Behr Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

Get the protective qualities of a durable, weather-resistant stain without sacrificing style when you choose BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain. This 100% acrylic formula is great on both vertical and horizontal surfaces, and our selection of custom colours lets you bring the look of natural stone to any area of your home.


Click Here to see available colours.

Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
4.1
 out of 
5
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain No. 850.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Awesome Results!
luvsshoes
Location:Kansas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 23, 2015
Would definitely recommend this product. First time attempting this with great success after watching numerous you tube videos and the Behr instructional videos. Time consuming but well worth the effort. I used the Behr premixed etcher after thoroughly cleaning an old rough, dirty and grease stained concrete floor. Then proceeded with the Semi-transparent Stain. !st application with color Chickory applied with sprayer in 4x4 sections then rolled with textured roller. 2nd application with color Grotto applied very lightly rolled in various random areas with texture roller just light dipped and excess blotted out. 3rd application with the Chickory again by hand using a textured sponge to darken some areas to my liking. Then applied 3 coats of the Low-Lustre Sealer. Couldn't be more happy with the results for a first time job. Wanted to try this in temporary qrts while we build. Am strongly considering using this in the basement of new construction. So far it is wearing wonderfully!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Nikkit
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:May 14, 2015
This is amazing for basement floors. So beautiful so easy to clean keeps cost down.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
LOVE this concrete stain!
Jack2015
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 25, 2015
Transformed an ugly basement floor into a beauty! I love the new look! Used one of the reviews (Thanks, BellaBee) as a guide, and prepped first, then rag-rolled colors on. Besides using Loden, Warm Shale, and Chicory, I also used Water Stone and Dark Charcoal. It's important to note there are no specks in the paint as the samples show. Applied the Wet-Look Sealer which makes the floor shine and is impervious to scratching. I've slid heavy furniture around, with no scratch marks!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: basement
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great stain for around pool!
KASSY
Location:Texas
Age:45-55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
We wanted to freshen up our plain gray aggregate on our patio. We used Dessert Flagstone and it made it a nice fresh tan color. Really glad we bought!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Great for lanai!
Terry63
Location:Florida
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:April 22, 2015
This stuff is great for re-staining your lanai. The hot Florida sun does a number on exposed surfaces and this product holds up well. This is the 2nd time we have used this and we're happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Storm Shelter Makeover
cherylintexas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:December 4, 2014
We recently bought a house in the country which already had a storm shelter right off the patio in the back yard. It was just a big hunk of concrete and not cost effective to move. Being surrounded by pastures, we still wanted to keep it, so decided to make it a focal point. You never know when you might need to jump down into one of those! We will add perennials and herbs around it as well and make a rock garden go across the top and into the yard. I'm sure this will be long term project but at least it has a good start with color on the concrete.
I used the BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain in different colors and brushed onto the concrete making a random pattern. This way, it softened the appearance of the shelter and I figured, why not add a tornado to the door too! The stain went on easily with a brush and clean up was simple. The door was metal so it took a few more coats to get the finish to show through.
It was nice to be able to use a concrete stain in an artistic way and I liked the earthy colors. Very nice. Thank you Behr!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain No. 850.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
who knew?
crazydogs4x
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 22, 2014
Wonderful results. .I can transform cracked concrete into stone slabs with your product. Saving homeowners thousands over new. The semi transparent color stain has great penetration. Resist hot tire pick up and after 3 years of traffic the homeowners and I can honestly give BHER a10.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Semi=Transparent Patio Stain
TooMean
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
After much research, I chose to stain my patio with the BEHR concrete stain instead of painting. Since the concrete patio was already porous, I washed and rinsed the patio and let it dry thoroughly. I wanted my patio to have the appearance of large rocks instead of just the somewhat plain look of a concrete floor. I drew off patterns for the rocks using a charcoal color paint and a small fan brush used for painting landscapes. Once that was dry, I applied the BEHR primer. The primer was allowed to dry about 3 hours. I then applied two coats of the BEHR stain and allowed that to dry thoroughly (overnight). The next morning I applied the sealer, still using a roller to apply the sealer, and the patio is absolutely beautiful. I didn't move my furniture back on the patio for four days. I have had so many wonderful comments on my patio that it is unbelievable and it was not much work at all. I did change rollers at intervals throughout the process. The patio is absolutely gorgeous!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: concrete patio
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
wotks great!
derekj172
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2014
