Behr Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain

Get the protective qualities of a durable, weather-resistant stain without sacrificing style when you choose BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain. This 100% acrylic formula is great on both vertical and horizontal surfaces, and our selection of custom colours lets you bring the look of natural stone to any area of your home.

Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3.3
 out of 
5
4 out of 667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Loved the effects I got
Shel
Location:California
Age:Over 55
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:March 20, 2014
I loved this stain on my old funky cement patio. I mixed the morrocan red I think it was with a gold and first did the red then went over it with the gold kinda mottly and did the gold on the wall and highlighted a little bit of red and it looked so good! Transformed an old crummy cement patio into a much better looking outdoor patio.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: Outdoor Living, Brick/Stone, cement
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Good Stain For Driveway
1234
Location:California
Age:45-55
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:August 16, 2013
I originally applied this stain on my driveway (2 coats) and walkway 2 years ago after acid washing and pressure washing. It went on very easily and lasted well except for a couple of spots on some new concrete that pealed off because of RV tires. I recently put on two more coats and it came out fantastic. I changed the lines in the driveway and walkway to a darker shade which looked much better than the lighted stain before. I used the English Brick on the large areas and the Natural Henna on the lines. I have pictures on the Behr - home depot website review.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Average
3 of 5 stars
It's Alright stain
JeffY101
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skill Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:July 2, 2013
I stain my bird bath and other stuff with it and it went on good but sparying it went on bad. overall alright
I would recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: birdbath
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Excellent
5 of 5 stars
Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain is AWESOME!
BellaBee
Gender:Female
Skill Level:Novice
I would recommend this to a friend.
Date:February 19, 2013
Just finished our basement floor with the Behr Semi-Transparent stain and are amazed with the results! This is the first time we tried a concrete project like this and we were hesitant to do it ourselves. After reading reviews online and researching the products available, we decided to give the Behr product line a try.
1. First we used the Cleaner/Degreaser, which worked easy and did a nice job.
2, Next was the Cleaner/Etching process which was our least favorite part of the job. We had to etch twice to get the concrete porous enough to let the stain soak in. It is critical to continue to rinse floor with clean water. A shop vac was most important to remove the etching and water used to rinse the floor. The floor dried for several days.
3. We then water tested to make sure our concrete was dry and ready for stain by taping a 4'x4' sheet of plastic to the floor for 24 hours to see if water droplets appeared under it. We had no moisture, so we were ready to move forward. We did not use the Bonding Primer because we did not want to achieve a uniform look, but rather a random/aged look to the floor, just like a true acid stain would do.
4. Next came our favorite part, the staining process! We used three colors and applied with rags to achieve a Tuscan-aged look. We saw techniques for this online and it was really simple - like rag rolling the stain on. We loved all the imperfections in our floor and even created more by adding veining, faux cracks, and random droplets of stain.
First we applied Loden (Brown) to the entire floor with a rag, next we rag rolled over it with Warm Shale (Yellow/Orange) , then we applied Chickory (Red) randomly with the rag - this color is really red so we had to be careful not to apply too much.
Lastly we applied random droplets of Loden.
5. After 12 hours, we applied two topcoats of the low luster product. It went on milky but dried clear and smooth within 4 hours after each coat.
The floor is beautiful and looks like a very expensive acid stained finish done by a professional. It cost us $1 a square foot to achieve this amazing look by doing the labor ourselves and purchasing the Behr product line from Home Depot. It will last a very long time, I even "tested" an area to see if I could remove the stain with a razor blade. I was very pleased to see that the stain did not budge; it was soaked into and a permanent part of our concrete!
The Behr Hotline was very helpful with giving advice. I did need to call a few time to ask about the etching and whether to use the Bonding Primer; the folks were very helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: basement tavern and workout room
+45points
51out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Semi transparent concrete stain
Marilyn
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:October 6, 2012
Have used and loved every other Behr product. However, when I stained my garage floor with it, this was not the case. I correctly prepared the surface, waiting the required wait time. Immediately, the stain started to come off where the car tires run over it and it still continues although the product was placed 5 months ago. So disappointing for so much work, and it looks terrible.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Exterior Project: garage
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM® Semi-Transparent Concrete Stain
Avg. Rating
:
Poor
1 of 5 stars
Not recommended
kyron
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Date:September 19, 2012
I used the Behr semi-transparent concrete stain trying to achieve the Desert Flagstone look. Even after buying and using the Behr Cleaner Etcher,Behr Bonding Primer and the recommended Flo Master Wood & Masonry Sprayer the finish looks like a poorly painted floor. I would not recommend anyone try to get a "stone look finish" using this product. I'm not sure what I can do with the floor now but I will not ask at Home Depot again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Interior Project: hobby room
+36points
39out of 42found this review helpful.