Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

Get the protective qualities of a durable, weather-resistant stain without sacrificing style when you choose BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain. This 100% acrylic formula is great on both vertical and horizontal surfaces, and our selection of custom colours lets you bring the look of natural stone to any area of your home.


Click Here to see available colours.

Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
3.6
 out of 
5
7 out of 1070%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
This review is fromBEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain No. 850.
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
who knew?
crazydogs4x
Location:Virginia
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 22, 2014
Wonderful results. .I can transform cracked concrete into stone slabs with your product. Saving homeowners thousands over new. The semi transparent color stain has great penetration. Resist hot tire pick up and after 3 years of traffic the homeowners and I can honestly give BHER a10.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Semi=Transparent Patio Stain
TooMean
Location:Texas
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
Pro Reviewer badge:Pro Reviews Only
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 29, 2014
After much research, I chose to stain my patio with the BEHR concrete stain instead of painting. Since the concrete patio was already porous, I washed and rinsed the patio and let it dry thoroughly. I wanted my patio to have the appearance of large rocks instead of just the somewhat plain look of a concrete floor. I drew off patterns for the rocks using a charcoal color paint and a small fan brush used for painting landscapes. Once that was dry, I applied the BEHR primer. The primer was allowed to dry about 3 hours. I then applied two coats of the BEHR stain and allowed that to dry thoroughly (overnight). The next morning I applied the sealer, still using a roller to apply the sealer, and the patio is absolutely beautiful. I didn't move my furniture back on the patio for four days. I have had so many wonderful comments on my patio that it is unbelievable and it was not much work at all. I did change rollers at intervals throughout the process. The patio is absolutely gorgeous!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: concrete patio
Images for this Review
(click to view larger)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
wotks great!
derekj172
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 22, 2014
Used this and worked great.I give it 5 stars!I purchased it at home depot.worked better then I thought.I'd recommend it for anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Won't work on a driveway
Snowman
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Advanced
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:June 3, 2014
I used this on the edges of my 6 month old driveway and 3 diamond shapes I have in the middle. I put this on 4 years ago and have had to redo it every year. It just does not stay on the concrete. Even on the edges where it doesn't get any type of traffic on it. I thought with it being a stain it would soak in and be permanent but this is not the case. This is not a good product for outdoor concrete. I would not use it again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: concrete
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Loved the effects I got
Shel
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
I loved this stain on my old funky cement patio. I mixed the morrocan red I think it was with a gold and first did the red then went over it with the gold kinda mottly and did the gold on the wall and highlighted a little bit of red and it looked so good! Transformed an old crummy cement patio into a much better looking outdoor patio.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Brick/Stone, cement
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Good Stain For Driveway
1234
Location:California
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2013
I originally applied this stain on my driveway (2 coats) and walkway 2 years ago after acid washing and pressure washing. It went on very easily and lasted well except for a couple of spots on some new concrete that pealed off because of RV tires. I recently put on two more coats and it came out fantastic. I changed the lines in the driveway and walkway to a darker shade which looked much better than the lighted stain before. I used the English Brick on the large areas and the Natural Henna on the lines. I have pictures on the Behr - home depot website review.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
It's Alright stain
JeffY101
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 2, 2013
I stain my bird bath and other stuff with it and it went on good but sparying it went on bad. overall alright
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: birdbath
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain is AWESOME!
BellaBee
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 19, 2013
Just finished our basement floor with the Behr Semi-Transparent stain and are amazed with the results! This is the first time we tried a concrete project like this and we were hesitant to do it ourselves. After reading reviews online and researching the products available, we decided to give the Behr product line a try.
1. First we used the Cleaner/Degreaser, which worked easy and did a nice job.
2, Next was the Cleaner/Etching process which was our least favorite part of the job. We had to etch twice to get the concrete porous enough to let the stain soak in. It is critical to continue to rinse floor with clean water. A shop vac was most important to remove the etching and water used to rinse the floor. The floor dried for several days.
3. We then water tested to make sure our concrete was dry and ready for stain by taping a 4'x4' sheet of plastic to the floor for 24 hours to see if water droplets appeared under it. We had no moisture, so we were ready to move forward. We did not use the Bonding Primer because we did not want to achieve a uniform look, but rather a random/aged look to the floor, just like a true acid stain would do.
4. Next came our favorite part, the staining process! We used three colors and applied with rags to achieve a Tuscan-aged look. We saw techniques for this online and it was really simple - like rag rolling the stain on. We loved all the imperfections in our floor and even created more by adding veining, faux cracks, and random droplets of stain.
First we applied Loden (Brown) to the entire floor with a rag, next we rag rolled over it with Warm Shale (Yellow/Orange) , then we applied Chickory (Red) randomly with the rag - this color is really red so we had to be careful not to apply too much.
Lastly we applied random droplets of Loden.
5. After 12 hours, we applied two topcoats of the low luster product. It went on milky but dried clear and smooth within 4 hours after each coat.
The floor is beautiful and looks like a very expensive acid stained finish done by a professional. It cost us $1 a square foot to achieve this amazing look by doing the labor ourselves and purchasing the Behr product line from Home Depot. It will last a very long time, I even "tested" an area to see if I could remove the stain with a razor blade. I was very pleased to see that the stain did not budge; it was soaked into and a permanent part of our concrete!
The Behr Hotline was very helpful with giving advice. I did need to call a few time to ask about the etching and whether to use the Bonding Primer; the folks were very helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: basement tavern and workout room
+67points
77out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Semi transparent concrete stain
Marilyn
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 6, 2012
Have used and loved every other Behr product. However, when I stained my garage floor with it, this was not the case. I correctly prepared the surface, waiting the required wait time. Immediately, the stain started to come off where the car tires run over it and it still continues although the product was placed 5 months ago. So disappointing for so much work, and it looks terrible.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: garage
+16points
24out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Not recommended
kyron
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 19, 2012
I used the Behr semi-transparent concrete stain trying to achieve the Desert Flagstone look. Even after buying and using the Behr Cleaner Etcher,Behr Bonding Primer and the recommended Flo Master Wood & Masonry Sprayer the finish looks like a poorly painted floor. I would not recommend anyone try to get a "stone look finish" using this product. I'm not sure what I can do with the floor now but I will not ask at Home Depot again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: hobby room
+38points
42out of 46found this review helpful.