ish year-old Spanish colonial home. The hardcoat stucco is original and considering its age, in excellent condition. There are no expansion joints on our home, creating a myriad of small stress cracks.
I was instantly impressed after the first roller full. It is thick enough to cover well and filled all of the hair-line cracks. I was fairly diligent in my prep-work but honestly left a few areas that were less than ideal. The coating adhered well to even these areas. It bridged gaps much wider than Behr's specs. It adhered well to several areas where the stucco was undercut to meet metal flashing and metal corbels. The sheen is really ideal for our color selection and has resisted mildew on one side of the house that gets no sunlight.
I have recommended Behr Elastomeric masonry paint to anyone and everyone that has asked. It performed well beyond my expectations!
From my experience, here are a few tips:
-Behr suggests a 1 1/4" nap roller, I found that I had less drip and easier coverage with a 3/4" nap roller.
-For ideal coverage, Behr recommends 2 coats, on nearly every part of our home I used 3 coats. Our stucco is a bit coarse and I was satisfied with the coverage after 3 coats.
-It can be sprayed on but all elastomerics must be back-rolled.
-Buy more than you estimate based on Behr's spread rate. I may have had a thicker coating in the end but I was satisfied with the coverage. I used 40 gallons on our ~4000 sqft home (including two *large* chimneys and several porches). In our area the paint is special-order only through Home Depot, it was a bit stressful when I ran out through our renovation.
-Dry time is relatively quick however it took nearly a week to fully cure/harden. This is especially important if you have horizontal surfaces (we have thick stuccoed porch railings) that you set decorative objects or plants. Do not place any items until the coating has fully cured or you'll have a difficult time removing that potted plant (not that I had that happen, with 6 of them).
- If you do have to special-order the product, make sure your local Home Depot paint dept has employees that can mix it. I ran into a few that had no idea (talking about the mixer has to be reprogrammed or somesuch, complete bull).
Behr has a terrific product and I certainly wouldn't waste my time writing this review if I wasn't impressed. I've easily gone through 150 gallons of various Behr products and have yet to be disappointed. We thank you and this old house thanks you for giving it a bit more life.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone, Stucco
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
BEHR Shrink Wrap ?
Andy
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 15, 2013
It is like putting your house in BEHR Shrink Wrap. I love the BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint. Stucco house not painted in Decades. Prepped house well for Paint and It continues to be fabulous 10 years later. Sealed flaws in Small room Addition cracks and around windows and other outlets. I do NOT believe there is another PAINT Company! Only BEHR! It is the only brand I have confidence in.
Seriously, Andy
I would recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
outstanding application and endurance
gramma
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 6, 2012
Applied 2 coats (27 gallons) on stucco house by brush. A coatings engineer visited while i was painting and she said we were certainly using the correct paint for this climate (Florida) She is one of Allegheny County's ( in Pennsylvania) leading coating engineers.
We are extremely satisfied with the results and how it looks well over 5 years later.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nothing Else Like it!
King
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 19, 2012
This is the second time i have used this product. The first encounter was in an automotive manufacutring facility, and the second was in a private school. After using the product the first time on the concrete block walls for the inside of the factory i was quick to realize this was the right product for the job. After, i also used this product on the inside of a ten stall shower room for the pool area of a private school. Cleanup with the product afterwards is so easy. You can use a corn broom and soapy water in the factory setting or even a pressure washer in the stand up shower area of a changroom for a gym setting.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: Bathroom, change room, factory, hallway
Exterior Project: concrete block
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint.
Avg. Rating
:
Good
4 of 5 stars
Behr Concrete Paint
TinaH
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 5, 2012
Bought this to paint the brick on the bottom of our house, it covered really well and looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
best purchase
nicole
Location:Ontario
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 20, 2012
The paint is very thick, it stays where you apply it, it covers all tiny cracks and it stretches if you have strong winds. This paint was used to cover old stucco walls and the house looks amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Stucco
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Elastomeric Masonry, Stucco & Brick Paint
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Wrong ideas about this product
OrlandoPainter
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 19, 2011
I am a professional painter who has won 12 Angie's List Super Service Awards in Central Florida for "Exterior Painting" . My experience goes back to 1985, but established my own company here in Orlando in 1998.
-There is a lot of talk about elastomeric paint and even pro painters are spreading rumors that are not true !
1.) If you have a house made of block or stucco and you have crack/settling problems - this is the product to use. It will hide small cracks and because it stays flexible you will not get hair cracks again .
2.) The application is to be done by roller and you should use a tinted primer in preparation for using this product.
3.) You should hire a professional who has experience with this application . You can do it yourself- but chances you are doing wrong are high.
4.)You should not use thios product on siding or garage doors (metal or wood). Get regular Behr exterior paint for that purpose -or you might create another problem.
5.) It is NOT sealing in moisture in walls -it lets moisture out.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Brick/Stone, Stucco
+185points
194out of 203found this review helpful.