Used this and worked great.I give it 5 stars!I purchased it at home depot.worked better then I thought.I'd recommend it for anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Won't work on a driveway
Snowman
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 3, 2014
I used this on the edges of my 6 month old driveway and 3 diamond shapes I have in the middle. I put this on 4 years ago and have had to redo it every year. It just does not stay on the concrete. Even on the edges where it doesn't get any type of traffic on it. I thought with it being a stain it would soak in and be permanent but this is not the case. This is not a good product for outdoor concrete. I would not use it again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: concrete
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Loved the effects I got
Shel
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
I loved this stain on my old funky cement patio. I mixed the morrocan red I think it was with a gold and first did the red then went over it with the gold kinda mottly and did the gold on the wall and highlighted a little bit of red and it looked so good! Transformed an old crummy cement patio into a much better looking outdoor patio.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Brick/Stone, cement
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Good Stain For Driveway
1234
Location:California
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2013
I originally applied this stain on my driveway (2 coats) and walkway 2 years ago after acid washing and pressure washing. It went on very easily and lasted well except for a couple of spots on some new concrete that pealed off because of RV tires. I recently put on two more coats and it came out fantastic. I changed the lines in the driveway and walkway to a darker shade which looked much better than the lighted stain before. I used the English Brick on the large areas and the Natural Henna on the lines. I have pictures on the Behr - home depot website review.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
It's Alright stain
JeffY101
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 2, 2013
I stain my bird bath and other stuff with it and it went on good but sparying it went on bad. overall alright
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: birdbath
-12points
4out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain is AWESOME!
BellaBee
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 19, 2013
Just finished our basement floor with the Behr Semi-Transparent stain and are amazed with the results! This is the first time we tried a concrete project like this and we were hesitant to do it ourselves. After reading reviews online and researching the products available, we decided to give the Behr product line a try.
1. First we used the Cleaner/Degreaser, which worked easy and did a nice job.
2, Next was the Cleaner/Etching process which was our least favorite part of the job. We had to etch twice to get the concrete porous enough to let the stain soak in. It is critical to continue to rinse floor with clean water. A shop vac was most important to remove the etching and water used to rinse the floor. The floor dried for several days.
3. We then water tested to make sure our concrete was dry and ready for stain by taping a 4'x4' sheet of plastic to the floor for 24 hours to see if water droplets appeared under it. We had no moisture, so we were ready to move forward. We did not use the Bonding Primer because we did not want to achieve a uniform look, but rather a random/aged look to the floor, just like a true acid stain would do.
4. Next came our favorite part, the staining process! We used three colors and applied with rags to achieve a Tuscan-aged look. We saw techniques for this online and it was really simple - like rag rolling the stain on. We loved all the imperfections in our floor and even created more by adding veining, faux cracks, and random droplets of stain.
First we applied Loden (Brown) to the entire floor with a rag, next we rag rolled over it with Warm Shale (Yellow/Orange) , then we applied Chickory (Red) randomly with the rag - this color is really red so we had to be careful not to apply too much.
Lastly we applied random droplets of Loden.
5. After 12 hours, we applied two topcoats of the low luster product. It went on milky but dried clear and smooth within 4 hours after each coat.
The floor is beautiful and looks like a very expensive acid stained finish done by a professional. It cost us $1 a square foot to achieve this amazing look by doing the labor ourselves and purchasing the Behr product line from Home Depot. It will last a very long time, I even "tested" an area to see if I could remove the stain with a razor blade. I was very pleased to see that the stain did not budge; it was soaked into and a permanent part of our concrete!
The Behr Hotline was very helpful with giving advice. I did need to call a few time to ask about the etching and whether to use the Bonding Primer; the folks were very helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: basement tavern and workout room
+87points
98out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Semi transparent concrete stain
Marilyn
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 6, 2012
Have used and loved every other Behr product. However, when I stained my garage floor with it, this was not the case. I correctly prepared the surface, waiting the required wait time. Immediately, the stain started to come off where the car tires run over it and it still continues although the product was placed 5 months ago. So disappointing for so much work, and it looks terrible.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: garage
+19points
28out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Not recommended
kyron
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 19, 2012
I used the Behr semi-transparent concrete stain trying to achieve the Desert Flagstone look. Even after buying and using the Behr Cleaner Etcher,Behr Bonding Primer and the recommended Flo Master Wood & Masonry Sprayer the finish looks like a poorly painted floor. I would not recommend anyone try to get a "stone look finish" using this product. I'm not sure what I can do with the floor now but I will not ask at Home Depot again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: hobby room
+44points
49out of 54found this review helpful.